This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies

A favorite at Maine country stores since the 1920s, buttercream-filled chocolate whoopie pies are said to derive their name from the shouts of delight they elicit. Ours are hand made from scratch at a small Maine bakery using a prized family recipe. Made from the very finest local ingredients, including freshly churned butter, free-range eggs and Atlantic sea salt. Each whoopee pie consists of two moist, tender chocolate cakes hugging a fluffy filling of vanilla buttercream. Inspired by fir trees along the Maine coast, our tree-shaped pies come with a packet of crushed peppermint candy so you can add a dusting of fresh, crunchy "snow." 18.4 oz. (12 individually wrapped pies). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
Review 1 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dangling
,St. Louis
,Mo
December 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not impressed
December 19, 2011
Didn't like these cake is dry too much too sweet filling Maybe I just don't like whoopie pies but I won't be tempted again
Cons: Disappointing
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
gmkathy2
metro Atlanta via Massachusetts
Posted December 9, 2012
Too much filling?
That's what makes a Whoopie Pie a real Maine/New England Whoopie Pie. The cake part is just a vehicle for the filling.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom37
New York , ny
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yummy little treats that everyone loved
January 5, 2011
These holiday whoopie pie were delicious. My whole family and friends enjoyed them. They were the perfect size and came in a beautiful package that anyone would like to receive.
Review 3 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Xfactor
Palm Beach, FL
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Tiny Cakelets - One Dimensional Flavor
December 1, 2010
These Christmas tree cakelets are much, much smaller than I imagined. They arrive festively packaged and individually wrapped but a bit squashed. Further, while the chocolate cake itself tastes fresh, moist, and delicious, the vanilla filling is less than noteworthy. It is one dimensional in flavor and pale yellow in color - not the fluffy white one would expect from a buttercream. So while I'm glad I tried the holiday tree whoopie pies this year, my review of the item is middling and I would suggest a re-working of the vanilla filling recipe. The fall maple leaf and pumpkin whoopie pies, presumably by the same bakery, are better.
Review 4 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilStorm
Seattle, WA
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Sweetness
November 1, 2010
I got these from a friend for Christmas one year... I almost didn't try them. But then I had a craving for something sweet and I remembered that I had the. Once I had one, I could not stop craving them. They are wonderful and I can't wait to get them again this year!
Review 5 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mpweb
Heathsville,Virginia
January 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Christmas Whoopie Pies without the Christmas
January 22, 2010
The whoopie pies were good but there were no sprinkles included with the order.
Review 6 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianaW
Fremont, CA
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
a fun dessert
January 13, 2010
At first I was surprised because the "trees" seemed so small but it turned out they were exactly the right size because they were so rich. It was a different ending to a holiday meal but everyone really enjoyed them. The peppermint gave a specially bright refreshing finish.
Review 7 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LoverofGoldens
Harrisonburg, VA
January 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Nothing to Shout About
January 4, 2010
I purchased these for some of my Mainer friends who are whoopie pie enthusiasts. The pies were tiny and lacked depth. My friends who scrounge the bakeries of Maine for whoopie pie confections, they were less than impressed.
Review 8 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kimbely
Lancaster PA
November 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-21points
0of 21found this review helpful.
gingerbread tiles
November 30, 2009
I just was checking if your selling the gingerbread tiles this year, it has been something that many of us looked forward too this season. Last year they were not available & I was hoping to get them this year.
Review 9 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BridgetteAmy
Maine
November 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect for gifts or parties!
November 29, 2009
How cute are these! The bonus is that they are delicious too! I have sent these to clients and to new neighbors in the neighborhood and everyone is sooo delighted! So, who isnt too busy to cook for holiday parties coming up?
Give yourself a break and order these....your guests of all ages are sure to be pleased....and how festive!
Review 10 for Holiday Tree Whoopie Pies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cadensg
St Louis MO
November 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
9of 12found this review helpful.
Whoopie is right, these are delicious!
November 22, 2009
I love all of the whoopie pie products you offer. The different flavors from season to season are a wonderful treat. I order them all. I wish you offered them year round. The crushed peppermint is a nice enhancement to the chocolate and if you don't like peppermint, you can leave it off. What a wonderful idea. I'm so glad you continue to offer these.