Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"

Every detail of this wok is faithful to its traditional Chinese origins, from its carbon steel construction to its hand-hammered design. Its fast-heating cooking surface is great for stir frying, deep frying, steaming and more. Each wok is hammered by hand-no two are exactly alike. Traditional carbon steel construction disperses heat evenly and quickly. Gradually sloping sides ensure food stays directly over heat source and facilitates tossing. Wooden stick handle stays cool to the touch. Includes a ring for use on conventional stovetops.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
Review 1 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AZHD
,AZ
July 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not if you have an electric range!
July 8, 2014
This wok may be great if you have gas, but it's definitely NOT for electric ranges. The wok does not rest on the ring. In fact, the bottom of the wok sits right on the burners. This means it wobbles and does not sit firmly on the ring. I am not pleased, because is was not made clear in the product description.
Cons: Size, ring does not work if this wok on electric ranges
Review 2 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chef58
,Philadelphia
,pa
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful wok
May 28, 2013
I admit, I have not yet used this wok but it is just what a wok should be. It is not overly heavy, the perfect size, with a ring below and a curved bottom, which of course, is how a wok should be.
The price is amazing.
Look forward to perfectly cooked fare.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sherrymil
chicago suburb
Posted September 5, 2013
How can you recommend an item u haven't used?
Please do a review AFTER you have used it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
astoja
,miami
,fl
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
3of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Had to return
March 4, 2013
I bought this wok even after I read the mediocre reviews because it was very cheap. Unfortunately I tried to stir fry with this 3 times and it couldn't get remotely hot. Each time, I had to transfer the ingredients to another pan. Williams Sonoma let me return it with a full refund. I'm sure this works fine for gas but for electric, it doesn't work at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, Size
Review 4 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geogdoc
,IL
March 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like this wok!
March 3, 2013
Never had a wok before. This one seasoned easily; cooks great. Only issue was wok ring slides around on my gas stove top; so I wired up a couple of magnets to hold it in place. Easy to clean. The steamer fits nicely in another pot while I'm using this one; online recipes already have me buying veggies I never knew how to cook before. I use it a couple of times a week.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichiganMedic
,Grand Rapids
,MI
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Wok
January 2, 2013
This Wok is fantastic! Right out of the box it was incredibly easy to clean and get seasoned. Never used a Wok before, used it for the first time the same day and it cooked everything perfect! The stand that comes with seats it at the perfect height for heating. It is very light for its size however is still very durable and tough!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FoodTourist
December 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
5of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for gas, not for electric range
December 27, 2012
This product description is very deceptive : if you have a gas stove, then by all means, this is a great product. However, if you are like me and unfortunately have an electric range, this is not the wok for you.
Why?
Simple: the wok will not get hot enough (unless you leave the electric burner on high for 10 minutes, then set the wok on it for about 1.5 minutes, and THEN add the oil and wait until you see slight wisps of smoke). Because the bottom is rounded, heat cannot be evenly distributed as well as a flat bottom.
What's unfortunate is that round bottom carbon steel woks are ideal for Chinese cooking, since the heat is so well distributed and with the ease of stir frying. But, like I said, that's only through a direct heat source (flame).
So ask yourself what's worse: tepid stir fry or loss of authenticity? I'm going to go with cold, sad stir fry.
Another thing too - make sure the wok ring fits your stovetop snugly; the last thing you want is an unstable wok full of hot oil.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, bad for electric stove
Review 7 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Granville
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Upgrades Have Made This an Excellent Wok
December 16, 2012
An excellent all-around wok. The issues mentioned in previous reviews have been taken care of.
In the model I purchased, there are two screws attaching the handle to the wok, not one. After 4 months of heavy use, there has been no loosening of the handle at all. Neither have I experienced flaking of the coating on the ring.
Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Versatile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sherrymil
chicago suburb
Posted September 5, 2013
SOUNDS LIKE A WINNER
I have been looking for an "authentic" 14 inch wok with a round bottom and ring for my gas stove. I hope my WS has one in stock.
People with electric stoves should buy a flat bottom wok not round. This is no fault of this design. Of course this won't get hot on an electric stove-it was made for gas!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PapaG
,San Diego
,CA
July 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Value
July 14, 2012
Taking into consideration the price, this is a bargain. I stir-fry a couple times a week and the Wok performs superb. It seasoned well and is easy to cook in. I cook on high heat with no ill effect to the Wok. I keep a light oil coat on it between cooking and it doesn't/hasn't rusted. The only con to the purchase was the loose feel of the handle (the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). I tightened the screw to the handle and it has remained sturdy. Another excellent purchase from WILLIAMS-SONOMA.
Pros: Easy to Use, great stir-fry results, seasoned well
Cons: loose handle
Review 9 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djoe
,Vancouver
,BC
February 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wok!
February 24, 2012
I have been using this woks for months now and I have to say that it has been a great wok. It's also not too heavy, which is a bonus.
For the person that gave the wok 1 out of 5, I would agree that the handle could be a little bit more secure but besides that I am completely happy with the wok. Once it is seasoned it performs beautifully.
Review 10 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Souprgrover
,Seattle
,WA
January 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inexpensive pan with high end results
January 28, 2012
If you want good stir fry start with this pan. Excellent thin carbon steel with sturdy construction handle. After getting my patina in place my first dish was excellent. Rich flavor and cooked fast. Blew my stainless steel cuisinart pan ouf the water.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Woodside
,CA
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wok for the money!!!
January 14, 2012
This is a great wok for the money. It took a little time to season but, they all do. I have used it the last two nights and just love it. I live in the Bay area and there are plenty of oriental shops around to make great stir-frys.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store