This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks

Founded in 1865 in San Simeon, California, Hearst Ranch continues its legacy of quality breeding and sustainable land stewardship. Certified by the Food Alliance, the 80,000-acre ranch raises free-range cattle that live a natural roaming existence, feeding only on native grasses. All-natural, free-range, grass-fed beef is exceptionally lean and juicy with a robust flavor resulting from the unique concentration of nutrients in the cows' grass diet. Meat is rich in vitamins and healthful Omega-3 fatty acids. Set of four hand-cut New York strip or rib-eye steaks. New York strip steaks are approx. 12 oz. and 1 1/2" thick each. Boneless rib-eye steaks are approx. 12 oz. and 1" thick each. Easy to prepare: simply thaw and cook to your liking. Shipped frozen. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
Review 1 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
matsci
Orange, CA
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
About the best steaks I ever had
January 11, 2010
Got a good deal at Hearst Castle after the tour just before New Year's and barbecued the rib steaks yesterday. All agreed, the steaks were outstanding! Outside of a top-notch restaurant I have never had a steak that good. It was as good as the highest-quality steak I had in Osaka last year. Just tremendous flavor. An expensive treat, but worth it.
Review 2 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shelter53
Swoyersville, Pa
November 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-15points
6of 27found this review helpful.
Definately different
November 24, 2009
I purchased this item directly from the company. It was slightly less expensive due to a special they offered. No one in our family liked the steaks or the ground beef. It reallly does not have a taste unless you doctor it up with sauces or spices. I prefer my steaks to stand on their own with just salt and pepper. I also like my meat medium well and you cannot have this meat that way or it would be tough as shoe leather...included are instructions as to how to cook it and having to add additional fats or oils is a turn off...2 thumbs down.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RedDragonFly
Posted December 26, 2010
like meat medium well
You might begin to appreciate better meat if you started eating it more rare.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ACityGirl
San Francisco, CA
September 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Yum, Yum and Yum
September 16, 2009
Grass-fed beef is not only delicious, it's actually healthier, and for those who are interested, the natural way of eating beef. No hormones, antibiotics or harsh treatment of animals involved. (Hearst beef is certified humane treatment of the animals). But all that aside--it's tender and delicious (and not all grass-fed beef I've had is). You do have to cook it less as there is less fat--you don't want to eat it well done. I can't say enough about this product--I order it often. Love the filets and sirloin steaks. It's also the only ground beef & hamburger I'll eat.
Review 4 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomMcG
San Francisco
September 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Grass Fed From Now On
September 4, 2009
In the past I have saved my beef eating for very special occasions as there is always so much negative said and more importantly the way I felt after having that coveted filet or steak. WIth the Hearst Grass Fed I felt like I was eating healthier but more importantly there was no sacrifice of taste or indulgence. This is beef the way it is intended to be. Give it a try. I doubt you will be dissappointed.
Review 5 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boatman
Princeton,NJ.08540
July 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Want a good Steak?
July 23, 2009
Hello,
My daughter bought me Filets and me and my Wife cooked them on an electric stove in a grilling Pan. These steaks were the most tender Beek I ever had.To you that say they taste like liver,than you never had a good that is Prime Beef Filet that has been aged?. and I find these steaks just as tasty and tender as any of the better Steah Houses. Some of you people don't like eating a Steak unless it's burned Well Done? Then they say its tough.Just put them on a grill for 3 1/2minutes on each side with a bit of Paprika on each side ,Kosher Salt a small spinkle with grouind pepper and small brush of Steak Sauce across each side and put in grilling pan. thats how a steak should be eaten. Pink to red inside. AGAIN i AM EATING fILET TONIGHT
tHANKS WILIAM SONOMA
Review 6 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PegM
Chicago, IL
June 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Very tender Taste like Liver
June 20, 2009
I wasnt' going to do a review, but I spent quite a bit on these for an anniversary dinner.
There was an odd taste, like liver, to these strips. Being from Chicago, our beef tastes, like beef. If served at our high end restaurants patrons would return them to the chef.
Review 7 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maximus
May 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
High End Steak House at Home
May 26, 2009
These steaks are as good as any high end steak house at half the price. Worth every penny!
Review 8 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MaryM
Mesa, AZ
May 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
odd taste
May 4, 2009
The steaks looked beautiful but did have an odd taste unlike beef I am used to serving.
Review 9 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martyc
san francisco, ca
May 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great tasting beef, and healthy too!
May 1, 2009
The filet cut is the perfect size with incredible taste and tenderness. And the sustainable, grass fed practices make it heathly too. I highly recommend it.
Review 10 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dick79
Stamford, CT
February 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
A LET DOWN
February 23, 2009
The steak was not well marbled and did not appear to be aged. I had hoped for better.
Review 11 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RONandANNE
Walnut Creek, CA
October 31, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Gift...
October 31, 2008
We gave this as a gift to someone that we knew would probably enjoy it; and, yet who would probably never purchase for their own pleasure.
They followed the enclosed cooking instructions and thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Perfect !
Thanks for offering this gift package.
Review 12 for Hearst Ranch Grass-Fed Beef Steaks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MindyE
Turlock, CA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Mmm...steak.
September 4, 2008
These are delicious steaks sure to stand out in any meal. It practically melted in our mouths. Wonderful cuts!