This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Handmade Tamales

Made from freshly prepared corn dough according to authentic Native American Pueblo recipes from Santo Domingo, New Mexico, each of these hearty tamales is filled, wrapped and tied by hand. Just steam and serve for an easy weekday dinner or for unexpected guests. Blue Corn: Stuffed with green chilies and jack cheese; includes 16-oz. tomato-chipotle sauce. Chicken: Made with sweet corn masa, chicken and chipotle chilies; includes 16-oz. chipotle sauce. Pork: Filled with pork, green chilies and oregano; includes 16-oz. tomatillo sauce. 12 tamales; 6 oz. each. Shipped frozen. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
1.833 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
2 of 12(17%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Handmade Tamales
Review 1 for Handmade Tamales
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LucyWPB
,West Palm Beach
,FL
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
These would have VERY good IF.....
March 2, 2014
Lack of the chicken filling really killed these for us, there is not enough in the cornmeal wrap.
Review 2 for Handmade Tamales
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Desertdude
,Roseville
,CA
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing product!
January 12, 2014
All of these people talking about too much cornmeal- hello! That's what a tamale is! These are incredible. I love them. I order them myself and have given them as gifts to rave reviews.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lollieb
,Bowling Green
,Ky
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
no filling
December 27, 2013
there was no filling. it was like eating wet cornmeal. not sure how this product has 4 stars, unless they recently changed their product. There is really like 1 tablespoons of filling with way to much dough. 2 guest threw it away while 2 tried to be polite and add rice and beans and sauce to try and salvage the main dish....way too costly for this dish.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount
Review 4 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MerryLegs
,Laurel
,MS
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Tasteless and full of cornmeal
December 26, 2013
These were the worst tamales I've ever had. We got the chicken and the blue corn. The chicken had about one teaspoon of filling and the rest was tasteless cornmeal mush. The Blue Corn were a little better but neither is worth the money, or really even worth eating.
No one in our household would eat more than one.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 5 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ExaminerDave
,Shenandoah Junction
,WV
December 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointing Tamales
December 10, 2012
These have very little filling. Not worth the cost by any means.
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 6 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LawrenceW
,LA
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
All masa, no meat!
October 19, 2012
These tamales were quite poor. The pictures on-line are incorrect. They are almost entirely masa with little meat and less flavor. We purchased one of each type. Read the reviews carefully. Don't be fooled, and don't buy these.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 7 for Handmade Tamales
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
grannygoodwitch1
,Midwest City
,OK
January 17, 2012
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
homemade pork tamales
January 17, 2012
These tamales are very poor examples of this wonderful dish. There were a number of reviews over the last year and I assumed that they were improved. I WAS WRONG. They are still all dough and very little pork and quite tasteless. The Tomatillo sauce is very good.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients
Review 8 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mishy2530
,New York
,NY
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Disappointing
January 7, 2012
We recently purchased the chicken
tamales for our Christmas Eve dinner. What a disappointment, they were very bland and not much meat/filling as in the photo showing filling nearly overwhelming the masa, when in fact they barely had any filling, some just sauce and no meat. Very disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 9 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
leeds4ever
,VA
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Disgraceful
January 4, 2012
Our family was looking forward to having the Blue Corn tamales as part of a fun holiday meal. Thankfully, the tamales were not the only item on our menu. The tamales were prepared as per the included instructions and we excitedly opened up our tamales ready to enjoy a little taste of New Mexico right in our home. What sat on our plates resembled over-sized purple (yes, purple, not blue) Twinkies with each containing one scraggly thin strip of tasteless green chilies and literally a thimble-full of jack cheese. The bloated, spongy mesa was at least 99% of the tamale. Our family has been to New Mexico and enjoyed their outstanding tamales. What we received from Williams Sonoma was a travesty and ultimately a poor reflection on Williams Sonoma for allowing such inedible garbage to be associated with their brand. If I could have given this product minus 5 stars, I would have in a heartbeat.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, purple twinkies
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lollieb
Posted December 27, 2013
wish I had read this before I ordered
agree 100%, same experience with the beef tamales.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Handmade Tamales
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loftylady
,Taft
,TN
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
yummy tamales
January 4, 2012
The tamales were a hit with my family! I could not find local vegetarian tamales that pleased me, so I took a chance with these. I ordered the vegetarian and the pork. The tamales are large, delicious, and well made. The sauces enhanced the flavor and presentation. It would be nice to be able to order by the half dozen for a sampler platter.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 11 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KGWDTX
,Kingwood
,TX
January 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Handmade tamales
January 3, 2012
Worst tamales I've ever had. Couldn't even finish eating one. Very little meat, that was blahhh, and way too much going on the outside. Totally bland even with sauce. I'm from Texas and we know tamales. Wish I could get my money back. First time this has even happened with WS.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 12 for Handmade Tamales
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
buffybelle
January 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Terrible tamales
January 1, 2012
Terrible, terrible, terrible. 98% mesa and 2% filling. Spices were bad. I have hearty eaters around this house, and they couldn't/wouldn't eat them. Thank goodness I had a back up of something else to eat. WS should be embarassed to sell these.
Pros: none
Cons: Disappointing