Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder

Count on this eco-friendly, hand-cranked coffee mill to provide the perfect grind for your preferred brewing method. Fast and easy to use, it features ceramic conical burrs for precision grinding without producing the heat that can destroy coffee's delicate essential oils. Manual coffee mill grinds beans to your specifications. Ceramic conical burrs ensure a precise, uniform grind. Burrs easily adjust to produce a range of grind sizes, from superfine espresso to coarse for French press brewing. Ergonomically designed crank handle removes for compact storage and easy travel. Detachable base holds whole coffee beans; detaches and seals with included lid to store coffee and keep it fresh. No-slip rubber base keeps the mill in place during grinding.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
Review 1 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeetsFan
,Tulsa
,ok
July 11, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this over Blade Grinder, quality grind
July 11, 2014
Having worked a few years with a whole bean coffee shop, I understand the right tools make a world of difference in the final cup of coffee. I've wanted a burr grinder (for a better grind) for some time, and purchased this one at Christmas time 2013. I've used it daily.
This is a GREAT little grinder. I hold the grinder in both hands, off the table top to help reduce noise. (I'm making coffee at 5AM and don't wish to wake the house) Fill the hopper to the top with beans, and in about 7-9 minutes you have 12 tbsp. of grounds for a drip brewer.
It took about three adjustments to the setting to have the right grind for drip. A locking/adjustment nut for the setting is without any numbers. It's worth the detective work, in my opinion.
You have a screw-on lid for the bottom glass "jar". You are not stuck with the hopper/grinder on top. While the grinder is not top-heavy, it's height and arm could get accidentally bumped.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Assembly
Cons: Speed, trial & error adjustment
Review 2 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GaiaLady
,Tucson
,AZ
Tucson, AZ
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does an excellent job
September 17, 2013
Not everyone will get on board with hand grinding, but this little gadget does the job very well. It has infinite adjustability of the grind size and produces an even grind of the beans. The only complaint I have is that you have to hold the jar in place with one hand while grinding with the other. It has a rubber base to help prevent slippage, but it would benefit from something to anchor the unit. But it's a nice little unit and does the job well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: Speed
Review 3 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
landseer18
,San Diego
,CA
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Coffee
April 23, 2013
This mill was easy to adjust to a course setting for my mini French press. It takes about as long to grind 3 scoops of beans as it does to get the water to almost boiling, and 4 minutes later I have the best coffee ever. Seriously, the flavors are vastly improved over my old propeller grinder that it will now be used for grinding spices and nothing else. I would not recommend this grinder for making a fine grind or for grinding a lot of beans as it is a slow process. This experience will likely cause me to buy a motorized version in the future.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, best flavors
Cons: Speed
Review 4 for Hario Skerton Ceramic Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Risada31
,Denver
,CO
April 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Coffee Grinder
April 10, 2013
I bought this for my mom after she wanted to replace her drip coffee maker for a french press. As the only person in our family that drinks coffee, my mom didn't really need a huge electrical burr grinder, so I bought this little ceramic grinder and it works fabulously. It can grind up a surprisingly large amount of beans and its pretty therapeutic to grind them by hand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store