Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"

Every detail of this wok is faithful to its traditional Chinese origins, from its carbon steel construction to its hand-hammered design. Its fast-heating cooking surface is great for stir frying, deep frying, steaming and more. Each wok is hammered by hand-no two are exactly alike. Traditional carbon steel construction disperses heat evenly and quickly. Gradually sloping sides ensure food stays directly over heat source and facilitates tossing. Dual handles provide a firm grip. The flat bottom wok is designed to sit flush against the surface making it perfect for all types of cooktops including induction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
Review 1 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
May 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great wok for a great price!
May 17, 2014
This wok is great. It is a more traditional wok and works very well for stir fry. I love that it has double handles so I can really toss food around. The fact that it is quite light (compared to woks from name brands) helps with this as well.
Speaking of other brands... This wok is a fraction of the price of name brand woks and cooks infinitely better!
The only thing to keep in mind before buying this wok is that this is pretty high maintenance. It needs to be seasoned, oiled when not in use, and stored away properly. Totally worth the extra time, though!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DPS8980
,NYC
,NY
April 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is an excellent wok for Chinese food
April 30, 2014
I spend almost 2 hours to season this wok. The result is a beautiful blue finishing. Then, start to use it everyday for all my family meals. Perfect product with perfect result.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, non-stick at all after using it in 3 weeks.
Cons: need to season it every other meal for the 1st mon
Review 3 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arkansas
,Springdale
,AR
February 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Used More than I Thought I Would
February 20, 2014
I bought this wok with only Asian dishes in mind, but have found that I use it often for cooking a variety of other things, such as, sauteing mixed vegetables for sides, fajitas, meat-searing. I haven't done deep frying as suggested somewhere. Even though wok has a flat bottom, I wouldn't be comfortable with a lot of oil as far as the possibility of accidental tipping over. Maybe a wok ring would be more stable for that or smaller quantities in less oil. Cleanup is a snap. After initial seasoning, within a few uses nonstick interior forms. Use one of the softer bristle brushes with hot water only. You don't want to remove the cooked-on finish that has formed. Just dry the wok, rub a few drops of oil inside and done. A couple of add-ons I bought to go with this are the wok lid and the silicone stir fry spatula. The lid has been handy to put on to keep things warm and would also help when steaming. Maybe my next thing to try will be the bamboo steamer basket that can fit into it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
 
My Recommendations
 
 
Review 4 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
strauss
,hacienda heights
,CA
October 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wok in use
October 8, 2013
good size ~ cooks well ~ great flat bottom ~ many uses ~ can be used as a fryer
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 5 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SupportUSAproducts
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Wok for Stir Fry Noodles!
January 7, 2013
I initially bought the Calphalon Unison Wok and I found it to be heavy, cumbersome, and did not retain enough heat. I returned it and I bought this (for a quarter of the Calphalon's price) and wow I am impressed. I followed the direction to season the pan and I made stir fry noodles (pansit). My noodles turned out delicious. The pan retained heat and the size was just right. I wish it came with a lid but for the price, I cannot complain. I hope it lasts long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodTourist
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for electric range
December 27, 2012
If you haven't yet, go read Grace Young's The Breath of a Wok - you'll be glad you did. Grace recommended a flat bottom, carbon steel, 14" wok for those of us unfortunate enough to have electric ranges, since the round bottom woks would never be heated enough because of their round bottoms.
This is a great wok for weak stoves. The price was average, the wok well made, and I like the Cantonese style of the double handles (less heavy). Make sure you wash the wok well with mild detergent and SUPER hot water before seasoning it. There are tons of seasoning methods - I used the pork lard and chive method recommended by Grace Young.
Good luck, wok speed!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, great for electric range (flat bottom)
Cons: wish there was a combo of long and round handles