This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Hasselback Potato Slicer

Named for the Stockholm restaurant that made them famous, Hasselback potatoes are sliced nearly through and drizzled with butter before baking, creating the perfect balance of crunchy and tender. Our wood block is designed to stabilize a spud and stop the knife from slicing through, so you can easily create this delicious dish at home. Made from solid beech wood. Shaped with a flat bottom and scooped bowl to hold a potato steady and stop the blade at the perfect depth; safer and easier than the wooden spoon traditionally used for this purpose. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hasselback Potato Slicer
Review 1 for Hasselback Potato Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissMelody
,Santa Barbara
,CA
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Potato Heaven!
March 8, 2013
This handy potato block has made my three cheese hasselback potato dish into a household favorite! Before purchasing this tool i would either not slice far enough down in the potato or i would slice all the way through it! This wood block makes it so that when you slice into your potato, the wood stops the knive at the perfect spot every time. Love this!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Hasselback Potato Slicer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nicky
,Houston
,TX
Houston,Texas
April 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-15points
0of 15found this review helpful.
Not what i accepted
April 16, 2012
From the description it sounded like you can cut your potato very thin and it was easy as you had a guide , indentations to follow on the wood base .
So when you cut the potato it would be perfect or almost perfect to the bottom of potato without cutting all the way through . And then you sprinkle salt ,pepper and bake . Well no indentations so the slices are all different sizes .
NOT WORTH THE MONEY
I now use as a soap dish ,it has that contour design .
Pros: none
Cons: Inaccurate
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LaurieC1978
NJ
Posted July 4, 2012
Look at the picture
If you look at the picture, it is clearly visible that there are no notches or guides to help you make even slices. The whole purpose of this gadget is to keep the potato steady and prevent it from being sliced all the way through. Nowhere in the description did it say it would make even slices...
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hasselback Potato Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TulsaSharon
,Tulsa
,OK
Tulsa, OK
February 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Works Great!
February 21, 2012
I had tried the two-chopstick method of slicing and this works so much better. It enables you to quickly slice through the potato and it stabilizes it at the same time. Highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
Posted December 24, 2012
Top 25 Contributor
another idea
No need for chopsticks. I use a large spoon, the kind you use for cooking sauces. It's large and bow shaped. You lay the potato in it and the edges of spoon act as the chopsticks do, jutting up higher, preventing the knife from cutting entirely thru the potato. I use smaller fingerlings this way, I just use a tablespoon!
0points
Customer avatar
TulsaSharon
Tulsa, OK
Posted October 26, 2012
Chopstick method
You lay a chopstick on each side of the potato and it stops the knife from going all the way through the potato. It isn't very stable though, which is why I love this slicer so much.
0points
Customer avatar
CakePopGirl
Bergenfield, NJ
Posted October 25, 2012
Chopstick Method?
What is the two chopstick method? I'm thinking about buying this item.
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)