Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate

Because it's produced from shavings of premium chocolate rather than cocoa powder, our hot chocolate is intensely chocolaty, with a rich taste, smooth texture and exquisite aroma. For the most velvety sip, we chose couverture chocolates from Guittard that melt quickly and consistently in hot milk. The result is a world-class beverage with a smooth, mellow body, exquisite aroma and a perfectly balanced chocolate flavor. Peppermint Bark captures the flavors of our legendary Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark, blending shavings of semisweet and white chocolate, each infused with refreshing peppermint oil. 12 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
10 of 28(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamasanh
,Emeryville
,CA
Emeryville, CA
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good and tasty!
March 20, 2015
Its a great change from the powered selections of hot chocolate. Melt is sweet and smooth - delicious!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HSMom
,Lake St. Louis
,MO
February 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Labeling
February 27, 2015
I would think this product is probably delicious; however, I can't taste it so I can't properly review it. I had to give it one star as I was required to complete that field for the review. I purchased this as it did not have a nut allergy warning on the website but when I received it there was a nut allergy warning on the product. I contacted Williams Sonoma and they provided a refund without requiring me to go through the return process which was appreciated. I would recommend anyone that can't have nuts to contact the company to order any food items so they can inquire about any allergens.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SuewithCeliac
,Cary
,NC
February 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not purchase if you have Celiac Disease
February 23, 2015
I purchased this after reading the ingredients as it appeared to be Gluten Free. On the package it states it could be contaminated with Wheat! Needless to say, I was very disappointed.
Cons: allergy
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jill230
February 2, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a Replacement for Discont Peppermint Hot Choc
February 2, 2015
I bought this hot chocolate after discovering that the WS Peppermint Hot Chocolate I LOVED was discontinued. For me this hot chocolate is no where near as good. To me it tastes diluted. I would not say this product is bad but it is not for me.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JLWT
February 1, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Original Was Awesome
February 1, 2015
Harder to mix and takes more product to achieve a full flavor. Additional calories is not an added bonus.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoldenJ
,Austin
,TX
January 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Indulgent treat
January 30, 2015
Great Holiday classic - rich & creamy with just the right amount of peppermint-sure to become your holiday tradition
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MCLee
January 25, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice idea, poor execution
January 25, 2015
This product sounds like a good idea for people who like peppermint bark and for those who like white chocolate in their hot chocolate.
However, it doesn't melt down the way that it should, leaving tasteless chunks of "white chocolate" mixed into the drink. It is also a weird flavor and color, as there isn't quite enough peppermint or chocolate to make it taste like much other than sweetened milk.
PLEASE bring back the Peppermint Hot Chocolate. I don't know why WS didn't have it this year, but trying to use this as a substitution (yes, they are different products) is like getting a lump of coal in your stocking.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, Color
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bestcookinworld
,grapevine
,tx
January 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bring back the old...
January 22, 2015
This new peppermint bark is not good...too artificial tasting, too sweet. I am sure it was a way for WS to get a cheaper product, but this has backfired on the company. Please bring back the old chocolate.
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Patty7
,Atlanta
,ga
January 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Park the Bark
January 21, 2015
Been buying the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate for years for myself and all my relatives. Noticed the name change on the can this year, but did not think anything of it, until I opened it and saw the white flakes inside. Okay, I thought, it just LOOKS different, I'm sure they wouldn't change the taste. Boy was I wrong! This hot chocolate is not nearly as "pepperminty" as the previous version and is much sweeter. I, along with my family, did not care for it at all and will not buy this product again. Hopefully WS will take to heart all of these comments and return our beloved version to the product line again for next winter season.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FrostyPaws2
,Houston
,Tx
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Prefer the former without the "bark"
January 17, 2015
I, like other writing their review, truly feel the former "original" was much better. I was very disappointed in not having a choice this year. If no one had tasted the other version, this is acceptable. But, I sure wish you would bring back the original "Peppermint Chocolate." Hold the BARK.
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Natab0525
January 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not great
January 14, 2015
I, like everyone else it seems, liked the traditional peppermint hot choco better than this peppermint bark. Its not bad but it has a very artificial flavor.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BambiBoo
,NJ
January 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bring Back The Previous Version
January 11, 2015
We've been buying the mint hot chocolate for years. several tins for ourselves, several as gifts. We don't like the new variation at all. Please bring back the very popular old version or offer both.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chocolicious
,Decatur
,GA
January 11, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm in mourning!
January 11, 2015
This new recipe is much too sweet and lacks the intense dark chocolate taste I crave! I do NOT like the white "chocolate" addition and will not buy it again. For years I have given the previous version to everyone I love, including myself. I used up all of last year's recipe and was getting excited to open a new can. Alas, I will get rid of my sickly sweet cans from this year. What will I drink all year long? I will have to make myself some approximation of the previous year's recipe. A deep dark chocolate peppermint treat is what I hope for from WS next year!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, sickly sweet, not up to ws standards
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CourtneyB
,Newton
,NJ
January 7, 2015
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than imagined
January 7, 2015
I read the reviews for this product after, I bought this... I took the advice of another who commented on here.. More milk, less Cocoa... We loved it... In fact, my kids ( who loved the peppermint cocoa) said this is their new favorite!!! Yummy!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shiran
,Tampa
,FL
TPA
January 7, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like It!!!!
January 7, 2015
This product has its own uniqueness about it. When combined with unsweetened cocoa, the taste is heavenly! Depending on your taste buds and following the directions, combine half of this product with the unsweetened cocoa and bring to boil in the wonderful hot chocolate pot that WS sold this year. What a winning combination!
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SClaus
,Miami
,FL
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Revert to old recipe or will not buy again.
December 31, 2014
I have been buying your mint dark hot chocolate drink and marshmallows for my wife and daughter for years. The have always raved about it. But alas, you changed the recipe of the drink.
Woe is me, I will not be purchasing it in the future unless Williams-Sonoma reverts to its recipe to that of the past. Please revert. Mine will be a Happy New Year if you do.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, change is not always good
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
losgatos
,los gatos
,ca
December 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would not buy any more
December 27, 2014
I have been buying your Peppermint Hot Chocolate for my kids for years! They look forward to having it every year during the holidays. Now, its just awful! Too sweet and tastes rather cheap. Won't be buying it any more, our tradition is over.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Switched
,Raleigh
,NC
December 11, 2014
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointing
December 11, 2014
WS peppermint hot chocolate used to be my FAVORITE holiday and winter drink. Not so now that they've changed the recipe. So sweet. So disappointing. Please bring back the old recipe!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MeNoLikey
December 9, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WS, Please Bring Back the Original
December 9, 2014
Like others, I purchased this product not realizing that it was completely different from the original hot chocolate with peppermint that WS has sold in the past. I found the Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate to be sickly sweet. I'm not a fan and won't be purchasing again. I am really hoping that WS reads these reviews and brings back the original hot chocolate infused with peppermint, which I will gladly purchase by the boatload!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Ksk428
TN
Posted December 22, 2014
I agree
I have been buying Williams Sonoma Peppermint Hot Chocolate for myself as well as my 3 sons' families for stocking stuffers for years. I bought 4 cans this year, but this will be the last year until you bring backthe original. When I opened my can and saw white instead of the beautiful rich chocolate I knew this was going to be a disappointment. Bad decision, Williams Sonoma!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marco
,Cornelius
,NC
December 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great winter treat
December 6, 2014
I was surprised at the negative reviews. This clearly states it is peppermint bark, not tradional peppermint. I typically am a traditional hot cocoa drinker, and tried this last year since I love all things peppermint bark at the holidays. It is definitely rich, but also delicious. All of the cocoas from WS are rich and indulgent, so years ago when I made my first purchase, I learned to up the milk and cut back on the cocoa. The beauty of the tin, is you can customize the drink to your preference. This also is delicious to use in coffee.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
page1 2 next