Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate

Because it's produced from shavings of premium chocolate rather than cocoa powder, our hot chocolate is intensely chocolaty, with a rich taste, smooth texture and exquisite aroma. For the most velvety sip, we chose couverture chocolates from Guittard that melt quickly and consistently in hot milk. The result is a world-class beverage with a smooth, mellow body, exquisite aroma and a perfectly balanced chocolate flavor. Peppermint Bark captures the flavors of our legendary Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark, blending shavings of semisweet and white chocolate, each infused with refreshing peppermint oil. 12 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
4 of 11(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Switched
,Raleigh
,NC
December 11, 2014
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointing
December 11, 2014
WS peppermint hot chocolate used to be my FAVORITE holiday and winter drink. Not so now that they've changed the recipe. So sweet. So disappointing. Please bring back the old recipe!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MeNoLikey
December 9, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WS, Please Bring Back the Original
December 9, 2014
Like others, I purchased this product not realizing that it was completely different from the original hot chocolate with peppermint that WS has sold in the past. I found the Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate to be sickly sweet. I'm not a fan and won't be purchasing again. I am really hoping that WS reads these reviews and brings back the original hot chocolate infused with peppermint, which I will gladly purchase by the boatload!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marco
,Cornelius
,NC
December 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great winter treat
December 6, 2014
I was surprised at the negative reviews. This clearly states it is peppermint bark, not tradional peppermint. I typically am a traditional hot cocoa drinker, and tried this last year since I love all things peppermint bark at the holidays. It is definitely rich, but also delicious. All of the cocoas from WS are rich and indulgent, so years ago when I made my first purchase, I learned to up the milk and cut back on the cocoa. The beauty of the tin, is you can customize the drink to your preference. This also is delicious to use in coffee.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
vrag
November 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Agree with all the negative reviews
November 23, 2014
WS did change the formula of this hot chocolate last year. It is very sweet now. I believe they added more sugar and removed cocoa fat. This makes it sickingly sweet and nothing like the Peppermint Hot Chocolate I fell in love with. I did, however, find a solution last year to make this hot chocolate better. I prepare hot chocolate the traditional way, with cocoa powder and milk, and add this new mix as the sweetener (I do not use sugar, just this mix). This way it makes it richer tasting and not as sweet, adds that peppermint taste that I like and even makes the canister last a little longer.
Cons: Unhealthy, Ingredients, Time to Prepare
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
onlineshopper2
Georgia
Posted November 28, 2014
Pls bring back the OLD peppermint hot choc!
I was about to order peppermint hot chocolate, and now I see that this is NOT it! I'm so disappointed that the old version is not available, and I won't be ordering this new version.
WS: If it's not broken, please don't "fix" it!
Please bring back the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate from years past. (And please don't tamper with the plain hot chocolate.)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kimdjn
,Conroe
,TX
November 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
VERY Disappointed
November 16, 2014
For years I have purchased multiple cans of the Peppermint Hot Chocolate for both gifts and personal use. This year Williams Sonoma pulled a fast one on me. The color and style of the canister is very similar to past years; however, the product is different. And while I like the Peppermint bark candy that WS sells, I can't stand this new Peppermint Bark hot chocolate. White chocolate does not belong in hot chocolate!!! YUCK!! Even the color of this new flavor is funky once it mixes with hot milk. PLEASE, PLEASE, bring back the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Color
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
bbrain59
northern NJ
Posted November 27, 2014
My sentiments exactly
Ditto all the negative comments. I was addicted to the old version. This one just doesn't cut it. Please W-S. bring back the original!!!
0points
Customer avatar
DDLyon
CT
Posted November 21, 2014
Agree!
So disappointed that this is the only peppermint flavor available. Tried it last year and yuck is right.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
swimmomof5
,Haddonfield
,NJ
Haddonfield, NJ
November 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More CaloriesThan Original Delicious Version
November 9, 2014
I am so disappointed that this version replaced the original chocolate mint version. This one has more calories and the ingredient list is significantly longer than the simpler purer mint version. The beverage is now more gourmand than gourmet. I am not a fan of white chocolate in my cocoa.
I accidentally purchased it last season, thinking I was getting the original Peppermint Hot Chocolate. I was not as thrilled with this version when I compared the flavors side-by-side.
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kimdjn
Posted November 17, 2014
I agree
This new version is no good. The addition of the white chocolate was not the right decision.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VenturaMark
,Ventura
,Ca
November 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bad Decision to change
November 7, 2014
I buy Peppermint Hot Chocolate every year, actually enough to last me the whole year. This year I bought this, and saw the name change and did not think anything of it. I took it home and when I opened it, it had white chocolate in it.... WC is not chocolate, and I am not a fan of Milk nor WC. I decided to try it anyway, and it was horrible. It no longer has the richness that the original had, and it barely has a chocolate taste, you can taste the peppermint, but that is it.
I am returning everything I bought, and I called corporate to complain. 415.421.7900.
Most of the good reviews here are from the original flavor, in previous years.
Pros: Texture
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Soapie0
,Tuscaloosa
,AL
October 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I miss the original!
October 17, 2014
I have been buying Williams-Sonoma Classic Peppermint Hot Chocolate for years and this year my mother-in-law gave me some ahead of the season. I was so disappointed to discover that they no longer carry their original Peppermint flavor. The original was pure semisweet chocolate while the new flavor is combined with white chocolate. I personally don't care for white chocolate and wish that Williams-Sonoma would offer both versions to customers.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Ingredients
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
dbnh
Posted November 9, 2014
Bring back the original peppermint hot chocolate!
I, too, am disappointed that Williams-Sonoma is no longer carrying their regular peppermint hot chocolate. I look forward to drinking it each winter and this peppermint bark version is simply not the same! I hope they'll reconsider in time for the holidays.
0points
Customer avatar
suzanah
Posted October 30, 2014
Miss the Original Peppermint Hot Chocolate too
I too have been buying the original classic peppermint hot chocolate for years. I always look for it every winter. What a disappointment with this one. I don't like white chocolate at all. It completely change the flavor. It is sweeter now. Not buying it anymore. I hope they bring it back next year.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NatureG
,San Diego
,CA
January 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Hot Chocolate!!
January 22, 2014
Delicious and easy to make hot chocolate! Gave this away to several friends and neighbors -- they all loved it! And said they went to buy more for themselves.
The hot chocolate is so rich and creamy -- and I could drink this everyday!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cajuncandy
,Marksville
,LA
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A very yummy hot chocolate!
December 31, 2013
My children gave me this for Christmas (along with the toile mugs). It is soooo good! And I love the tin!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missanne
,Colorado Springs
,CO
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is fantastic hot chocolate!
November 24, 2013
I have tried all of the William-Sonoma hot chocolates, and this is the best to date! I love the rich chocolate flavor mixed with the peppermint. I also purchased the matching mug. This purchase is worth every penny!
Pros: smooth flavor, creamy, rich
 
My Recommendations