J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board

Using woodworking methods passed down through generations of New England craftspeople, artisans in Vermont shape this hardworking board from solid North American hickory. The extremely hard wood is also beautifully grained, making this board ideal for prep tasks as well as serving appetizers and cheeses. Crafted from sustainably harvested North American hickory, durable enough to withstand daily use yet gentle on knife edges. Doweled cleats at each end create decorative contrast in color and grain. Finished with a food-safe teak-oil finish to highlight the wood's natural beauty. Made by the venerable J.K. Adams Co. of Vermont, specialists in finely made wooden kitchen wares. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board
Review 1 for J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
February 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This one is it!
February 20, 2013
Finally found the perfect daily use cutting board!!! After trying and failing so many times this J.K. Adams hickory board is "The One"! I've had this several months now and can definitively say I'm happy with it. The size is perfect, you can work on chopping different vegetables without running out of board space. The weight is perfect, you can easily pick it up and slide chopped vegetables directly into your sauté pan or pot and it's easy to wash. I maintain mine with a quick application of mineral oil 2 or 3 times a month. This board is also attractive and can be easily left out on your countertop.
A previous reviewer said something about her board falling apart... I don't see how that's possible unless she soaked it in water for hours or put it into a dishwasher and we all know you can't do that with a wooden cutting board. If she really did have problems with the board thru no fault of her own I know WS would have gladly exchanged it, or refunded her.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chicago48
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it, ordering a second one
December 16, 2012
We have had our board for about 2 months. We clean and oil it weekly, so that may prevent the issues the other reviewers had with warping. We have a small kitchen and limited counter space, so the low profile works perfectly. It looks handsome, cuts well. We keep it stable on a rubber cooking mat. Ordering a second one for the other side of the stove. Good weight, not too heavy.
Pros: Size, Shape, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sailingmom
Roxbury, CT
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
expensive but worth it!
June 7, 2011
Even though this cutting board is rather expensive, it is worth the money. My husband bought one for Christmas, and as we have a very large kitchen, I bought another one.. It not only is attractive to leave on the counter, but nice to cut and chop on. Once a week, we treat it with a bit of olive oil to keep it "seasoned"
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Shape, Weight, attractive and sturdy
Review 4 for J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BlueSky1231
Stockholm, Sweden
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not recommended
December 31, 2010
I picked out this cutting board for my birthday. I wanted something I could have out on the counter for everyday use. The size was perfect for my need. However, after washing it couple of times, the wood warped and the pegs on both ends came loose. I lost one peg in the drain.
Review 5 for J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeCookingKate
Texas
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, Functional, Practical
November 26, 2010
The craftsmanship is stunning. The design with the capped ends reduces the likelihood of splitting over time. But what I like best about this board is the functionality. The size is ideal for mulitple chopping chores at one time; garlic on one side, and a whole onion on the other. I noticed immediately that while it is not a butcher block, the heft is just right to keep it steady on the counter, without slipping around as you are doing some serious, high-speed knife maneuvers. Yet it is light enough that you can hold it with one hand and scrape items into a pot or pan with the other.
Review 6 for J.K. Adams Hickory Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neri
Wading River, NY
October 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great looking funtional cutting board
October 4, 2010
Recently, I purchased this cutting board and I absolutely love it.
Not only is the perfect size to meet the demands of a busy cook. I also love the grain and finish. It's very attractive on the countertop and practical.
I am very pleased. Worth the investiment.