Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice

A fiery specialty of North Africa cuisine, harissa is a vibrant seasoning that's traditionally spiced with hot chilies, garlic, cumin and coriander. Here, these signature ingredients are blended to create a flavorful seasoning that's perfect for roasting and grilling. Signature Tunisian seasoning creates a bold, spicy rub for roasted and grilled meats. Add the spice to olive oil and chopped garlic for a classic harissa paste. A favorite accompaniment for couscous, harissa is also used to flavor soups, stews, salads, vegetables and egg dishes. Create a spicy, refreshing dip for fresh vegetables by blending our Harissa Spice with tangy yogurt. Try in place of mustard on sandwiches. All spices are individually ground before blending, allowing their distinctive flavors to shine. These premium, all-natural seasonings are sourced from around the globe and expertly blended by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. 2.1 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Simi Valley
,Ca
July 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing spice
July 2, 2013
I recently purchases Harissa spice and now I use it on just about everything. I put it in my morning omelet to kick start my metabolism in the morning, put it on meat before grilling, put it in chile. It can do anything! Great way to add flavor without adding calories! I absolutely love it and it is great for your digestion and to increase your metabolism.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New "Everything" Spice
June 24, 2012
The WS Harissa is fantastic. The quality and flavour are perfect. Usually you see harissa in a paste and it is generally scorching hot. The WS powdered harissa is much better though, as it allows you to control the heat better, medium to hot, while still letting the flavour show through.
Harissa is a spice blend that is slightly exotic, yet comfortably familiar. Its a blend of mostly familiar spices that come together for a new taste.
This is perfect with middle eastern, african and even latin dishes. I use it in a sauce to accompany a ras-al-hanout flavoured tagine. The sauces is simply creme fraiche, harissa, sea salt, then top it with cilantro.
This is great in rubs and on roasted meats, poultry and vegetables. Love it!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
InsidePDXLiving
,Potland
,OR
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Spice Combination
April 4, 2012
My husband's mother currently lives in Tunis, and every time she comes to visit we beg for a specific spice blends that is commonly used in soups, dry rubs, tagine, cous cous, etc. When I run out of 'small' amount of spices that she brought with her, I will use Williams Sonoma as a substitute and/or Ras el Hanout. This is a nice spice blend! The reason for the 3 stars is that my husband's grandmother makes a spice blend closer to the Ras el Hanout that is absolutely out of this world. It takes the whole summer to make, and is grinded at the local shop in Tunis -and, sold in the local markets.
Harissa (specific chili blend) from Tunisia is nothing like this. Generally, I have seen it commonly in households in a paste form and is VERY hot. Just need a little bit to add some heat. Also, they make the Harissa from scratch.
I am thrilled to see WS offering North African spice blends.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookinforboys
,Delray Beach
,fl
October 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely flavor
October 28, 2011
Harrissa is a brand new flavor for our family but it has turned into one of our favorites and is a 'go-to' spice when making any grilled poultry or meat.
And these spices are so flavorful they last much longer than 'grocery store' varieties.
We are hooked!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cdh1
Stuttgart, AR
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with vegetables!
September 6, 2011
I cut disks of carrots. Used a little honey, some butter, a little water, added the harissa when the carrots were almost done. Oh my! It is wonderful.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ninette
South San Francisco, CA
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't do without it!
June 30, 2011
Have you ever tried harissa? It's a wonderful Middle Eastern spice mix great with fish and meats or add a little water and oil and make the traditional harissa paste to add to stews and soups. Try it!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lelabet
Coronado, CA
June 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great spice
June 25, 2011
I use this spice along with Zahtar (1 tsp each) and a garlic clove to make an olive oil based paste. I spread that on fresh peeled/deveined shrimp skewers and grill them. They are completely delicious! They're spicy without being too hot.
We also use this spice as a wonderful addition to seafood boils.
You can't go wrong with this one.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, different!
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Harissa Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChiefStevie
Portland, OR
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Paprika taste with a kick
October 17, 2010
This smells wonderful and has so much flavor. I've added it to curry dishes, as well as used it in place of paprika. It's not too exotic, but nicely different. You will love this!