This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Granite Pizza Stone with Stand

Make restaurant-worthy pizzas on your outdoor grill or in your indoor oven. Ideal for parties, our granite baking stone retains heat beautifully, so you can create pizza after pizza with perfect crisp crusts - without waiting for the stone to reheat. Turn your outdoor grill or indoor oven into a pizza oven with this versatile baking stone. The grill-top granite slab transfers the heat flawlessly, so you're guaranteed a crackling golden crust and perfectly cooked toppings. To give pizzas the rich, smoky flavor achieved in a wood-fired oven, use the stone with your smoker box and favorite smoking chips on the grill. This versatile stone is also great for baking flatbreads - or use it to sear shrimp, strips of meat or your favorite vegetables. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.435 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
30 of 46(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
Review 1 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Etsweiler
,Ann Arbor
,MI
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A possible solution to burning the bottom
August 28, 2012
First of all, I ran into a promising method this morning:
Pizza Rule #2
Fire Up the Grill
Nothing better approximates the smoky char of a wood-burning oven than a grill. Have your ingredients ready, slide the raw dough directly onto the hot grates, and grill until lightly chared, about 4 minutes. Flip and immediately add sauce and cheese, then cover the grill and wait for the cheese to melt.
(I'm sure that we can apply this technique to the granite stone)
I intend to test this over the long weekend.
Second, I would not fume about the granite tile cracking. If you like the idea of granite, you can have your local stone and tile company cut you another tile. My plan, in the event mine cracks, is to have a piece of soapstone cut to fit. You can buy soapstone pizza stones online, so it's a proven solution. I like the stainless steel holder as much as anything on this product, so don't obsess over the granite.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design
Cons: Fragile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lchendr
,Richland
,Wa
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Granite Pizza Stone
August 22, 2012
I purchased 3 of the pizza stones (on sale) and I really wanted to like it. Two for gifts and one for me. I tried it and I didn't like it. I didn't like the directions being on the box and the clean up was terrible. Just didn't work for me and I'm going to return them. Love William & Sonoma!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Augusta
,Ga
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Exactly what I've been looking for!
August 21, 2012
Great product and great quality. Very sturdy and holds the heat wonderfully.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
75cavalier
,charleston
,wv
August 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
limited usefulness
August 20, 2012
The biggest problem I had with the granite pizza stone was the lack of any care and use instructions. Had to go online to learn (a) don't oil the stone, and (b) don't use soap to clean. The stone heated evenly, but wasn't large enough for a large pizza, so the usefulness is limited for that purpose. Have not tried it for shrimp or other foods, but am a little afraid to because of the difficulty cleaning. Stiff brushes don't work, regardless of what you read. Soaking in water eventually works, but the stone won't fit most sinks. Disappointing.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 5 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mwunder44
,Carmel
,NY
August 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Pizza Stone
August 20, 2012
Made calzones and pizza with the stone came out with a light crust, easy to work with and clean up just add parchment paper and throw away;
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 6 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lisaherb
,smithfield
,ri
July 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
pizza stone
July 7, 2012
well we have had our stone for 2 years and love it !we use it every week ,up untill last night we went to use our stone and it was split in half , so sad
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 7 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emilydc
,Washington
,DC
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
We love our pizza stone!
June 27, 2012
We are avid pizza makers, cooking up a fresh one at least once a week. We'd been considering the purchase of a pizza stone & saw this one on sale at W-S one day: we've been regular users ever since. We use the stand when we make pizzas on our grill (the smokiness imparted to the pizza from the grill is great) & the stone alone for the oven. In both instances, you really do need to follow the preheating guidelines. It takes a while to heat but that's what gives the pizza a really crispy bottom. We definitely had to tinker with times and such (burned our first pizza, etc) and now make rectangular pizzas instead of round ones to better accommodate the shape of the stone. Using parchment paper really helps with the cleaning process! Overall, we love this product! It's also great for cooking free-form flatbreads and regular loaves that don't need a loaf pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EbonyNinja
,Murrieta
,Ca
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Must have for the BBQ Grill! Works Great!
June 27, 2012
The wife and I used this item for the first time this past weekend, and we will use it weekly to satisfy our love of pizza. Its the only way to bake a pizza that truly looks and tastes like it came from an Italian brick oven.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
marjar
,Palm Springs
,CA
June 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Pizza
June 14, 2012
This is the second one I own. I bought one last year for my husband for fathers day.
We've had so many pizza parties that I decide to buy another since I have two ovens.
We also make desert pizzas. They are fabulous on the granite stone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 10 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
saladgirl
,little silver
,nj
nj
April 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Great stone!
April 14, 2012
I know there are a lot of complaints about this stone, but I love it! I use it in my gas oven....placing the stone in the stand directly on the floor of the oven. I also use my Emile Henry ceramic stone on a higher rack. After the first 4-6 minutes on the granite stone, I move the pizza to the higher rack...and I end up with a perfectly cooked pizza.
It's hard to cook a Neapolitan pizza in a home oven since it never gets hot enough, but with my two stone technique...I'm getting better at it!
Review 11 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dakyo
,Delray Beach
,FL
March 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
I'm holding out for a couple more attempts
March 25, 2012
I used Naan bread as pizza crust for individual pizzas.
The first attempt:: heated pizza stone to recommended temp....TOO HOT.....
burned the bottoms of the Naan bread after 4-5mins...
2nd batch: turned the grill down to low, temp got to about 350 degrees(internal) put them on the pizza stone- same night as the first attempt. Watched closely, let our noses be the "timer"... after3-4 minutes Melted-gooey cheese & beautiful golden brown crusts.
We will try this again in near future, so far "No Cracks" in the granite but will be keeping a close eye for any signs of cracks & hope W/S stands behind their products.....
I'm afraid to try a "Fresh Pizza dough" on this pizza stone.... may try this in near future also.
Review 12 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
maggie8680
March 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
5of 11found this review helpful.
Another low quality product at a high price
March 14, 2012
I purchased this with a gift card that I received because PBKids had previously sent me a broken item twice. Guess what? This item was broken, too. There was a huge chunk out of the corner of the stone. It's not worth anymore of my time to deal with this company and their low quality products, so I'll keep it and just never buy anything from them again.
Cons: Fragile
Review 13 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tennisMom
,Hudson
,OH
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Best Pizza ever!!
March 6, 2012
We have had so many pizza stones and have been making homemade pizza for decades...but this by far was the best ! The bottom didn't burn and loved the presentation!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Review 14 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PlanoCook
,Plano
,TX
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
BEAUTIFUL GRANITE PIZZA STONE!!!
March 6, 2012
Although I haven't baked a pizza with this product yet, I am enjoying it on my kitchen island. The stainless steel base perfectly compliments the stainless steel kitchen appliances. With one side of the granite polished and the other side rough, I use the stone for many other applications also. It's great for serving cheese & crackers, fruit, etc. and will chill the stone in warmer weather to keep food cool.
The stone arrived in perfect condition. I am extremely pleased with my purchase and
thrilled I didn't "listen" to the negative reviews.
Pros: Quality, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, decorative
Review 15 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Urpis
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Stone Cracked in half
January 31, 2012
I used this pizza stone twice and the granite stone cracked in half. I followed the instructions and did not put the stone on a hot grill or a hot stone under cold water. Granite is a poor material to used for a pizza stone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 16 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bbqlover
January 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
two stars overall
January 17, 2012
I purchased this stone in local WS store on sale for $29.99 and I definitely can see all frustration of the people, especially who paid a full price.
Here is my observation:
I was able to get a perfect result in the oven with no problems at all, however on the grill (Weber cattle) like other reviewers said it does cook bottom much faster than top. If you are not careful, you will burn your pizza.
I was able to get around this issue by blocking direct heat with the old piece of metal. Also indirect cooking (place your coals around the stone and not under) will help as well.
As far as cracking, if you preheat your stone properly, you shouldn’t have this problem.
Overall I give this product two stars because it advertized as pizza stone for the “grill” and I don’t see how you can make this work without tweaking.
It’s obvious that manufacturer didn’t test this product at all. Otherwise they will provide detailed cooking instructions.
Review 17 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BritoniG
,Lake Worth
,FL
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Good - But...
December 27, 2011
I'm glad that I read the reviews before I bought this - otherwise I would have been upset about the lack of instructions/recipes. Really folks the only ones are on the giant box. But - that being said I found plenty of help on the web to make it work. And it works great. One other small problem. I bought this at the store and paid full price. It was pre-gift wrapped for the holidays - bonus as it was for my husband, but when he opened it - it had already been used. You could still see the circle that the previously cooked pizza left on the stone - not cool WS - not cool at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: little or no instructions
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Santino
Posted January 2, 2012
Conception of WS changed after reading this post!!
WOW, I always had the impression that WilliamsSonoma was a top of the line store and had better practices than reboxing and reselling products. I was searching pizza stones at several stores online and came accross this post which totally changed my perception of Williams Sonoma. I do not think I will patronize them again. That really is not cool. WOW.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pcsperling
,Stratford
,CT
September 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Started with five stars and worked my way down!
September 29, 2011
I purchased this about three weeks or so ago. The pizza I made was incredible, so I started out with a five star rating. I prepared my pizza sprinkled a little corn meal on the pizza peel and slid on and off easily. Crust was incredible.
My review has gone down to one star because after only four uses, there is a hairline crack through the center of the stone.
I followed the instruction of heating the stand/stone on the grill together, cleaned gently, etc.
While the pizza / crust is incredible, I can't recommend this product for its price when after only a couple of uses, it is damaged!
Cons: Fragile
Review 19 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoughboyDave
,Princeton
,NJ
September 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great stone with smart technique
September 10, 2011
This stone is predictable. It transfers heat well, maybe too well for some pizza cooks. I solve this by placing the partially cooked pizza (when the bottom is satisfactorily brown and crispy) on an aluminum pizza pan. This halts the bottom cooking and allows the top to finish. Every dough will react differently to heat and it is most critical to find a stone which is predictable and a dough recipe which includes altering the flour/water mixture for the proper feel. Weighing ingredients is a start but knowing how a proper dough feels is critical for predictable results. Also, it's important to know that the hotter your cooking temperatures, the wetter your dough should be. If you are adding sugar to your pizza dough, you are asking it to brown too fast for most successful pizza results.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight, predictable
Review 20 for Granite Pizza Stone with Stand
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IslandBreak
Denver, CO
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Very Lacking
September 6, 2011
As others have mentioned this comes with almost no instructions or recipes. The only recipes are printed on the outside of the box which you typically throw away. I go this as a gift and was very excited. I carefully read the limited instructions and put my stone on a cold grill to start. After the first use the stone had a crack through it and during the third use it separated completely and collapsed into the grill destroying my dinner. I would be very cautious using this. There might be many other better ones out there in the market.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Fragile
page1 2 3 next