Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate

Hot chocolate is distinctly different from hot cocoa. Because it's produced from shavings of premium chocolate rather than cocoa powder, our hot chocolate is intensely chocolaty, with a well-rounded body, rich taste, smooth texture and exquisite aroma. Inspired by the hot chocolate served in Parisian cafes, it's made with artisanal bittersweet chocolate that liquefies quickly and consistently in hot milk. The chocolate is crafted for us by Guittard, expert San Francisco chocolate makers since the 19th century. 12 oz. tin (makes 8 cups). Made in USA. This item cannot be shipped to Hawaii but is available for purchase at our Honolulu retail store.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
34 of 41(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,PA
November 20, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
CLASSIC HOT COCOA
November 20, 2016
THIS COCOA IS SO GOOD, YOU MAY END UP EATING IT WITH A SPOON. IT IS RICH, NOT TOO SWEET AND DELICIOUS ON A COLD FALL OR WINTER DAY. CAN ALSO BE USED TO TOP PIES OR CAKES. IT'S MULTI-PURPOSE AND MY FAVORITE WINTER THING FROM WS.
ENJOY.
Pros: Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Great Gift, Quality
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Savannah
,Ga
November 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The greatest treat ever!!!!!
November 4, 2016
My biggest fear...well, after the election, was that I would run out of this hot chocolate. I bought 8 tins of it last Christmas and have stored it, in foil, in my refrigerator. I'm now on my last, but am so happy that it is now available, again. I just received another container of it, and will certainly get more.
Honestly, it's the true stuff. I whip real cream to put on top. There aren't many things, anymore, that live up to my expectations, but this certainly does.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Healthy, Quality, Texture, Time-saver, treat yourself to the best
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
February 27, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Hot Chocolate on the Planet
February 27, 2016
I have tried many gourmet and regular grocery store hot chocolates, even amazing hot chocolates on my travels to other countries but this one is AMAZING! Just open the lid and the smell of fresh shaved chocolate overwhelms your senses and it blends perfectly in milk. I just wish I bought 10 cans, this is my favorite!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bloomington
,IN
January 29, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Hot Chocolate
January 29, 2016
This makes a really nice hot chocolate! It's rich and creamy with an intense chocolate flavor. Reminds me a bit of Angelina's in Paris.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Amount
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MSheridan
Savannah, Ga.
Posted November 4, 2016
How ironic....my thoughts, exactly. Angelina's for sure.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 25, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Hot Chocolate in Vegas
January 25, 2016
The whole family loves this hot chocolate. Bought 2 cans a month ago and almost gone. Wish they would offer this all year long as it truly is wonderful and so easy to make.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aiea
,HI
January 15, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Top tier chocolate
January 15, 2016
Great quality chocolate! All I can say is that every sip is awesome. Not overly sweet. Add a tablespoon to your coffee for a nice mocha flavor.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Parrish
,FL
January 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very disappointed
January 13, 2016
the product was hard as a rock, as if it was leftover from some Christmas several years ago. I had to use a hammer and a knife to pulverize into what it was supposed to look like. Worse yet, I also ordered this as a gift for a friend, in addition to ordering this for myself.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,St. Petersburg
,Fl
January 11, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mediocre hot chocolate
January 11, 2016
I ordered this product because I wanted some special hot chocolate. I assumed it would be wonderful from William Sonoma. It is just OK, nothing special. I am disappointed. Save your money and buy something less expensive, it will taste the same.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Time to Prepare
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 6, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Hot Chocolate
January 6, 2016
I wait every year for the holidays to purchase this hot chocolate.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Woodworth
,LA
January 3, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite hot chocolate
January 3, 2016
I love this hot chocolate however, I wish it was stocked year round. Love it!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Cons: not stocked long enough
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Redding
,CA
January 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best hot chocolate ever...
January 1, 2016
I have ordered this product for many years and am always happy with the contents of the can. But for the last three years, every time I receive the two cans I order, I discover that BOTH of the cans have arrived dented, sometimes in more than one place. Whether a purchaser wants to keep the empty cans or not, the cans should not arrive dented. This occurs because the two cans are placed unwrapped and unrestrained in their cardboard box, and undoubtedly, they are bounced around a fair amount in transit. I hope next year you will have the kindness to wrap the cans in a sheet of bubble wrap before you ship them.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,Ca
December 31, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expensive, but a family fav!
December 31, 2015
We buy this each year. My kids love this and they won't drink any other hot chocolate! It's expensive, and a seasonal item so you can only get it for the holidays and it's a bit to pricy to stock up on! So my kids enjoy it each year until we run out until the next holiday season!!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: price
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dumfries
,VA
December 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Prepare and Incredible flavor
December 26, 2015
Had a sample of this at the store and fell in love. this hot chocolate tastes really great and is so easy to prepare. love it!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
December 17, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Formula Not Worth The Cost
December 17, 2015
I bought 2 cans for myself and 6 cans of this to give as gifts before realizing WS has tampered with the formula! It's not the same, and no better than the cheap popular foil packets I buy at the grocery store. Nothing was mentioned about "new formula" in the description or on the can itself. I knew something was "off" as soon as I made my first cup. So I compared the new can to my old can from last year to see that it was indeed changed.
Very disappointed! non-returnable too. even if unopened.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Ingredients
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bucks County
,PA
December 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We use it for more than just Hot Chocolate :)
December 16, 2015
We sprinkle it on top of ice cream and gelato, sprinkle it on top of pancakes and crepes. I'm sure there will be more ways we will use this delicious chocolate.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,SF Bay Area
,CA
December 13, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best hot chocolate out there!
December 13, 2015
I am a hot chocolate lover and Williams-Sonoma hot chocolate is the best. I find that heating the milk in a mug in the microwave and then adding the chocolate, with a lot of stirring, works quite well. It's so rich and the good quality chocolate makes this product the best.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Valencia
,PA
December 10, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peppermint Hot Chocolate
December 10, 2015
For years I have been buying the peppermint hot cocoa, not the peppermint bark for my sister and I buy 10 to 12 a year for her. I am SOOO Disappointed in what you are now selling. It is very sweet and does not have that same appeal as the other. Please bring back the original, my sister is very disappointed as am I. One Christmas Gift I always got for her now I have to find something else.
Pros: Great Gift
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Wadsworth
,oh
December 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
December 6, 2015
I have been purchasing your Classic Hot Chocolate for years. I used to buy in a store near me until you closed it and then I ordered it online. It has always been bittersweet chocolate in the past. I thought you just changed the container, but no this year it was milk chocolate. So I am very disappointed. Instead of enjoying it for the few cold months, i will give it as gifts. You should not have called it Classic and then changed the contents.
Cons: Disappointing, not what i thought i was ordering. you called it
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
atMidnightShebakes
Sunnyvale, CA
Posted January 5, 2016
Also super disappointed!
I specifically came on here to see if anyone else noticed the change b/c there was most definitely a change! We've been drinking this hot chocolate since before 2008 and the formula changed this year! The store clerks had no idea since I was apparently the first person to ask them about this. The website description says "bittersweet" as in past years but the actual can states "it's made with artisanal semisweet chocolate." Thankfully, WS customer service took care of this and refunded us. At the price we paid per can, I expect a better product than commercial mixes. Guittard needs to change back to what it used to be because this year's is extremely mediocre!
0points
Customer avatar
Thirdarm
Gainesville, FL
Posted December 13, 2015
Bittersweet?
According to the ingredients on the website, he chocolate is bittersweet, not milk chocolate. If it is the latter, then the information needs to be changed!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Savannah
,GA
December 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Hot Chocolate
December 2, 2015
This is the best hot chocolate….delicious!
My children have always had Cadburys Hot Chocolate whilst we read bedtime stories until now. We sampled this in our local Williams Sonoma store and ended up buying a tin. This has now taken over our Cadburys hot chocolate….
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Classic Hot Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pacifica
,Ca
December 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best hot chocolate EVER!
December 2, 2015
WS's hot chocolate is my favorite product from the store. Made with Guittard chocolate, the taste is superb and so much easier to prepare than hot coco. Love this product so much, I stock up for the entire year so I can enjoy a cup whenever there's a chilly day.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
page1 2 3 next