Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"

Every detail of this wok is faithful to its traditional Chinese origins, from its carbon steel construction to its hand-hammered design. Its fast-heating cooking surface is great for stir frying, deep frying, steaming and more. Each wok is hammered by hand-no two are exactly alike. Traditional carbon steel construction disperses heat evenly and quickly. Gradually sloping sides ensure food stays directly over heat source and facilitates tossing. Dual handles provide a firm grip. The flat bottom wok is designed to sit flush against the surface making it perfect for all types of cooktops including induction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
Review 1 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arkansas
,Springdale
,AR
February 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Used More than I Thought I Would
February 20, 2014
I bought this wok with only Asian dishes in mind, but have found that I use it often for cooking a variety of other things, such as, sauteing mixed vegetables for sides, fajitas, meat-searing. I haven't done deep frying as suggested somewhere. Even though wok has a flat bottom, I wouldn't be comfortable with a lot of oil as far as the possibility of accidental tipping over. Maybe a wok ring would be more stable for that or smaller quantities in less oil. Cleanup is a snap. After initial seasoning, within a few uses nonstick interior forms. Use one of the softer bristle brushes with hot water only. You don't want to remove the cooked-on finish that has formed. Just dry the wok, rub a few drops of oil inside and done. A couple of add-ons I bought to go with this are the wok lid and the silicone stir fry spatula. The lid has been handy to put on to keep things warm and would also help when steaming. Maybe my next thing to try will be the bamboo steamer basket that can fit into it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
 
My Recommendations
 
 
Review 2 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
strauss
,hacienda heights
,CA
October 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wok in use
October 8, 2013
good size ~ cooks well ~ great flat bottom ~ many uses ~ can be used as a fryer
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SupportUSAproducts
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Wok for Stir Fry Noodles!
January 7, 2013
I initially bought the Calphalon Unison Wok and I found it to be heavy, cumbersome, and did not retain enough heat. I returned it and I bought this (for a quarter of the Calphalon's price) and wow I am impressed. I followed the direction to season the pan and I made stir fry noodles (pansit). My noodles turned out delicious. The pan retained heat and the size was just right. I wish it came with a lid but for the price, I cannot complain. I hope it lasts long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodTourist
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for electric range
December 27, 2012
If you haven't yet, go read Grace Young's The Breath of a Wok - you'll be glad you did. Grace recommended a flat bottom, carbon steel, 14" wok for those of us unfortunate enough to have electric ranges, since the round bottom woks would never be heated enough because of their round bottoms.
This is a great wok for weak stoves. The price was average, the wok well made, and I like the Cantonese style of the double handles (less heavy). Make sure you wash the wok well with mild detergent and SUPER hot water before seasoning it. There are tons of seasoning methods - I used the pork lard and chive method recommended by Grace Young.
Good luck, wok speed!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, great for electric range (flat bottom)
Cons: wish there was a combo of long and round handles
Review 5 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joanlam
Rhode Island
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just What I Needed!!
September 7, 2011
Love the wok!! I have an electric stove and I needed something with a flat bottom. So far we've had stirfry every night! Cooked scrambled eggs in it, too!
Love it. Packed nice for shipping, too. Very impressive!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 6 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tesser
Frisco, TX
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lots of fun
August 5, 2011
Had a great time using a wok for the first time. There were easy directions for seasoning the wok. The first attempt resulted in a tasty chicken dish. It was much easier to use than I anticipated. It is lightweight enough for ease in handling and clean-up was not difficult.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 7 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hoihiloa
HONOLULU
July 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great foer deep fry too.
July 20, 2011
This is excellent for stir fry and deep fry. The size of the wok is easily stored in utensil drawer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 8 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homemaker2
manhattan, il
June 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great!
June 4, 2011
I use this wok all the time. It's the best one I have ever owned. Follow the directions when seasoning it and it will never let you down. It cleans up easy and is fun to cook with! Thanks!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 9 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
eacari
ct
March 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE traditional wok
March 6, 2011
This is the traditional asian wok, except for the flat bottom, which is an adaptation to accommodate electric stoves. Sometimes the original is the best, as it is in this case. It works beautifully and is fun to cook with.
Review 10 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ChefAnthony
Baltimore, MD
February 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not recommended for ceramic stovetops
February 9, 2011
I bought this in the store because I have been wanting to purchase a wok to make stir fry. I seasoned this pan using grapeseed oil because of its high heat properties. I was rather disappointed with the performance of this wok when cooking my first stir fry because it just never seemed to get hot enough and did not sear properly. It was not until I saw the stir-fry episode of Cooks Country on PBS that I understood the problem. These woks are essentially made for gas burners that put out massive BTU's like you would see in a chinese restaurant - not conventional stovetops. I wonder if this pan would perform better on a regular gas stove but I would not recommend this if you have a conventional electric stovetop.
Review 11 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kycee
Georgia
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wok and NO Rust
January 24, 2011
Bought this to replace my old rusty Wok. It is working out well and no rust in site. Have seasoned well and cooked great stir frys in it and they were wonderful. Great price and a nice looking Wok.
Review 12 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
soupkitchen
Frederick, MD
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hammered Flat Bottom Wok
January 23, 2011
This is a really great wok. I have a ceramic stove top and I love that the flat bottom of the wok fits on my smaller burner and cooks everything evenly. It was a smart purchase for me and it will get a lot of use.
Review 13 for Hammered Flat Bottom Wok, 14"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodluva
Rhode Island
December 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+45points
48of 51found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A real wok!
December 9, 2010
Ok, so I purchased a hand hammered wok for my father years ago and wished I bought one for myself too! Over the years I have purchased woks that rusted and did not season properly! This is just like the one I bought for my father! It comes with packing oil that must be cleaned prior to use/ seasoning! But the process of seasoning is well worth it! As for the wok handles I would look for pot holders as they do heat up with the wok! I did see the wooden handled wok and the wooden handle was not even secure at the store. The add ons for the wok, such as the bamboo scrubber and lid, were low quality. The lid was thin aluminum and the scrubber should have had smaller tighter bound bamboo pieces. I hope you enjoy your wok if you decide to try it! Just remember to season and keep oiled properly! Only use soap initially to remove the packing oil residue.