This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth

An intricate double row of hemstitching embellishes this classic tablecloth. Woven of 100% linen, it provides an elegant neutral backdrop for many different styles of dinnerware. It's an excellent choice for all sorts of occasions, from patio lunches to formal dinners. Made in Hungary. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
15 of 27(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
Review 1 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
minnemom
February 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
How-to advice from the cleaners
February 11, 2014
I bought 3 different sizes in the Natural color. I agree that this weave/cloth is not intended for a starched, formal look. (think hotel quality) The look is more relaxed, but still special. After being dissatisfied with the high cost of dry cleaning these, the cleaners told me how to properly clean these at home: use oxyclean on a soak cycle. Then put it through a rinse & spin cycle. Take out and put in the dryer on a "touch up" cycle for about 13 minutes.
It will be fairly damp, but I immediately remove it and stretch it out on my padded table. It dries with a soft drape to the sides. If you want, you can iron those draped sides, but I never do because I have accepted the fact that it has a more relaxed look. The linen is very durable--I use them at least a few times a month. Love them!
Review 2 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rosetyme
,New York
,NY
December 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Not as good as they used to be
December 5, 2013
I have purchased several Williams Sonoma tablecloths over the years and always loved them. The linen quality for the price was great. Unfortunately the fabrication seems to have changed. It seems still to be linen, but the weave is more rustic and less fine, the threads are thicker, and the table cloths and napkins are very difficult to iron. My older tablecloths were pretty easy to iron, but the new ones simply will not iron well. I have used a hand iron and a rotary iron and a combination of both, dry and damp, but they just do not iron out well. I wish Williams Sonoma would change the fabrication to something similar to the older design.
Pros: Color
Cons: difficult to iron
Review 3 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WCCook
,West Chester
,PA
October 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Disappointed
October 30, 2013
For the price I expected more. Looks great the 1st time out but even after paying to have this dry cleaned it faded & looks very wrinkled after hanging for several months. I had planned to buy a 2nd tablecloth this year for larger groups along with the napkins. I won't be doing either. I love Williams & Sonoma but this was a waste of money.
Cons: Not Durable, High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kbranman
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
too rustic
January 29, 2013
I purchased this cloth for my formal dining room and, knowing the properties of linen, washed it on cold, gentle cycle and dried on cool air. it shrunk more than 5" in length, making it too short for my table. I also agree with other reviewers that it wrinkles terribly and ironing does not help. It looks great if you are going for a rustic farmhouse look but be SURE to buy it extra long so you are not disappointed in the shrinkage.
Cons: excessive shrinkage, ironing does not remove wrinkles
Review 5 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Boston
,MA
December 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Impossible to keep unwrinkled (for me)
December 23, 2012
This is a lovely cloth but I've already tried ironing it with steam and starch 3 times before Xmas and each time I put it back on the table it is back to wrinkled within a few hours. This is with me draping it over furniture too so the ironed part isn't back on the ground. I don't know how a dry cleaner would even do better because a larger cloth would require folding on a hanger and those creases wouldn't come out. This is sadly going to be one use and done for me.
Cons: wrinkles
Review 6 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knitter18
,Richmond
,VA
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
great color
January 7, 2012
I bought the Navy to go with my Royal Copenhagen china which is blue and white. It is a great match beautiful with the china. The color has a lot of life (not a grey blue) I haven't washed it yet so appreciate reading the other comments. Very helpful.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Color, Size, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
theim
,Holland
,IN
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Beautiful tablecloth
December 27, 2011
The table cloth is beautiful but it was a challenge to press because of the large size that I needed. I don't know how well it will wash. Just put it on the table for Christmas.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Color, Size, Design
Cons: challenge to press
Review 8 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jumu
,seattle
,wa
December 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
shrinks not durable
December 19, 2011
I too bought this used it once..,.now it iis too short. Need to take it back
Pros: Quality, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, shrinks
Review 9 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
medtech
,Madison
,MS
December 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Shrinks when washed
December 11, 2011
I used my expensive cloth one time, washed it on cold, dried it on low. It is now much too short for my table. I should have returned it. Although I have found a Christmas tablecloth that I like very much, I am most reluctant to purchase it. I had been saving for my purchase for some time and it has been a most disappointing purchase. Does not measure up to the expected quality from this company.
Cons: shrinks when washed
Review 10 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
franco66
,Simi Valley
,CA
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
November 29, 2011
Purchased the Pumpkin color tablecloth with napkins 2 years ago. It is best to wash in cold water with woolite on delicate cycle and I wash the same day that we used the tablecloth.. I spot clean with spray and wash right before I place it in the wash. If you leave the spray and wash on to log it will lighten the spot. Then place in dryer for 5 minutes with a softener. If you leave it in longer- that is what causes it to fade.Shake out and lay flat to continue drying. I don't iron mine until I use it for the next occasion. I spray with cold water and roll up for about 15 minutes. Then use the steam on your iron setting. Then I immediately place it on the table. Of course, my wood table is covered with a plastic tablecloth so that the moist linen won't damage the table.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AzContessa
Tempe, AZ
May 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Linenlover
May 27, 2011
I'm very happy with the tablecloth! The fit and style are perfect for entertaining in my kitchen/dining area. I host all of the family dinners and entertain a lot so I needed something versatile. It's pretty and fresh looking in white and will compliment any table setting or holiday gathering.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Weight
Review 12 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LenasMia
Berwick, PA
April 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Beautiful Tablecloth
April 29, 2011
My Dining room table was custom made.
It is 48inches wide and I have had an extremely hard time finding tablecloths that fit. This fit beautifully. I bought it in both sizes.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile
Review 13 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emmers82
CA
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
Ways to keep cloths wrinkle-free
February 19, 2011
Here are the ways I deal with the wrinkle situation:
1) remove from dryer IMMEDIATLY when it is finished, do not cool down (as you are virtually ironing wrinkles into the cloth if you let it sit) I have a large stairwell that I can lay my cloths over until I can finish care, but putting your table at it's largest size would work also
2) it is possible to iron, but maybe not where you typically iron; move your ironing board/iron to the end of your table, and drape cloth over table as you finish ironing it. You will be shifting the cloth a bit, but it works great. You can also use a large piece of furniture or bed to drape
3) if you have an area to hang your cloths in (even if it's in your closet), they will remain wrinke free, especially if you allow the cloth to cool after you iron so you do not set the creases.
-If you have a garmet steamer these work great for large pieces like tablecloths! It works great to touchups after you take it back out, also!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Minos092
Denton, Tx
Posted October 12, 2011
Ironing Dilemma
Good review about the ironing solution! I wonder if the wrinkle situation would "iron out" if I put my dryer on Damp Dry for the tablecloth? Wrinkles tend to relax when fabric is slightly damp. Then ironing might be a little easier. Sometimes, you can fold the tablecloth lengthwise so that it is a managable length for ironing on the ironing board. Let me know what you guys think. Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LyndaS
Provo, UT
January 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Caring for hemstitch linens
January 21, 2011
I have owned a pumpkin color, hemstitched cloth for years. I use this method for all my tablecloths. Wash on gentle, using warm water (check care tag). Add Oxiclean for stains and soak. (I might not use Oxi on crimson color.) I complete the cycle and put on my dining table, protected by a heavy vinyl table cover. Smooth the tablecloth over the table. This area dries smooth. The edges will be crinkly, though straight. If this bothers you, put double thick beach towels between the tablecloth and the thick vinyl table protector and iron the edges. I probably would for company. Have plenty of waterproof, heatproof protection to protect your table. I buy cloths for a table seating 10-12 people and there is no way to iron on an ironing board. I've also used my kitchen island-- if that is available. The linen in a hemstitched cloth is almost never going to look completely wrinkle-free. I'm not sure it is even meant to--being linen. Good luck.
Review 15 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gypseyldy
Boise, Idaho
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lovely on the table
January 13, 2011
I agree with the other comment...I have two tablecloths and they are both very expensive. I tried washing them myself, but they are just too large to iron myself. So I must pay to have them cleaned and ironed which means i do not use them as often as i would like. I too would like any suggestions on care for my lovely table linens.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
OneCentNana
Norwell,MA
Posted February 5, 2011
Compromise on care
I also have a few large tablecloths from Williams-Sonoma. They are linen or all cotton and I have given up on the ironing thing. Since I can't tolerate them wrinkled, I wash them to "my high standard", then take them to my cleaner for pressing only ~~ worth the cost to me!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NapaValleyStargazer
Napa Valley
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Beautiful Tablecloth, but...
December 23, 2010
...a bear to iron! Sending it out to be laundered is expensive and not always satisfactory.
I would love to hear from Wm.s Sonoma about this dilemma and how to solve it!
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer avatar
slb220
San Francisco
Posted February 19, 2011
slb220
You should get a nice flat surface when you iron if you dampen the cloth and use the linen setting/no steam.
Dampen the cloth and then fold tightly and put in a plastic bag for a few hours at least so that the moisture permeates all the threads.
Use a chair on the outside of the board to catch the long cloths and keep them off the floor.
0points
Customer avatar
winterparkmom
winter park,fl
Posted February 19, 2011
ironing linens
have you tried ironing on the underside while the cloth is still damp from the washer?
0points
Customer avatar
OneCentNana
Norwell,MA
Posted February 5, 2011
Linen care
See comment to Gypseyldy's review. Perhaps it will work for you.
0points
Customer avatar
denverclaire
Denver
Posted December 30, 2010
Pressing tablecloth
My daughter has a WS linen table cloth & she launders it herself & takes it to the cleaners just to have it pressed. It's a little cheaper & looks beautiful
0points
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Iowa
Posted December 26, 2010
Hemstitch Table Cloth
Launder the hemstitch tablecloth yourself and send it to cleaners to be pressed. This saves money on cleaning.
0points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 17 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nilpi
Beverly Hills, CA
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Elegant and chic
December 19, 2010
This is truly an elegant and chic tablecloth. I use it with white linen napkins (non matching) and the dinner table is spectacular. Yes, it does require extra care with ironing, however, so do our fine clothes. For wash and wear buy a simple tablecloth and this one for special dinners.
Review 18 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Katoby
Cheshire, CT
December 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful Tablecloth for Thanksgiving
December 17, 2010
This is a beautiful tablecloth and its rich pumpkin color really made my Thanksiving table look inviting. It faded slightly and did wrinkle quite a bit after washing it but I expected this with linen. I love this tablecloth and I'm so glad I purchased it!
Review 19 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RosePT
California
December 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It's the center of attraction
December 4, 2010
My table setting with this pumpkin colored table cloth is the center of attraction and gets rave comments from all how enter my home. It's striking!
But, after reading the previous reviews I am hesitant to wash it and not risk it shrinking. Off to the cleaners it goes...
Review 20 for Hemstitched Linen Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kmfg
CT
November 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointed
November 30, 2010
It shrank when washed in a warm water wash, cold water rinse. I treated myself to a new tablecloth for Thanksgiving. The description says machine wash. I could have used cold for both cycles, but there were gravy stains and other spills.
The item description should stipulate cold water wash only, if that would prevent the cloth from shrinking.
page1 2 next