Williams-Sonoma Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate

We've given our classic European-style hot chocolate a fresh twist. Inspired by the hot chocolate served in Parisian cafes, this luscious version combines premium chocolate with the buttery richness of salted caramel. Chocolatiers custom blend Guittard's finest semisweet and milk chocolates, infusing the mixture with creamy caramel and a hint of pure sea salt. The chocolate is then made into delicate shavings that melt luxuriously into hot milk. The result is a world-class beverage with a smooth mellow body, exquisite aroma and perfectly balanced chocolate-caramel flavor. 12 oz. (makes 8 cups). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissLala
,Northridge
,CA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Flavor!
December 26, 2013
My mom had bought me for the first time a few years ago and I have been hooked on it ever since. I love that it is actual shaved chocolate rather than powder. If you are a chocolate lover than you will definitely love this. Also, I know some people complain of the saltiness, but if you use the right amount of milk then the balance of saltiness to caramel and chocolate are just right. It comes out smooth and creamy...it is definitely worth the extra calories! Also, do realize this hot chocolate is meant to be made with WHOLE milk and not skim. It does make a difference in the finished product.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rchafer
,Seattle
,WA
December 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So In Love
December 23, 2013
This is my favorite hot chocolate, ever. Beware that it's definitely very sweet, but if you make it according to the directions over the stove it comes out smooth, with chocolate-y caramel flavor and a hint of salt. I always buy it.
Pros: Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SimonB
,Vancouver
,BC
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too salty!
December 15, 2013
I have enjoyed the classic hot chocolate, which is delicious! And I have had salted caramel chocolates, and similar drinks in restaurants, so decided to give this product a try.
Unfortunately, the salt in this product overpowered the flavours of caramel and chocolate which made it difficult to drink. I made it palatable by using half the amount of this product, and combining it with the classic hot chocolate. Even then, the salt was much too prominent.
One serving of this product contains 360 mg of sodium according to the label. This is nearly the same salt content as half of a serving of Campbell's chicken broth (one serving is 750 mg from their website). Interesting perspective. The classic hot chocolate has only 1 mg sodium.
My advice: stick to the classic hot chocolate, and you can add your own flavours to your liking.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeatherM
,La Mesa
,CA
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny!
December 1, 2013
20 bucks for hot chocolate? I thought the same thing. I was in the store today and took a look inside the can. It is actually small shavings of chocolate, not powder. I figured, 'what the heck' and bought it.
I am sipping on it right now. It is the best cup of hot chocolate I've ever had! Love the salted caramel. Sweet, but not too sweet, with just a lingering hint of salt. Can't wait to try it in my coffee.
Will be back for more!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, unique