Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"

Every detail of this wok is faithful to its traditional Chinese origins, from its carbon steel construction to its hand-hammered design. Its fast-heating cooking surface is great for stir frying, deep frying, steaming and more. Each wok is hammered by hand-no two are exactly alike. Traditional carbon steel construction disperses heat evenly and quickly. Gradually sloping sides ensure food stays directly over heat source and facilitates tossing. Wooden stick handle stays cool to the touch. Includes a ring for use on conventional stovetops.
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
Review 1 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chef58
,Philadelphia
,pa
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful wok
May 28, 2013
I admit, I have not yet used this wok but it is just what a wok should be. It is not overly heavy, the perfect size, with a ring below and a curved bottom, which of course, is how a wok should be.
The price is amazing.
Look forward to perfectly cooked fare.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sherrymil
chicago suburb
Posted September 5, 2013
Top 100 Contributor
How can you recommend an item u haven't used?
Please do a review AFTER you have used it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
astoja
,miami
,fl
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-13points
1of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Had to return
March 4, 2013
I bought this wok even after I read the mediocre reviews because it was very cheap. Unfortunately I tried to stir fry with this 3 times and it couldn't get remotely hot. Each time, I had to transfer the ingredients to another pan. Williams Sonoma let me return it with a full refund. I'm sure this works fine for gas but for electric, it doesn't work at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, Size
Review 3 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geogdoc
,IL
March 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like this wok!
March 3, 2013
Never had a wok before. This one seasoned easily; cooks great. Only issue was wok ring slides around on my gas stove top; so I wired up a couple of magnets to hold it in place. Easy to clean. The steamer fits nicely in another pot while I'm using this one; online recipes already have me buying veggies I never knew how to cook before. I use it a couple of times a week.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichiganMedic
,Grand Rapids
,MI
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Wok
January 2, 2013
This Wok is fantastic! Right out of the box it was incredibly easy to clean and get seasoned. Never used a Wok before, used it for the first time the same day and it cooked everything perfect! The stand that comes with seats it at the perfect height for heating. It is very light for its size however is still very durable and tough!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FoodTourist
December 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
4of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for gas, not for electric range
December 27, 2012
This product description is very deceptive : if you have a gas stove, then by all means, this is a great product. However, if you are like me and unfortunately have an electric range, this is not the wok for you.
Why?
Simple: the wok will not get hot enough (unless you leave the electric burner on high for 10 minutes, then set the wok on it for about 1.5 minutes, and THEN add the oil and wait until you see slight wisps of smoke). Because the bottom is rounded, heat cannot be evenly distributed as well as a flat bottom.
What's unfortunate is that round bottom carbon steel woks are ideal for Chinese cooking, since the heat is so well distributed and with the ease of stir frying. But, like I said, that's only through a direct heat source (flame).
So ask yourself what's worse: tepid stir fry or loss of authenticity? I'm going to go with cold, sad stir fry.
Another thing too - make sure the wok ring fits your stovetop snugly; the last thing you want is an unstable wok full of hot oil.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, bad for electric stove
Review 6 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Granville
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Upgrades Have Made This an Excellent Wok
December 16, 2012
An excellent all-around wok. The issues mentioned in previous reviews have been taken care of.
In the model I purchased, there are two screws attaching the handle to the wok, not one. After 4 months of heavy use, there has been no loosening of the handle at all. Neither have I experienced flaking of the coating on the ring.
Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Versatile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sherrymil
chicago suburb
Posted September 5, 2013
Top 100 Contributor
SOUNDS LIKE A WINNER
I have been looking for an "authentic" 14 inch wok with a round bottom and ring for my gas stove. I hope my WS has one in stock.
People with electric stoves should buy a flat bottom wok not round. This is no fault of this design. Of course this won't get hot on an electric stove-it was made for gas!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PapaG
,San Diego
,CA
July 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Value
July 14, 2012
Taking into consideration the price, this is a bargain. I stir-fry a couple times a week and the Wok performs superb. It seasoned well and is easy to cook in. I cook on high heat with no ill effect to the Wok. I keep a light oil coat on it between cooking and it doesn't/hasn't rusted. The only con to the purchase was the loose feel of the handle (the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5). I tightened the screw to the handle and it has remained sturdy. Another excellent purchase from WILLIAMS-SONOMA.
Pros: Easy to Use, great stir-fry results, seasoned well
Cons: loose handle
Review 8 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djoe
,Vancouver
,BC
February 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wok!
February 24, 2012
I have been using this woks for months now and I have to say that it has been a great wok. It's also not too heavy, which is a bonus.
For the person that gave the wok 1 out of 5, I would agree that the handle could be a little bit more secure but besides that I am completely happy with the wok. Once it is seasoned it performs beautifully.
Review 9 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Souprgrover
,Seattle
,WA
January 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inexpensive pan with high end results
January 28, 2012
If you want good stir fry start with this pan. Excellent thin carbon steel with sturdy construction handle. After getting my patina in place my first dish was excellent. Rich flavor and cooked fast. Blew my stainless steel cuisinart pan ouf the water.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Woodside
,CA
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wok for the money!!!
January 14, 2012
This is a great wok for the money. It took a little time to season but, they all do. I have used it the last two nights and just love it. I live in the Bay area and there are plenty of oriental shops around to make great stir-frys.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelM
,Pittsfield
,MA
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Bargain - Excellent Product
November 20, 2011
Vastly improved. WS remedied the loose handle complaints. Very well constructed, and if you take the time to season it with thin coats of oil, repeated heatings, BEFORE cooking, making a smooth as glass black patina, you will be pleased. Be patient. My grandfather was a "cordon-bleu" Chinese gourmet chef and he made spectacular creations with a wok just like this. Now when I cook, I am reminded of him. Forget the whining reviews by those who don't know good woks for such a bargain. Better than what I got in Chinatown. Thanks WS...
Pros: Quality, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Vic4306623
Houston, TX
Posted March 5, 2012
How did you season your wok?
I echo the previous commenter...
Would you please describe in detail how you seasoned your wok?
Thank you in advance!
0points
Customer avatar
CMCM
California
Posted February 1, 2012
Please tell how you seasoned it!
What a beautiful seasoning job...please give details on how you did that, how long it took, what oil you used, etc.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AKSB
New York
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Wok
April 4, 2011
Love it. It heats up and distributes evenly. It has a nice brown patina when you cook too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WHoosier
IN
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
loose handle, a little over-hammered
March 23, 2011
It only has one screw holding on the handle, which is loose since it's about an eighth inch too narrow for the fitting. This probably wouldn't be a big deal on any other type of cookware, but a wok? The hammering mostly looks fine, but there's some pretty deep scratched grooves in a couple spots. If you're looking for a cheap wok, I'd recommend one with a cheaper price.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MichaelM
Posted November 20, 2011
Now two screws and solid
They fixed it. Enough said. It's great.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DFJ00
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good cooking vessel
March 4, 2011
The clerk tried to warn me away due to the low price and loose handle of the exhibit piece. I took it home, seasoned it and immediately cooked with it. I think that it is a fine cooking vessel. I have no complaints about it at all. It takes no more care than my cast iron pans. Best wok I have ever owned.
Review 15 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheMop
York, PA
January 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Bang for Your Buck
January 21, 2011
I picked up this wok shortly after my wife and I got married. It has quickly become my favorite pan to cook with I make stir fry at least twice a week. I find that this wok distributes the heat very well and hold the pan seasoning very well too. The only draw back to this pan is the handle is a little loose I have been pretty hard on it by flipping stir fry meet in it and it is holding up great. I am sure a small shim would easily tighten it up.
Review 16 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefMichaelokc
Oklahoma City
January 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wok Equals Great Stir Fry
January 19, 2011
This is the best stove top wok I have used. I have used it three times in the past week. The wok seasons quickly and looks great.
I do not use the ring since my stove allows we the invert the grate and hold a round bottom wok.
Only complaint is that the handle could be screwed in a little tighter, but I can fix that myself.
Highly recommend for gas stove. Not sure how it would work on electric.
Review 17 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KevinDC
Washington, D.C
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wok, Bad Accessory
November 16, 2010
We just got this wok and love it! The wok's quality is great and love the hand made appearance. It takes a season quickly, heats up fast and evenly and is just the right size. We made a thai basil chicken in it and it came out almost exactly like the dish from our favorite Thai restaurant.
However, as a previous poster mentioned the ring is made out of a lower quality metal and finished with a coating that blisters under high heat. To me isn't a deal breaker since after the coating burns off it still works fine.
On a side note woks need to be seasoned which produces some smoke. Unless you have a great range hood, I'd recommend performing the seasoning outside on your grill's side burner.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sgacb
Posted December 9, 2010
kudos for carbon steel!
This wok is an EXCELLENT product and well worth the money. The cooking quality cannot be beat. Sure the ring may be cheap and flake but I'm not cooking on the ring and could care less. I have two (2) all clad woks that I bought for $200 each and this little $25 carbon steel wok out cooks them day or night. People should understand that carbon steel or cast iron well seasoned is the original "non stick" cookware and can't be beat for value or performance. Ask any chef worth his or her salt.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Louisville Kentucky
November 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wok Buyers Beware
November 12, 2010
I recently purchased this wok and was very excited to use it. However, I ended up being very disappointed. After just 3 uses, the wok ring ended up chipping and peeling. I had to return it to the store. This wok is not representative of the quality you expect to find at a Williams and Sonoma store. The representative at the store told me that I probably should not have used it on high heat. However, all the authentic Chinese recipe stir frys are cooked on high heat and the directions said nothing about avoiding high heat. I'm writing this to help others avoid the pain of seasoning a wok only to return it after just several uses.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Btlfn
Atlanta, GA.
Posted February 27, 2014
Wok Buyers Beware
When you returned the wok, did you try another one? I'm wondering if this wok was just a 'lemon'.
0points
Customer avatar
MichaelM
Pittsfield MA
Posted November 22, 2011
Ring not a big deal
It's only needed to focus the heat. The ring isn't what you cook on. No big deal.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Hammered Round Bottom Wok with Ring, 14"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JackG
Pgh, PA
October 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as advertised
October 29, 2010
This is listed as a 12 inch wok, but it is really 14 inches. the handle was also very loose. I returned it right away. They need to update the listing.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GurrlChef
Evanston, IL
Posted January 1, 2011
loose handle in store
I saw this wok in-store and decided against buying it because the handle was loose on the sample. It's too bad that the manufacturer skimped on quality for something easily done better.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)