Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt

Smoked salt has long been a favorite seasoning, dating back to the days when Vikings infused sea salt crystals with the smoke from aromatic wood fires. Continuing this proud culinary tradition, our all-natural hickory-smoked sea salt is extremely versatile, adding rich, smoky flavor to a wide variety of foods. To create this savory seasoning, delicate flakes of premium Pacific sea salt are naturally smoked over fragrant hickory wood fires. Hickory Smoked Salt adds distinctive flavor to everything from meats, poultry and seafood to salads, soups, sauces and vegetables. For an irresistible snack, sprinkle it on hot, buttered popcorn. Use this richly flavored salt as an ingredient in your favorite vinaigrettes, barbecue sauces and grilling spice rubs. The premium, all-natural ingredients for our Hickory Smoked Salt are sourced from around the world and expertly blended by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. 3.1 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
schuhshine
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Hickory Smoked Flavor!
June 29, 2013
I've purchased several varieties of sea salt (my general preference in cooking), but I never expected to use the Hickory Smoked as frequently as I do.
It only took one try on the BBQ to make it my "go to" favorite whenever I'm grilling steaks or burgers. It also gives a great "grilled" flavor to meats under the broiler or in a frying pan on top of the stove. Try it on pork chops for a tasty change of pace, too!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iambmj
,San Diego
,Ca
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I never want to be without
January 6, 2013
I can't say enough good things about the hickory salt. It is worth the money and adds so much to everything I've used it on. I'm out and so is W&S - YIKES! I'll be keeping a spare on hand going forward.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheLiquidChef
,Bloomfield
,NJ
October 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I turned this into a cocktail!!! Awesome!
October 14, 2012
I bought this a couple of weeks ago on a whim. I originally had it in mind for a salt rim on a fall/winter version of a Margarita. Then after a couple of days of playing around I decided to make a syrup from it. It took some work but I was eventually able to develop a great balance and got my smoked syrup. I then turned into "Ol' Smokey's Mangarita". I do it with bourbon, apple cider, the smoked syrup and a few other ingredients with the hickory salt rim. It is currently the hottest seller at my restaraunt. People can't get enough of it. Great product for other than cooking!!!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chucky20
,ND
Fargo, ND
April 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The must have it!
April 27, 2012
I have been using this must have smokey sea salt since it became available. It is our to go to salt on everything. A little goes a long way. Try it the next time you make potato or macaroni salad. I got rave reviews when I mixed it in my mayo, sour cream base for the salads. FANTASTIC!
Pros: Authentic, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Hickory Smoked Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OlympiaMom
,Olympia
,WA
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very strong and authentic smoke flavor
April 17, 2012
Smoked salt can make meals taste much bolder and better, even when you just prepare on the cook top. Years ago when living in Alaska, I tried a locally produced Alder smoked salt, which I loved and used to the last grain. So when I saw the hickory smoked salt, I decided to try it. The smell of it is very intense and authentic - it put me off a bit at first, but then when i tried it on food, it was the perfect intensity and flavor. While we are in the process of moving across the country, I carry very few essentials with us, and have taken this one as the only salt (instead of my usual sea salt mill), as it goes a long way, and peps up any meal I make. I love it especially for roasted veggies, chicken, even use it for omeletts. With a preschooler at the dinner table, none of our picky eaters have complained. Because it is so intense, I use a lot less salt now. I don't prefer this salt for bread dipped in olive oil, as I prefer large flakes with a slight crunch.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Texture