Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean

Enhance your favorite baked goods, ice creams and custards with premium vanilla from Tahiti. Twice as flavorful as extract, our ground Tahitian vanilla bean has a rich floral aroma and smooth, nuanced flavor with hints of cherry and chocolate. Many pastry chefs consider Tahitian vanilla to be the ultimate flavoring for their signature desserts. Use ground vanilla as a substitute for vanilla extract. Since the ground beans are twice as potent, you'll only need to use half as much. Add a teaspoon of this fragrant vanilla to a freshly brewed pot of coffee or tea. The seed pod of a tropical orchid, vanilla is the world's second most expensive spice (after saffron), due to the meticulous labor required for its cultivation. This premium, all-natural herb is sourced from around the world and expertly blended by a family-owned artisanal spice company in California's Napa Valley. 1.9 oz. Made in the USA of imported ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
9 of 16(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
beachgal25
,Murrells Inlet
,SC
January 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
must be a fluke
January 4, 2014
no aroma,
tastes like dirt.
not what i would expect from WS.
Since others have liked this it must be a quality control problem.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
danceswchickens
,DAVIS
,CA
December 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
waste of money
December 17, 2013
Thought I'd try this product because it seemed like a convenient alternative to liquid extract. Boy was I disappointed. They must use the worst grade, completely dried out or previously extracted beans to make this powder: it has almost no aroma or flavor. I even tried steeping a couple of Tablespoons (!) in a cup of warm milk to see if moisture and heat would release the aroma, but no luck. The Pannetone I baked with this powder was a loss, no vanilla flavor at all. I've been buying Tahitian vanilla beans in bulk for years now so I know what I'm looking for. Save your money.
Cons: Disappointing, low quality
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this as an addition to extract
August 25, 2013
Love this as an addition to vanilla extract in my baked good. I don't love it on its own but with extract, it really elevates the flavor.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazya
June 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't even use liquid vanilla anymore
June 25, 2013
The flavor from this powder is extraordinary. You can replace liquid vanilla with it, although I would recommend scaling the amount back by 25-50% of the original amount.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RickC33
,Tempe
,AZ
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not-so vanilla Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
December 15, 2012
I bought this to use in recipes where a liquid vanilla might be an issue. However, when I opened it up I was very disappointed - there was absolutely no vanilla fragrance nor any vanilla taste when I samples a bit (in fact virtually no taste). I suppose I can use it to fool people into thinking I used whole vanilla bean in a recipe by adding some of this.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoraeS
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite ingredients
October 8, 2012
I use this in almost every recipe that calls for vanilla, with the sole exception of the few recipes that really need a liquid flavoring. It's made me extremely fond of smoothies, because it's super in them, imparting a great texture. it is not incredibly fragrant because vanilla beans seem stingy about that, but it IS incredibly flavorful.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovesVanilla
,Madrid
,SP
April 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent taste and crunchy texture
April 7, 2012
I love vanilla in pancakes and desserts, and putting it in ground form works better for me than any liquid. In creme brulee, it gives a crunchy vanilla flavor combined with the attractive black specks. I love this stuff, and am somewhat confused by the bad reviews. I found it to be fragrant and much better than using plain vanilla in liquid form.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
csinensis
,Lacey
,WA
Lacey, WA
February 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where's vanilla??
February 18, 2012
I opened the jar expecting the fragrant vanilla but there was none. I am very disappointed however, I found a use for this product. I add a teaspoon to my cake/pancake/ebelskiver batters and vanilla ice cream along with my home-brewed vanilla extract. I can see the tiny speckles in the final product that gives the "French vanilla" effect without scraping the seeds from the whole bean. I wouldn't buy this again.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BonYvo
,Climax
,GA
February 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Funny Tasting???
February 14, 2012
I tasted the vanilla bean by itself. Honestly, I didn't taste any vanilla flavor at all!! After cooking with it, it gave a kind of smokey flavor, not a sweet vanilla flavor. Therefore, I'm not sure what to do with it. Maybe the flavor will come out later as it sits.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BBQfan
St. Louis, MO
February 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes great vanilla sugar!
February 12, 2012
I mix a few Tbsp of this gound vanilla bean into several cups of granulated sugar to make a "vanilla sugar" that has saved us tons of money from paying for it pre-made an Penzey's. Haven't measured the exact ratio - I just eyeball it. You should notice the light vanilla fragrance after it sits for a day or so. I plan on giving small jars of this vanilla sugar as gift accompaniments for the holidays with a baked good & recipe (a gift I would love!). A little goes a long way and it adds that fancy vanilla bean speckle to your baked goods without the added sugar from WS vanilla bean paste.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
straydog
West Layton, Utah
Posted November 8, 2013
Great Idea
Thanks for both ideas: making the vanilla-sugar and giving it as a gift.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
YanG
February 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beware: This is not Tahitian vanilla bean
February 8, 2012
If you are looking for true ground Tahitian vanilla bean, this is not real Tahitian vanilla. The aroma is somehow different from Tahitian vanilla.
It's probably PNG vanilla beans or a mix with PNG and Tahitian vanilla to lower their cost.
I think they should say "Tahitensis Vanilla" instead of Tahitian Vanilla...
However, this is super cheap, and it's a good buy if you don't really care what it is...
Pros: cheap
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msbazzi
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect replacement to PODS
December 12, 2011
a perfect substitute to the pods and same full flavor.....just open the jar use a small amount and that's it...
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NYFkhan
,Miami
,FL
November 3, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
November 3, 2011
I loved the idea of using a ground vanilla bean but I was a little disappointed in the flavor or lack thereof. I don't feel it really added anything to my cakes/cupcakes. It was great visually because everyone loves to see the vanilla bean speckles in their desserts but I had to compensate (after the 1st batch came out bland) by adding some liquid extract to really impose the flavor in the desserts. I just didn't feel it met my expectation for a Williams Sonoma product. It wasn't horrible...it was just OK...nothing special.
Pros: Texture, visually appealing
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PhoenicianCook
,Phoenix
,NY
Phoenix, NY
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Save Your Money
October 19, 2011
I have to tell you that this is the most disappointing product I have purchased from you. It has no fragrance and the taste is similar to ground coffee beans. I tried it in French toast. I tried it in my coffee. It added nothing - no flavor, no fragrance, no anything! Please, save your money.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CWGW
Beaufort, SC
May 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE this! We use it in EVERYTHING!
May 12, 2011
We have used it every way that you would use liquid vanilla, but it is even more versatile because you can add it at anytime without having to mix it in early in the recipe. My kids love it. They say it makes their buttered, sweetened rice taste like vanilla ice cream. I use measuring spoons for cooking, but they don't work well for sprinkling. To sprinkle over individual servings, I make sure the top is on well and then shake the bottle so the top's interior gets coated well. Then I take the top off and securely hold it (coated side facing the food, lid parallel, holding hand's fingers forming a "C") over the food with one hand while tapping the center of the lid with the index finger of the other hand. Doing this once or twice will usually spread a thin layer evenly. If someone has a better technique, please let me know. Don't try to tip the bottle to the side! It will come out in clumps. Don't use fingers to get a sprinkling pinch, even if you have just washed your hands.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Ground Tahitian Vanilla Bean
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knits4dolls
Montana
May 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Latte delight!
May 4, 2011
Although I purchased this for creme brule and other custards and desserts, I found it wonderful to sprinkle on the top of my latte in the morning. I use less sweeteners and it makes my latte look like it came from an expensive coffee house!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift