This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Heirloom Soup Mix

Our hearty soups features a blend of savory legumes, grains, herbs and spices. Just combine the soup mix with stock or broth, simmer and serve. For extra flavor, add your favorites meats and vegetables. An all-natural, vegetarian blend of hearty grains and aromatic herbs. Wild Mushroom with Barley features a blend of savory mushrooms: porcini, portobellos, chanterelles and shiitakes. We've added heirloom red rice, wild rice and barley for whole-grain goodness, and sun-dried tomatoes for a bit of sweetness. Sage and roasted garlic finish the recipe with Mediterranean flair. For extra flavor, add chicken, turkey or sausage.7 oz. New Orleans Beans is a savory blend of heirloom beans, garlic, thyme, allspice and cloves-plus red chilies for a hint of heat. For extra pizzazz, add sauteed bell peppers and sausage, chicken, shrimp or tofu.10 oz. Masala Spiced Lentil is a savory mix of heirloom lentils, split peas and classic Indian spices, including fragrant turmeric, cumin and our own garam masala blend. For extra flavor, add chicken, tofu or paneer (Indian cheese). 13 oz. Just combine the soup mix with stock or broth, simmer and serve. Product of USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Heirloom Soup Mix
Review 1 for Heirloom Soup Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skirish
,Austin
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy Enough
July 17, 2013
I bought the mushroom/barley version, and it was easy to make and not cost-prohibitive because the mushrooms, grains, and spices were included. I added a shallot instead of an onion, although if I make it again I might go half and half to give it more flavor.
It's very filling, but kind of bland tasting, probably because I used a low-sodium vegetable stock instead of the chicken called for, but I added a little Sriracha and some salt, and perfect.
I'd like to try the bean/sausage one as well.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver
Cons: Flavor
Review 2 for Heirloom Soup Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YuleJewel
Plano, TX
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
An excellent, flavorful soup
August 28, 2012
Wow is all I can say! Tried the New Orleans Beans flavor. My family likes bean soup to be meaty, so I doubled the 12 oz of meat called for to 24 oz. As I didn't have the andouille sausage it called for, I subbed 12 oz. diced ham and 12 oz. diced applewood smoked bacon (cooked crispy first, then drained fat) , and added a couple of diced smoked hatch chilies (in season now), in place of the celery. My family loved it, and we can't wait to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. If you decide to add bacon, be sure to taste at the end of cooking before adding any salt. I did not have to add any salt or pepper. Yum! What a wonderful New Orleans flavor! And my house smelled terrific when my husband got home from work! He says this is a keeper!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for Heirloom Soup Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twointexas
,tx
February 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
yummy barley soup
February 19, 2012
This soup was excellent! I made it with the addition of steak tips (oxtails are traditional for barley soup, but couldn't find any), and some fresh mirepoix, and the entire family ate it all up! Easily served six, with a lunch portion left over. Definitely will buy again!
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Heirloom Soup Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SFamily
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
easy and delish
January 6, 2012
This was incredibly easy recipe. Slice and saute an onion and garlic. Add spices, stock and lentils. And our entire family loved it.
I appreciate that there are no ingredients on the label that are unrecognizable. And the addition of fresh onion, tomato, and garlic make it seem homemade. High in iron and calcium and low in fat with just 160 calories per serving.
The price may seem steep but we made two meals off of it for four people. And the convenience of having pre-measured Indian spices which can be complex and time-consuming and frustrating , shouldn't be underestimated.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy