Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Himalayan Salt Plate

This plate is sourced from natural salt deposits found in the Himalayas. The dense crystalline composition adds complex flavor to all types of foods. Heat on the grill to sear seafood and meat, or chill for serving a selection of fruits, vegetables and cheeses with a hint of salt. Mineral-rich pink Himalayan salt adds delicate flavor to food. Retains hot and cold temperatures evenly. Harvested from ancient Himalayan sea salt deposits. Heat on the grill to cook thin cuts of meat, fish and shellfish. Chill in the refrigerator to serve cold appetizers, cheese, sushi and fruit. Naturally anti-microbial and easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Himalayan Salt Plate
Review 1 for Himalayan Salt Plate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Lancaster
,PA
February 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salt Plate to Salt Powder
February 2, 2016
This is my fourth plate. It enhances the flavor of any food cooked on it. My favorites are fish and thick pork chops. I preheat the oven with it in it. I use it and store it in the oven. I once burnt it. It cracked and broke in half. I still used it. When the salt plate dissolves beyond use, I blend it into salt powder, then cook with it. The fish smell does dissipate, with no residual flavor. The reason its not rated with 5 stars is because it did break, it dissolves in the center, and cleaning it has a learning curve. Worth it .Makes a great gift. Gave one to my mom.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
stephannie
Lancaster, PA
Posted March 18, 2016
Handling tips to prevent breakageLancaste
I broke my salt plate because of two things. It broke from leaving it in the oven too long without anything on it. It's like when you put a cup in the microwave without anything in it or put a glass/ceramic dish in the oven without any thing in it. I store my plate in the oven. When I preheat the oven, the plate is in it. Extreme temperature changes will cause breakage as well as cleaning it and put in oven while it hasn't dried completely. It is a natural substance that requires special handling but worth the few extra minutes. Also, I use olive oil on both sides of the meat I bake on the salt plate. I drizzle olive oil on vegetables too. When you clean it, dry with a paper towel to absorb water before it weakens the salt plate. And use cold water to hinder dissolving.
0points
Customer avatar
KK1221
Ohio
Posted March 14, 2016
I purchased this for a friend. They carefully read all the directions and watched some videos on the best way to use the stone. The first time it was used it literally exploded in the oven into a million pieces!
Any tips on preheating this for oven use? How high does it need to be before yo u can cook on it?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Himalayan Salt Plate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Venice
,CA
November 11, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
2of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salt was broke in half out of the box
November 11, 2015
This seems like it'd be a good product that added an interesting spin on cooking. Disappointed that the salt was broke in half out of the box. Williams-Sonoma markets their company as being high quality products, receiving broken products is unacceptable.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, durability, Assembly, Strength, Unreliable, broke
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
wordstress
Eustis, FL
Posted March 17, 2016
Really?
I believe that a slab of salt breaking in the mail is not an indicator of poor quality. To me, it is far more important how Williams and Sonoma handled your complaint, if you complained directly to them (as opposed to just posting it here).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Himalayan Salt Plate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,La Canada
,Ca
July 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun new way to cook
July 27, 2015
I love the results when cooking with this salt block. There is a learning curve though. It takes a few times to get it right. You can't use to cook spur of the moment because it takes an hour or more to pre-heat it. It sauted the best scallops I have ever tasted. Skinless-boneless chicken breasts are nice too, because they come out plump and juicy.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Himalayan Salt Plate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,La Mesa
,CA
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impossible to Clean
March 20, 2015
Used our salt plate on the BBQ grill with blue shrimp (marinated in olive oil only) and halibut (marinated in olive oil and Mexican spices). The seafood turned out well and had fantastic flavor. However, the joy of the meal was surpassed by the 2 hour chore of attempting to get the salt plate clean. The marinade and (and now fishy smell) seeped into a small fissure in the plate and the surface. No amount of scrubbing with a brush, with a scrubby sponge, or with a salt paste has succeeded in cleaning the plate or removing the odor.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
launa
us
Posted June 10, 2016
update please?
Did you only use it the one time? Another reviewer said the smell came out after a day or so, was that your experience ?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Himalayan Salt Plate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rio Verde
,AZ
January 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salt Plate is great
January 7, 2015
I ordered this as a gift for my son for Christmas. He has used it and really liked it. Would recommend getting the plate server with the salt plate. This would prevent cracks and nicks in the plate when storing it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 6 for Himalayan Salt Plate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Mission
,Tx
December 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
10of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I just put in the oven and it cracked
December 25, 2014
I received this today for Christmas. I put it in the oven at 500 like the packaging said. It state 500 degrees for 30 minutes. At 20 minutes is split into thirds and send salt everywhere. I am super disappointed. This product was a gift purchases at Williams-Sonoma. I can't find the manufacture to learn why this happened.
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Outdoor TeamJanuary 2, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you had challenges using our Himalayan Salt Plate. When heating the salt plate, it is important to do so gradually in order to avoid any thermal shock. We recommend putting the salt plate in the oven or on the grill while it is cold, then heating the plate to the desired cooking temperature.
Review 7 for Himalayan Salt Plate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ankeny
,IA
October 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprising Hit
October 7, 2014
There were some skeptics in our house when I ordered this but I brought it to a dinner party and it was a huge hit. We chilled it and served thinly sliced gouda. It was a hit with the whole group, we kept running out of gouda. We don't use it often but for entertaining it's great. I think the only complaint is that it's pretty heavy and a little awkward to store.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for Himalayan Salt Plate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
July 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product!
July 3, 2014
This plate is fabulous!!! Purchased it several weeks ago but only used it for the first time this evening. Used the plate on my grill to cook salmon and it turn out fabulous!!!! The salmon was tasty and well seasoned!!! Highly recommend this to anyone considering a purchase; you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Himalayan Salt Plate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Springdale
,AR
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+27points
30of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Himalayan Salt Plate
September 5, 2012
WE love cooking on the salt plate food taste's great and is easy to cook on. We are not the best griller's and our food comes out perfect. Salt plate gives a great flavor and burn. This is our second salt plate. We now have two on the grill and several of our friend's have purchased the salt plate after tasting the food. The salt Plate turns dark, but that is just the seasoning of the plate. We would Highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Versatile
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Redheadswife
Louisiana
Posted May 16, 2013
Use on Electric Stove?
Can the salt plate be used on an electric stove or only on a grill? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)