Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder

Count on this eco-friendly, hand-cranked coffee mill to provide the perfect grind for your preferred brewing method. Fast and easy to use, it features ceramic conical burrs for precision grinding without producing the heat that can destroy coffee's delicate essential oils. Manual coffee mill grinds beans to your specifications. Ceramic conical burrs ensure a precise, uniform grind. Burrs easily adjust to produce a range of grind sizes, from superfine espresso to coarse for French press brewing. Ergonomically designed crank handle removes for compact storage and easy travel. Detachable base holds whole coffee beans; detaches and seals with included lid to store coffee and keep it fresh. No-slip rubber base keeps the mill in place during grinding.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
Review 1 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GaiaLady
,Tucson
,AZ
Tucson, AZ
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does an excellent job
September 17, 2013
Not everyone will get on board with hand grinding, but this little gadget does the job very well. It has infinite adjustability of the grind size and produces an even grind of the beans. The only complaint I have is that you have to hold the jar in place with one hand while grinding with the other. It has a rubber base to help prevent slippage, but it would benefit from something to anchor the unit. But it's a nice little unit and does the job well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: Speed
Review 2 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
landseer18
,San Diego
,CA
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Coffee
April 23, 2013
This mill was easy to adjust to a course setting for my mini French press. It takes about as long to grind 3 scoops of beans as it does to get the water to almost boiling, and 4 minutes later I have the best coffee ever. Seriously, the flavors are vastly improved over my old propeller grinder that it will now be used for grinding spices and nothing else. I would not recommend this grinder for making a fine grind or for grinding a lot of beans as it is a slow process. This experience will likely cause me to buy a motorized version in the future.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, best flavors
Cons: Speed
Review 3 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Risada31
,Denver
,CO
April 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Coffee Grinder
April 10, 2013
I bought this for my mom after she wanted to replace her drip coffee maker for a french press. As the only person in our family that drinks coffee, my mom didn't really need a huge electrical burr grinder, so I bought this little ceramic grinder and it works fabulously. It can grind up a surprisingly large amount of beans and its pretty therapeutic to grind them by hand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kimzooe
,Olympia
,WA
December 5, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite grinder
December 5, 2011
This is one of the best purchases I have made in recent days. Well made grinder!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile
Review 5 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-49points
9of 67found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decent Coffee Grinder
March 28, 2011
After reading the included manual, i realized that the manufacturer indicates that: "with long-term use, the mill may wear and become blunter. When the amount of beans that can be ground drops significantly, it is time to replace the product." Thus, i am rating the product average.
Pros: Easy to Store, Size, Versatile
Cons: durability
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SwiftyForLife
Posted November 7, 2012
Finally
Someone intelligent comments. Thank you. When I buy something I expect it to last me til my grandkids. Buying something that wears out this quickly doesn't make any sense.
-2points
0of 2found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Stihlydan
S E Virginia
Posted November 8, 2011
Everything wears out......Give us a break
Everything wears out. Period. Now take a device that grinds and it becomes obvious. So this person owns it for less than a week. Doesn't have any problems but reads that it "will wear out" and when it does, this is what you will experience. As a result of reading the truth, they give a lower rating.
It could take the rest of this persons life to wear it out. None of us knows.
They could have bought one at 4 times the price and liked it more because the manual doesn't have any comments in it regarding wear. This manufacturer tells us what will happen (regardless of which one you buy) and gets a hit for it.
This is the most rediculous reason to rate something I've seen.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoffeeLover50
Sandpoint, ID
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh Ground Coffee - anywhere!
February 19, 2011
My husband and I are both coffee fanatics. Our electric coffee pot has an internal grinder - so, we always buy fresh beans. When we travel or camp, we wanted a solution for grinding our coffee. This grinder is run by "hand power" - grinds to perfection without much effort. If you are looking for a non-electric coffee grinder - this is the one to buy.
Review 7 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchens3
ohio
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice gadget!
January 13, 2011
I purchased this item with the 49th parallel espresso whole bean coffee. I love it! I get to set my own grind, which I love. Sometimes I need a coarse ground for my french press, sometimes fine ground for the automatic coffee maker. This little manual grinder lets me do that for CHEAP!!!
Review 8 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrewHoov
Tuscaloosa, AL
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile, Simple, Small, Excellent Result
January 5, 2011
The grinder itself is smaller than I would've thought. Instead of holding the grinder on a flat surface, I found it easier and faster to grind while simply holding it in the air.
It took me 3-4 minutes to grind enough beans for two coffee mugs. Changing the coarseness of the grind is simple. I have not used this product for espresso or drip, so I can't vouch for it in those areas. I could tell when I adjusted it, however, that one could get a very wide range of coarse or fine grinds.
For about a year, I have used a spice grinder to grind whole bean coffee for a French press. This burr grinder delivers a MUCH better grind. The resulting cup of coffee was remarkably better than anything to which I am accustomed. This sounds ridiculous when I type it, but I am unused to getting as many different and subtle flavors in my coffee.
If I didn't know the price, I would guess it to be close to $35. It was worth it to me (I paid $50 + $13 S&H), but I think it might be a little overpriced.
Review 9 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dsherrin
Dayton, OH
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Companion
January 1, 2011
Excellent coffee grinder. Eliminates the heat factor which yields a fantastic, robust grind. Highly recommended for anybody with a French Press or Mukka.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoffeeSwede
Lake Havasu City, AZ
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite since coffee grind stays cool
December 24, 2010
It works great. Once you adjust to the grind you want, it takes about 5 mins to grind 8-10 cups of coffee by hand. I'm very picky about my coffee and with this grinder can use it for my electric MokkaExpress by Krups that heats the water thru a type of steam system and makes 8 cups of coffee that is brewed like a expresso maker with steam. This means the water has the right temperature and with the grinder I can now also take it with me on camping trips and boil water with a camp stove and use my French Press to make really great coffee. Very useful because you don't need electricity to use this grinder. It adjusts to all kinds of grinds which I like. I would suggest buying more than one if you regularly use different types of coffee machines as adjusting the grind takes some trial and error. With what I have for daily use which includes an Espresso Maker (electric) and my MokkaExpress, one grind works for both.