This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate

Hot chocolate is distinctly different from hot cocoa. Because it's produced from shavings of premium chocolate rather than cocoa powder, our hot chocolate is intensely chocolaty, with a well-rounded body, rich taste, smooth texture and exquisite aroma. Inspired by the hot chocolate served in Parisian cafes, it's made with artisanal bittersweet chocolate that liquefies quickly and consistently in hot milk. The chocolate is crafted for us by Guittard, expert San Francisco chocolate makers since the 19th century. 12 oz.(makes 8 cups). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrainsHaynes
,Knoxville
,TN
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Melted chocolate
January 19, 2015
Love to see and smell the chocolate shavings melt into the milk as I stir...
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sfcooking
January 18, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
amazing product
January 18, 2015
Excellent chocolate flavor, rich, and satisfying. You can use less than the recipe calls for.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mogul
,Estero
,FL
January 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Best Cocoa Mix Ever
January 8, 2015
I've tried lots and lots of hot cocoa mix and Willliams Sonoma is definitely the best. It's rich and chocolately and doesn't have the off, chemical taste so many lesser ones do. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichiganMade
,LIVONIA
,Mi
January 7, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Rich & Creamy
January 7, 2015
This Hot Chocolate mix is quite delicious. It is more of a treat for special times than just your average "hot chocolate". Made with your own milk and then you add the flaked, rich chocolate shavings which gently melt and give you a sensational and dreamy cup of cocoa. Top it off with either W&S marshmallows or whipped cream and an additional dusting of the chocolate shavings. Truly a delight!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
32gma
January 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
classic hot chocolate
January 6, 2015
This is the best ever. We don't get to many "wintery" days but oh, when we do is this hot chocolate ever comforting. Add a couple of your scrumptious marshmallows and I am in bliss.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
countrycook
,Albany
,KY
January 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolutely Delcious!!!!
January 6, 2015
This is our favorite wintertime drink! Prepare as directed and top with whipped cream. Heavenly!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BohoBeachGirl
,Long Beach
,CA
January 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious and chocolatey
January 6, 2015
Creamy with rich chocolate flavor
Easy to make
Great with peppermint marshmallows
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Atlantan
,Atlanta
,GA
January 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Hot Chocolate EVER!
January 5, 2015
A friend gave me a tin of this for Christmas about 4 years ago and I have been ordering them every Christmas and giving tins as gifts every Christmas since. REAL chocolate and lots of it. Add the hand-cut marshmallows and you have the perfect hot chocolate experience!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ksuwildcat58
,Olathe
,KS
January 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Hot Chocolate
January 1, 2015
This is my favorite hot chocolate mix. I give it as gifts also and it's always received very well by my gift recipients. My Aunt even used it in chocolate frosting when she didn't have cocoa.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SuSu2
,NY
NY
December 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It's good.........
December 20, 2014
It's very good, but really not as good as all of the reviews or for the price.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Amount, price
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsTiffG
,Plainfield
,IL
December 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
The Best Ever
December 5, 2014
My family loves the hot chocolate from WS. It has been a part of our holiday tradition for years. The quality of the chocolate makes for a velvety and rich drink that isn't overly sweet and it's never gritty.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
January 5, 2014
Simply Delicious Hot Chocolate Any Time Of The Year!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LS14
,Honolulu
,HI
January 4, 2014
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
1of 7found this review helpful.
Shipping to Hawaii
January 4, 2014
I ordered this item, the vanilla marshmallows and the shaved chocolate topper. All arrived in a few days but they were all melted. I guess it might be an obvious conclusion since it is Hawaii but I chanced it because the peppermint bark doesn't melt during shipping. Also I received gourmet marshmallows from another site which shipped from Florida and those didn't melt either.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robinredraven
,Mission Viejo
,CA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
This is how we do it at our house!
December 26, 2013
We heat up vanilla coconut milk and add the Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate Mix. It melts in wonderfully. We serve it in mugs with Williams-Sonoma Peppermint North Poles. The candy melts in as you stir and makes the most amazing peppermint hot chocolate. When we're feeling really decadent, we throw some whipped cream on top, too! The best hot drink EVER! I'm hoarding to make it last through the year!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CandiceG
,Minneapolis
,MN
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Stock Up, it's wonderful.
December 25, 2013
I hoard this stuff every year because without fail, I run out! It makes the best hot chocolate ever and also the best last minute gift to someone special. I say someone special because I wouldn't give this stuff to just anyone! It is that good!!!! I have also used it to coat truffles instead of cocoa powder or to top cupcakes. Ideas or limitless. Anytime you need chocolate shavings, pull this stuff out. Stock up though because once you have it, you will become a hot chocolate snot and Swiss Miss will suddenly be a childhood memory. Welcome to adult hot chocolate ladies! Yum! I have turned so many people on to this goodness I'm starting to think I should stop because it is becoming harder and harder to get every year...hint hint WS!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCTyro
,Denton
,TX
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Rich and delicious
December 7, 2013
This hot chocolate is rich, smooth, and delicious. By far the best hot chocolate you can make at home! Just wish the can was a little larger, 8 cups will go very fast!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount