Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate

Inspired by our legendary peppermint bark, this seasonal spin on classic European-style hot chocolate showcases the flavors of premium chocolate and cool, refreshing peppermint. master chocolatiers custom blend shavings of Guittard's finest semisweet and white chocolates, each infused with double-distilled oil of peppermint. the delicate, fluffy flakes melt luxuriously into hot milk, creating a velvety smooth holiday beverage with perfectly balanced chocolate-peppermint flavor. 12 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.59 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
15 of 39(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Livermore
,ca
Livermore, CA
January 11, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
GREAT HOT CHOCOLATE
January 11, 2016
This is a very tasty hot chocolate. I love the peppermint flavor of the chocolate. It is so good on a cold day! Even though it's a little 'pricey' it is worth the money. I even sent some to a friend and he liked it as well.
Great gift!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Elkhart
,IN
January 10, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good Morning!
January 10, 2016
It's pretty obvious that we LOVE the peppermint bark hot chocolate. I think we ordered 12 tins. My husband makes me cocoa every morning, even in the summer! thank you!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Flavor, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 29, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Not like peppermint hot chocolate
November 29, 2015
Sent this to my daughter at college. We have had the peppermint hot chocolate every year at home. This is not a good substitute at all! Please bring back the old recipe!
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Leawood
,KS
November 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Peppermint *BLECH* Hot Chocolate. Awful!!
November 16, 2015
I never write online reviews, but the WS Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate deserves one...because it is Just. So. Bad.
Our family loved the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate & purchased several tins each year. When this Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate originally came out, the WS sales lady told me it was about the same as the original Peppermint...but it was NOT. It was horribly sweet & tasted like cough syrup. WS still made original Peppermint Hot Chocolate that year, so we made an exchange. But now the original is discontinued, and all that's left is this stuff. Do NOT waste your money, because this is absolutely a terrible product! Even my children won't drink it, which is definitely saying something - because they will drink most ANY hot chocolate! (And we love the WS Peppermint Bark Candy, too. This hot chocolate doesn't taste like the candy, either.)
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, smell
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Nashville
,TN
November 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Not again!
November 14, 2015
i cannot believe that WS has continued to offer this peppermint bark hot chocolate as a replacement for the original peppermint hot chocolate! I was willing to try it last year and thought it was terrible. My nieces were also very disappointed as I have given them the delicious WS original peppermint hot chocolate for years. Please bring it back!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Texture, Ingredients
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Nashville
,TN
November 11, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
BRING BACK ORIGINAL :(
November 11, 2015
William Sonoma discontinued their original Peppermint Cocoa for this Peppermint Bark Cocoa. The original was simply dark chocolate cocoa with peppermint flavoring. This is white chocolate based. I HATE WHITE CHOCOLATE. This is too sweet!! I understand that some people may prefer this version, but I wish they would have introduced this kinda along with the original. They REPLACED the original for this! I AM SO UPSET!! PLEASE BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL!!!! :( My Christmas is not the same now...
Cons: Disappointing, too sweet :( not the original. i hate white choc.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Georgia
October 20, 2015
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Please bring back the original version!
October 20, 2015
I, too, thought after all the negative reviews last year that WS would bring back their original Peppermint Hot Chocolate (like the original Hot Chocolate, with peppermint added).
This version is not nearly as good and I will not buy it again. (I'm hoping the "Classic Hot Chocolate" has not also been changed from the original.)
PLEASE bring back the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate! It was so much better.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, not as good as the original peppermint version
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,TX
October 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Bring back the original peppermint hot choc!
October 7, 2015
C'mon, Williams-Sonoma! I was hoping with so many negative reviews last year on this Peppermint Bark flavor that you'd bring back the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate. But, my hope was in vain! The Peppermint Bark flavor is too sweet due to the white chocolate and the aftertaste is just awful! PLEASE reconsider!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Ingredients, color is funky
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fulda
,MN
Fulda, MN
April 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Special Treat
April 12, 2015
I love this Hot Chocolate Mix, and I make sure to stock up every year while it is available. It makes a very special cup of Hot Chocolate when used with the Brevel Milk Frother.
I also like to give it for gifts...
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
April 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Amazing Hot Chocolate
April 8, 2015
Each year, I wait for Christmas so I can get the hot chocolate bark from Williams-Sonoma. I use it to make my own cafe mocha with the chocolate bark. It is amazing...not too sweet, just enough chocolate to make the coffee decadent.
Now, I have to find an alternative source until Christmas! :(
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Edina
,MN
March 30, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Best Hot Chocolate
March 30, 2015
My favorite is the WS Peppermint without the white chocolate but this is the close second. Nothing like it for a cold day!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Emeryville
,CA
Emeryville, CA
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good and tasty!
March 20, 2015
Its a great change from the powered selections of hot chocolate. Melt is sweet and smooth - delicious!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Lake St. Louis
,MO
February 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Poor Labeling
February 27, 2015
I would think this product is probably delicious; however, I can't taste it so I can't properly review it. I had to give it one star as I was required to complete that field for the review. I purchased this as it did not have a nut allergy warning on the website but when I received it there was a nut allergy warning on the product. I contacted Williams Sonoma and they provided a refund without requiring me to go through the return process which was appreciated. I would recommend anyone that can't have nuts to contact the company to order any food items so they can inquire about any allergens.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Cary
,NC
February 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Do not purchase if you have Celiac Disease
February 23, 2015
I purchased this after reading the ingredients as it appeared to be Gluten Free. On the package it states it could be contaminated with Wheat! Needless to say, I was very disappointed.
Cons: allergy
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
February 2, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Not a Replacement for Discont Peppermint Hot Choc
February 2, 2015
I bought this hot chocolate after discovering that the WS Peppermint Hot Chocolate I LOVED was discontinued. For me this hot chocolate is no where near as good. To me it tastes diluted. I would not say this product is bad but it is not for me.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
February 1, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Original Was Awesome
February 1, 2015
Harder to mix and takes more product to achieve a full flavor. Additional calories is not an added bonus.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
January 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Indulgent treat
January 30, 2015
Great Holiday classic - rich & creamy with just the right amount of peppermint-sure to become your holiday tradition
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
January 25, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Nice idea, poor execution
January 25, 2015
This product sounds like a good idea for people who like peppermint bark and for those who like white chocolate in their hot chocolate.
However, it doesn't melt down the way that it should, leaving tasteless chunks of "white chocolate" mixed into the drink. It is also a weird flavor and color, as there isn't quite enough peppermint or chocolate to make it taste like much other than sweetened milk.
PLEASE bring back the Peppermint Hot Chocolate. I don't know why WS didn't have it this year, but trying to use this as a substitution (yes, they are different products) is like getting a lump of coal in your stocking.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, Color
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,grapevine
,tx
January 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Bring back the old...
January 22, 2015
This new peppermint bark is not good...too artificial tasting, too sweet. I am sure it was a way for WS to get a cheaper product, but this has backfired on the company. Please bring back the old chocolate.
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Atlanta
,ga
January 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Park the Bark
January 21, 2015
Been buying the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate for years for myself and all my relatives. Noticed the name change on the can this year, but did not think anything of it, until I opened it and saw the white flakes inside. Okay, I thought, it just LOOKS different, I'm sure they wouldn't change the taste. Boy was I wrong! This hot chocolate is not nearly as "pepperminty" as the previous version and is much sweeter. I, along with my family, did not care for it at all and will not buy this product again. Hopefully WS will take to heart all of these comments and return our beloved version to the product line again for next winter season.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
page1 2 next