Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate

Hot chocolate is distinctly different from hot cocoa. Because it's produced from shavings of premium chocolate rather than cocoa powder, our hot chocolate is intensely chocolaty, with a well-rounded body, rich taste, smooth texture and exquisite aroma. Inspired by the hot chocolate served in Parisian cafes, it's made with artisanal bittersweet chocolate that liquefies quickly and consistently in hot milk. The chocolate is crafted for us by Guittard, expert San Francisco chocolate makers since the 19th century. 12 oz. tin (makes 8 cups). Made in USA. This item cannot be shipped to Hawaii but is available for purchase at our Honolulu retail store.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
44 of 51(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Augusta
,Ga
January 10, 2017
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Many uses love this product
January 10, 2017
I make my hot chocolate with this and add a small amount of dark chocolate and a teaspoon of vanilla bean paste and top with a dollop of marshmallow cream. I also use this product in my pots de cream and also top off my peanut butter pie
Pros: Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, Quality, Time-saver
Cons: none
Review 2 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 10, 2017
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A family favorite!
January 10, 2017
Our family loves your hot chocolate mix! It's always a delicious treat on a cold day.
Review 3 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Nashville
,TN
January 10, 2017
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Christmas Gifts for Neighbors
January 10, 2017
Put together a Hot Chocolate Night with two mugs, marshmallows and this awesome Hot Chocolate as a gift for my neighbor. Love the variety and every flavour is super yummy!
Pros: Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, Quality
Review 4 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Upstate NY
January 9, 2017
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
just in time
January 9, 2017
We gave this as a gift. It arrived on a very cold day before Christmas so our guests thoroughly enjoyed it. They loved the rich chocolate. Great product.
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift, Quality
Review 5 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Loveland
,Oh
January 8, 2017
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious hot chocolate
January 8, 2017
I bought this for Christmas morning at my in-laws house. It was enjoyed by alll with the breakfast casserole.
Pros: Great Gift, Quality
Review 6 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chattanooga
,TN
January 7, 2017
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
INCREDIBLE TASTE!!!
January 7, 2017
I bought this as a Christmas gift for a family member, but I had a cup, also, and it was just fantastic!! I'm going to order some for myself now!!
Review 7 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,brooklyn
,NY
January 2, 2017
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful treat !
January 2, 2017
We purchased this "Hot Chocolate" for the first time for the Christmas Holidays. Family and friends are so fond of this drink that I just ordered four more tins. A great addition to this drink are the marshmallow snow flakes, a match made in heaven. Best hot chocolate ever, I will purchase again.
Review 8 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Indiana
,PA
Indiana, PA
December 28, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It isn't Christmas without this
December 28, 2016
Decadently delicious. Yes, it's expensive, but for my family, it's a holiday must.
Pros: Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift, Healthy
Cons: expensive
Review 9 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Birmingham
,AL
December 9, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
If ordered online, arrives DENTED
December 9, 2016
This has happened two years in a row now. I ordered multiple cans, and they arrived in a pristine shipping box, but the cans themselves were badly dented. It's excellent hot chocolate, but if you plan to give it as a gift, you'd better buy it in the store, so as to check the can. Excellent product , but I'm taking off 1 star for the poor service.
Review 10 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cape Coral
,FL
December 8, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Best hot chocolate ever!
December 8, 2016
I discovered this hot chocolate last year. I asked for the hot chocolate pot for Christmas and for everyone to buy the hot chocolate for it. I ran out in March and vowed it would never happen again. So far I've bought 12 and I think another 12 will get me through to Christmas 2017!
If you love hot chocolate you will love this.
Pros: Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Quality
Cons: not sold all year
Review 11 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,PA
November 20, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
CLASSIC HOT COCOA
November 20, 2016
THIS COCOA IS SO GOOD, YOU MAY END UP EATING IT WITH A SPOON. IT IS RICH, NOT TOO SWEET AND DELICIOUS ON A COLD FALL OR WINTER DAY. CAN ALSO BE USED TO TOP PIES OR CAKES. IT'S MULTI-PURPOSE AND MY FAVORITE WINTER THING FROM WS.
ENJOY.
Pros: Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Great Gift, Quality
Review 12 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Savannah
,Ga
November 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
The greatest treat ever!!!!!
November 4, 2016
My biggest fear...well, after the election, was that I would run out of this hot chocolate. I bought 8 tins of it last Christmas and have stored it, in foil, in my refrigerator. I'm now on my last, but am so happy that it is now available, again. I just received another container of it, and will certainly get more.
Honestly, it's the true stuff. I whip real cream to put on top. There aren't many things, anymore, that live up to my expectations, but this certainly does.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Healthy, Quality, Texture, Time-saver, treat yourself to the best
Review 13 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
February 27, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Best Hot Chocolate on the Planet
February 27, 2016
I have tried many gourmet and regular grocery store hot chocolates, even amazing hot chocolates on my travels to other countries but this one is AMAZING! Just open the lid and the smell of fresh shaved chocolate overwhelms your senses and it blends perfectly in milk. I just wish I bought 10 cans, this is my favorite!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 14 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bloomington
,IN
January 29, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Quality Hot Chocolate
January 29, 2016
This makes a really nice hot chocolate! It's rich and creamy with an intense chocolate flavor. Reminds me a bit of Angelina's in Paris.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Amount
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MSheridan
Savannah, Ga.
Posted November 4, 2016
How ironic....my thoughts, exactly. Angelina's for sure.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 25, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Hot Chocolate in Vegas
January 25, 2016
The whole family loves this hot chocolate. Bought 2 cans a month ago and almost gone. Wish they would offer this all year long as it truly is wonderful and so easy to make.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic
Review 16 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aiea
,HI
January 15, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Top tier chocolate
January 15, 2016
Great quality chocolate! All I can say is that every sip is awesome. Not overly sweet. Add a tablespoon to your coffee for a nice mocha flavor.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 17 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Parrish
,FL
January 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
very disappointed
January 13, 2016
the product was hard as a rock, as if it was leftover from some Christmas several years ago. I had to use a hammer and a knife to pulverize into what it was supposed to look like. Worse yet, I also ordered this as a gift for a friend, in addition to ordering this for myself.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 18 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,St. Petersburg
,Fl
January 11, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Mediocre hot chocolate
January 11, 2016
I ordered this product because I wanted some special hot chocolate. I assumed it would be wonderful from William Sonoma. It is just OK, nothing special. I am disappointed. Save your money and buy something less expensive, it will taste the same.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Time to Prepare
Review 19 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 6, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Hot Chocolate
January 6, 2016
I wait every year for the holidays to purchase this hot chocolate.
Review 20 for Williams Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Woodworth
,LA
January 3, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My favorite hot chocolate
January 3, 2016
I love this hot chocolate however, I wish it was stocked year round. Love it!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Cons: not stocked long enough
page1 2 3 next