Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt

Smoked salt has long been a favorite seasoning, dating back to the days when Vikings infused sea salt crystals with the smoke from aromatic wood fires. Continuing this proud culinary tradition, our all-natural hickory-smoked sea salt is extremely versatile, adding rich, smoky flavor to a wide variety of foods. To create this savory seasoning, delicate flakes of premium Pacific sea salt are naturally smoked over fragrant hickory wood fires. Hickory Smoked Salt adds distinctive flavor to everything from meats, poultry and seafood to salads, soups, sauces and vegetables. For an irresistible snack, sprinkle it on hot, buttered popcorn. Use this richly flavored salt as an ingredient in your favorite vinaigrettes, barbecue sauces and grilling spice rubs. The premium, all-natural ingredients for our Hickory Smoked Salt are sourced from around the world and expertly blended by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. 3.1 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
schuhshine
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Hickory Smoked Flavor!
June 29, 2013
I've purchased several varieties of sea salt (my general preference in cooking), but I never expected to use the Hickory Smoked as frequently as I do.
It only took one try on the BBQ to make it my "go to" favorite whenever I'm grilling steaks or burgers. It also gives a great "grilled" flavor to meats under the broiler or in a frying pan on top of the stove. Try it on pork chops for a tasty change of pace, too!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iambmj
,San Diego
,Ca
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I never want to be without
January 6, 2013
I can't say enough good things about the hickory salt. It is worth the money and adds so much to everything I've used it on. I'm out and so is W&S - YIKES! I'll be keeping a spare on hand going forward.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheLiquidChef
,Bloomfield
,NJ
October 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I turned this into a cocktail!!! Awesome!
October 14, 2012
I bought this a couple of weeks ago on a whim. I originally had it in mind for a salt rim on a fall/winter version of a Margarita. Then after a couple of days of playing around I decided to make a syrup from it. It took some work but I was eventually able to develop a great balance and got my smoked syrup. I then turned into "Ol' Smokey's Mangarita". I do it with bourbon, apple cider, the smoked syrup and a few other ingredients with the hickory salt rim. It is currently the hottest seller at my restaraunt. People can't get enough of it. Great product for other than cooking!!!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chucky20
,ND
Fargo, ND
April 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The must have it!
April 27, 2012
I have been using this must have smokey sea salt since it became available. It is our to go to salt on everything. A little goes a long way. Try it the next time you make potato or macaroni salad. I got rave reviews when I mixed it in my mayo, sour cream base for the salads. FANTASTIC!
Pros: Authentic, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OlympiaMom
,Olympia
,WA
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very strong and authentic smoke flavor
April 17, 2012
Smoked salt can make meals taste much bolder and better, even when you just prepare on the cook top. Years ago when living in Alaska, I tried a locally produced Alder smoked salt, which I loved and used to the last grain. So when I saw the hickory smoked salt, I decided to try it. The smell of it is very intense and authentic - it put me off a bit at first, but then when i tried it on food, it was the perfect intensity and flavor. While we are in the process of moving across the country, I carry very few essentials with us, and have taken this one as the only salt (instead of my usual sea salt mill), as it goes a long way, and peps up any meal I make. I love it especially for roasted veggies, chicken, even use it for omeletts. With a preschooler at the dinner table, none of our picky eaters have complained. Because it is so intense, I use a lot less salt now. I don't prefer this salt for bread dipped in olive oil, as I prefer large flakes with a slight crunch.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bena
,Jacksonville
,NC
Jacksonville NC
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smokey Success For Me
November 26, 2011
I can say this is worth every penny. I have used this on everything from Steaks to roasted cherry tomatoes. This is so good but be careful the second time I used it I thought if a little was good more would be better not so. It can be over powering if used to heavily. But it is very yummy.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BWilliams
,Clarkston
,WA
September 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!!
September 24, 2011
We bought this originally to go into a BBQ Rub and it is now a staple in our seasoning arsenal. It adds great flavor without an overwhelming salt taste. We rub it into literally ALL of our red meat and if you like prime rib, you need to order this salt . . . but not too much, I have to reorder often!! :) Happy Cooking!!!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lazer
Minnetonka, Minnesota
July 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
smoked sea salt
July 23, 2011
OMG!!! This is a spectacular item. I brined a turkey with it and added it to the stuffing. WOW! Great stuff! I have also used it on sauted mushrooms and it packs a lot of flavor with little use. Love this stuff and am buying two more jars and maybe even a few more for Christmas gifts this year
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappieCooker
Chino, CA
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow, great flavor!
July 14, 2011
Wow, this is great salt. Not only does is smell wonderful, it adds a nice flavor to your food without having to use much salt. Put it on veggies or meat.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeatherInPA
Philadelphia, PA
June 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT Smokey Flavor
June 10, 2011
This is my new favorite seasoning. We use it on everything - my favorite way so far has been on grilled peppers and onions for fajitas. Awesome!!!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dlatte
Utica, NY
May 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hickory smoked sea salt- great taste
May 7, 2011
This has a great taste, and you only need a little, it goes a long way on flavor. I rubbed it all over a prime rib before roasting and everyone loved the taste.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingmomsuzz
Washington State
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious
March 4, 2011
This is wonderful salt, just the smell alone is fantastic. I use it on so many things from meats to vegetables to gravy. My husband will eat it out of the jar if I don't watch him. Can't live without it now.
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gammi
Arlington, TX
February 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste like outdoors
February 22, 2011
Just as promised. Great taste to steaks and I also like to sprinkle it on raw shrimp before grilling.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katelyn
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
January 31, 2011
I came across this while looking for stocking stuffers for my dad and thought I'd try it out. We both loved it and use it all the time. This salt is great for novice cooks (like ourselves), but it creates a great high quality smoked taste, perfect even for the most experienced chefs.
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
somethingnew
Bridgewater, NJ
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The search is over...
October 24, 2010
I only recently learned about smoked salt - I've been searching the internet and stores for a stong, natural blend at a reasonable price - I found it here! Its exactly how I imagined a smoked salt would be - a very potent hickory aroma and taste! mmmmmm
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingGirl
San Diego, CA
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have!
October 17, 2010
I was wary of buying this, but my husband convinced me to try it out and I am so glad I did! It is very powerful and a little goes a long way, but your food WILL taste like it was made on a hickory smoked grill. It is excellent with barbeque foods, steaks, chickens, etc. HIghly recommend!
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelinore
Ohio
October 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Salt!
October 5, 2010
Purchased this over the weekend and I was blown away. It add phenomenal flavor to meats. Used on a flat iron and chicken. Definitely takes like it was cooked on a wood fire grill. Definitely recommend this salt!
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkotfica
San Francisco, CA
September 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BBQ flavor without the grill
September 15, 2010
Smoked salt really adds excellent hickory flavor as a finish to any cooked food. Get the flavor of BBQ without grilling - and without chemicals or preservatives. Especially yummy on eggs!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Nikki715
Orange County, CA
Posted April 15, 2011
If you love this on eggs, try making an open-faced egg sandwich with BBQ sauce, carmelized onions, bacon and american cheese, topped with this amazing hickory smoked salt and fresh cracked black pepper. I enjoy it every morning!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)