This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters

Everything is more fun with ice cream, and the easiest way to whip up a batch of velvety chocolate, vanilla or mocha chip is with our all-natural ice cream starters. Simply mix with heavy cream and half-and-half, pour into your ice cream maker and freeze. Customize with favorite mix-ins like chocolate chips, chopped nuts, crushed cookies or candy sprinkles. In about 30 minutes, you'll enjoy sweet, creamy ice cream. Vanilla Ice Cream Starter showcases the sweet, creamy flavors of Madagascar Bourbon vanilla. 12.4 oz. Chocolate Ice Cream Starter derives its dark, rich character from premium Guittard cocoa, highlighted by a splash of Madagascar Bourbon vanilla. 15.4 oz. Strawberry is bursting with the flavor of real strawberries complemented by creamy vanilla. 14.1 oz. Mocha Chip is a rich, velvety espresso-chocolate ice cream studded with luscious chips of Callebaut semisweet chocolate. 15.6 oz. Each mix contains two individually sealed packets, enough to make 2 quarts of premium ice cream. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 142
134 of 142(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderwoman
,Howell
,Mi
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
FABULOUS & easy
December 18, 2013
I love the convenience and quality of these mixes. I miss the seasonal flavors though, chocolate peppermint, eggnog, and mint chip. They are economical as well- two batchs in each can.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: missing flavors
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romarie
,Boston
,MA
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious!!
November 7, 2013
I have purchased almost all the flavors of the ice cream starters and I love them all.
They make ice cream making so easy and fun. You just pour all the ingredients (only 3) into the ice cream maker and in 25 minutes you have homemade ice cream.
Delish!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kath3
,Chicago
,IL
Illinois
October 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Easy Great Tasting Ice Cream
October 24, 2013
I've tried the chocolate mint, mocha chip and strawberry flavors. All were purchased at different times when on sale in my local store. By far the best has been the strawberry. I never even knew I liked strawberry ice cream as my only previous experience had been with the pink strip in a carton of Neapolitan. It's easy, quick and delicious. As others have noted the regular price is quite high, but if you can get these on sale, I would highly recommend them.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nancypatt
,Alameda
September 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Quick and easy but...
September 5, 2013
Quick and easy but nothing spectacular.
I got the vanilla and still had to buy half and half and heavy cream. The canister had sugar and van flavor basically. I won't buy again.
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annvet
,Brookfield
,WI
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
AWESOME!!!
August 12, 2013
This made the best ice cream!!! Super easy!!! Will buy again!!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Cost
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patall12
,Charlottesville
,VA
August 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy and yummy!
August 4, 2013
I bought this ice cream starter when I bought the ice cream maker and made some immediately b/c I had to try it out. It's a snap, and so rich and delicious!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Easy and delicious
July 25, 2013
We made ice cream sandwiches with the mocha chip and they were fab. You can add candies, etc. to the vanilla mix when it's done churning which makes it the most versatile of the flavors. Highly recommend!
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charles19
,Plaquemine
,LA
July 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Ice Cream
July 20, 2013
I have used the chocolate and the vanilla starters. Both are incredibly easy and very tasty. The only downside is of course cost. The stuff is expensive.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: expensive
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Robbiepagosa
,Pagosa Springs
,CO
July 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Ice Starter not a good deal the $$
July 20, 2013
The starter makes a good flavor ice cream but even on sale it cost around $6.00 a batch not counting shipping cost and the other ingredients you add, which make it more costly than name brand at the store. Plus the texture is between a soft serve and frozen ice cream.
Pros: Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Texture, $6.00 a batch is too much., doesn't freeze hard
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happylady2222
,MA
July 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy and Amazing!
July 19, 2013
The Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter is an amazing product. It is so easy to whip up and pop in our ice cream maker. The consistency is very smooth and creamy, and the taste is rich and fabulous. The recipe calls for half and half and heavy cream, but I usually use 1/2 cup of skim milk(what I usually have in frig) and the rest heavy cream. It really makes amazing ice cream. I am disappointed when we venture out for ice cream now, since what we make at home is so delicious! Make sure you follow the directions and dissolve the mix completely before putting into the machine...it will come out grainy. Highly recommended.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: none
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
presley
,OC
,CA
Fullerton
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
best ice cream & easy prep
July 6, 2013
I love these WS Ice Cream Starters: yes, you could put the ingredients together yourself but WS uses top ingredients, pre-measured for foolproof prep--and you can easily customize (i.e. I add shredded coconut to strawberry for summertime flavor)..which reminds me: PLEASE WS BRING BACK THE STRAWBERRY STARTER
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KellyinCoralGables
Charlotte, NC
Posted August 2, 2013
Strawberry Starter
I found the the strawberry starter at the store
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snoqueen
,Pinnacle
,NC
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pumpkin starter
June 30, 2013
This was the first time I tried the ice cream starters. I took this to my church ice cream social and it was a HUGE success! Everyone kept coming back for more. I wish this was sold all year round. I can hardly wait to try some of the other flavors.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinaJ75
,Menifee
,CA
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
OMG for ICE CREAM
June 25, 2013
I tried the Chocolate, Vanilla and Strawberry starters - and they were AMAZING. The whole family loved them and best of all - SUPER EASY directions and easy to make.
I even mixed cookies with the vanilla and it was the best. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. They are a little expensive - but if you dont have time for making a traditional custard base for ice cream - then this is for you!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pettinelli
,Philadelphia area
,PA
June 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Mocha Whip Delish
June 23, 2013
I picked the started as a spontaneous gift for myself since I love Mocha anything! Used my Kitchen AId Ice Cream attachment to make the ice cream. It called for 1 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 1 1/2 cup of half&half. I used the fat free stuff and it turned out perfect. Yes, it's pricey, but for a special family fun treatment - so what! Splurge once in awhile!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeryPickyShopper
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
yummy and delicious
May 15, 2013
This is a summertime staple for my family. So easy and so quick!!! good portion- doesn't make too much!
always keep on hand for last minute company or entertaining! always a crowd pleaser
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BedStuyBarb
,New York
,NY
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Decadently Delicious
March 28, 2013
OMG this mix makes the best chocolate ice cream I've had. Follow the directions for velvety smooth and rich flavor. Also had the vanilla. No more store bought ice cream for me. No fuss, no muss, no bother.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leannab
,Cedar Falls
,IA
Cedar Falls, IA
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious, Easy AND Fun!
March 5, 2013
We have tried the Vanilla and Chocolate ice cream starters and they are both very good! We bought them to make ice cream with the Cuisinart Ice Cream maker we also bought from Williams-Sonoma and we really like the ice cream maker, too. It is totally safe to use around small kids!!! I am 100% satisfied! I have nothing but good to say about my purchase!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sjb26
,Charleston
,wv
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy delicious Ice Cream
January 10, 2013
This starter makes a rich chocolate creamy delicious ice cream.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hun2
December 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My secret ingredient for rum raisin
December 17, 2012
I tried this ice cream starter and I was pleasantly surprised, the flavor is delicious and it makes a fantastic rum raisin ice cream.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IceCreamgoddess
,Studio City
,Ca
October 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The best ice cream
October 24, 2012
This is the best ice cream I have ever made. I use the vanilla starter and mix in crushed chocolate chip cookies. OMG, I want to eat it all in one sitting. I just bought the pumpkin, and reordered it the same day. I wish they had this flavor all year. I highly encourage you to buy.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: there are no cons
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next