This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth

An intricate double row of hemstitching embellishes this classic tablecloth. Woven of 100% linen, it provides an elegant neutral backdrop for many different styles of dinnerware. It's an excellent choice for all sorts of occasions, from patio lunches to formal dinners. Made in Hungary. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
2 of 6(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
Review 1 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
minnemom
February 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
How-to advice from the cleaners
February 11, 2014
I bought 3 different sizes in the Natural color. I agree that this weave/cloth is not intended for a starched, formal look. (think hotel quality) The look is more relaxed, but still special. After being dissatisfied with the high cost of dry cleaning these, the cleaners told me how to properly clean these at home: use oxyclean on a soak cycle. Then put it through a rinse & spin cycle. Take out and put in the dryer on a "touch up" cycle for about 13 minutes.
It will be fairly damp, but I immediately remove it and stretch it out on my padded table. It dries with a soft drape to the sides. If you want, you can iron those draped sides, but I never do because I have accepted the fact that it has a more relaxed look. The linen is very durable--I use them at least a few times a month. Love them!
Review 2 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rosetyme
,New York
,NY
December 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Not as good as they used to be
December 5, 2013
I have purchased several Williams Sonoma tablecloths over the years and always loved them. The linen quality for the price was great. Unfortunately the fabrication seems to have changed. It seems still to be linen, but the weave is more rustic and less fine, the threads are thicker, and the table cloths and napkins are very difficult to iron. My older tablecloths were pretty easy to iron, but the new ones simply will not iron well. I have used a hand iron and a rotary iron and a combination of both, dry and damp, but they just do not iron out well. I wish Williams Sonoma would change the fabrication to something similar to the older design.
Pros: Color
Cons: difficult to iron
Review 3 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WCCook
,West Chester
,PA
October 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Disappointed
October 30, 2013
For the price I expected more. Looks great the 1st time out but even after paying to have this dry cleaned it faded & looks very wrinkled after hanging for several months. I had planned to buy a 2nd tablecloth this year for larger groups along with the napkins. I won't be doing either. I love Williams & Sonoma but this was a waste of money.
Cons: Not Durable, High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kbranman
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
too rustic
January 29, 2013
I purchased this cloth for my formal dining room and, knowing the properties of linen, washed it on cold, gentle cycle and dried on cool air. it shrunk more than 5" in length, making it too short for my table. I also agree with other reviewers that it wrinkles terribly and ironing does not help. It looks great if you are going for a rustic farmhouse look but be SURE to buy it extra long so you are not disappointed in the shrinkage.
Cons: excessive shrinkage, ironing does not remove wrinkles
Review 5 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Boston
,MA
December 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Impossible to keep unwrinkled (for me)
December 23, 2012
This is a lovely cloth but I've already tried ironing it with steam and starch 3 times before Xmas and each time I put it back on the table it is back to wrinkled within a few hours. This is with me draping it over furniture too so the ironed part isn't back on the ground. I don't know how a dry cleaner would even do better because a larger cloth would require folding on a hanger and those creases wouldn't come out. This is sadly going to be one use and done for me.
Cons: wrinkles
Review 6 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knitter18
,Richmond
,VA
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
great color
January 7, 2012
I bought the Navy to go with my Royal Copenhagen china which is blue and white. It is a great match beautiful with the china. The color has a lot of life (not a grey blue) I haven't washed it yet so appreciate reading the other comments. Very helpful.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Color, Size, Design, Weight