Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot

This hand-crafted stoneware pot is uniquely designed to encourage the fermentation of fresh fruits and vegetables. Use it to transform cabbage into sauerkraut, to pickle vegetables, and to cure olives. The process is simple: Place salted vegetables in the crock, fill with water, then cover with the pot's heavy lid to keep vegetables submerged and encourage lacto-fermentation. As fermentation begins, naturally occurring carbon dioxide drives the air out of the pot, creating an oxygen-free environment ideal for the long, slow brining process. Lacto-fermentation converts carbohydrates into lactic acid, lowering the carbohydrate content of fruits and vegetables. It also adds enzymes, nutrients, and probiotics for healthy digestion. Vegetables begin to ferment within days. If stored in a cool, dark place, pickled vegetables will keep for months. Complementary vegetables (carrots and onions) and herbs (caraway seeds and juniper berries) can be added for additional flavor during fermentation (recipes not included). Stoneware pot is hand-thrown, then fired at high heat for maximum durability. Eggshell glaze is nontoxic, food-safe, and lead-free. 1-gal. cap.; 7 1/4" x 8 1/4" x 7" high. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
Review 1 for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
May 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Small Batches!
May 6, 2013
This spring, I got into lactic acid vegetable fermentation. I've always liked pickled vegetables but was put off by the extreme "puckeryness" that vinegar imparts. I have five large crocks working now and three waiting in the wings. I purchased three of these small ones to test small batches prior to making a boatload. I know make my own half sours, pepperoncini, cabbage crunch, giardiniera, and bread and butter pickles. Be careful! This hobby is addictive AND healthy. These hand thrown pots are have more esthetic value than the large workhorse types. I love that they are dishwasher safe! These allow for a water seal, which is critical for keeping out the bag bugs!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beansome
,Chicago
,Il
November 29, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We love our crock!
November 29, 2012
I got this crock as a gift for my sweetie -- we both love and have made delicious krauts and pickles in it ever since.
It's beautiful, functional, clever and inspiring -- a great gift and a super addition to our home.
Pros: functional, clever, sturdy, beautiful, handmade
Review 3 for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tpescdoc
,Norfolk
,MA
November 29, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attractive, functional and hand crafted in the USA
November 29, 2012
I've owned this crock since February and am very happy with it. I had tried to make sauerkraut in a glass jar with a makeshift weight a couple of times without success. I finally broke down and purchased this fermentation crock and had my first successful batch of sauerkraut. The size is perfect for my family's needs and it is attractive enough that I keep it out in my kitchen year round. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in fermenting.
Review 4 for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawgirl20064
,Waterloo
,Ia
November 29, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous fermenter
November 29, 2012
I purchased one of these for fermenting vegetables after taking a class at a local store. It worked really well, is extremely well made and I feel good supporting an artisan!
Review 5 for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BostonPotter
,jamaica plain
,Ma
November 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crock used by fermenting guru Sandor Katz
November 12, 2012
This crocks works beautifully and is used by fermenting guru Sandor Katz himself! His newest book 'The Art of Fermentation' includes a photo & information about this handmade fermentation crock.
Pros: functional, beautiful, utilitarian, dishwasher safe
Review 6 for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pabpaj
,Lawrence
,KS
Tonganoxie, KS
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Am Fermentation Goddess Now With This Lovely Crock
November 7, 2012
I got one of these lovely & functional fermentation crocks from Ogusky Ceramics for my birthday this year! I absolutely love it & haven't stopped using it since I got it!
I have made many batches of the BEST sauerkraut ever, as well as a delicious pickled radishes, carrots & garlic cloves combo that is out f this world! (NOTE: I use recipes & techniques from the Wild Fermentation website.)
Feel like Fermentation Goddess now!
I can't wait to get a second crock so I can double my recipes and give jars of my fermented creations to friends as "healthy gifts."
I highly recommend this fermentation crock and encourage you to get fermenting TODAY!
Pros: beautiful, hand-thrown, fun, functional, heavy, Durable
Cons: only own one of these crocks right now :)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
pabpaj
Lawrence, KS
Posted February 25, 2013
Weight Stone
The weight stone option was not available when I purchased my crock last year. However, at only $6.95, why not buy the weight stone. Every little bit of weight that helps keep the veggies under the fermentation brine certainly helps! The price is very reasonable for the stone, too. I haven't had any problems using my crock without the weight stone but I check it a lot during the day as I'm home and I don't work anymore. If I were not home all day I'd definitely by the weight stone. :)
0points
Customer avatar
texascookie
DFW, TEXAS
Posted February 25, 2013
weight stone?
Do you advise getting the weight stone?
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Hand Thrown Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alchemist
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Fermenter
November 7, 2012
A great counter top fermenter for making sauerkraut or kimchi. Very practical, holds two heads of cabbage, and allows for easy sampling during the fermentation process. I have two on my counter with different batches started a couple weeks apart. They look great which is an added benefit.