This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix

We've paired our delightful cookie cake pans with our delectable chocolate cake mix to make a nostalgic treat for kids of all ages. Set includes two nonstick round baking pans that turn out cookie-shaped cakes, both embossed with the word cookie, and our signature chocolate sandwich cookie cake mix. Cast aluminum pans promote uniform baking and the Swiss-made Goldtouch(TM) ceramic nonstick coating releases cakes easily and makes for quick cleanup. Cake mix is made by a New England company that specializes in all-natural baking mixes, using simple ingredients like premium cocoa and cake flour for the perfect texture and delectable flavor. Batter is simple to make: just add butter, milk and eggs. Includes buttercream-filling mix. Pans: 10-cup cap., 9" diam. Mix: 2 lb. 3 oz. (serves up to 18). A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.691 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
33 of 42(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
Review 1 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
angrybaker
,Gilbert
,AZ
June 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
worst experience ever
June 22, 2012
I am an avid baker and make lots of cakes that come out perfect but this is the worst expereince I have ever had baking. bought it for a special occasion and trusted the recipe on the back of the box to be the best for the pans. Turns out it is not a cake recipe but a BROWNIE recipe and brownies are notorious for sticking to pans regardless of how much you butter them. I followed the directions to a T yet They came out in huge flakey blobs and you cant even make out the cookie. the "cake" stuck to every crevas so none of the design showed up. they need to seriously re think the recipe it comes with and warn people its a brownie. a cake would have come out with no problem at all Im sure. my dad, who I made this for, doesnt even like brownies. I assumed since it said cake, it was a dense cake recipe. ruined a surprise and ruined a whole day of work and it was wayyyy over priced for what it is. william sonoma is supposed to be better then this.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, not non-stick
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jlt258
,Staten Island
,NY
September 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
No Cookie Detail
September 18, 2011
I am an avid baker and I was very disappointed with the outcome of my cake using this pan. I used the recipe on the back of the box and followed it to a tee - luckily the taste is delicious but the cakes were totally broken and looked terrible after inverting. I usually love everything from WS, but not this.
Review 3 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sandra2w
Cupertino CA
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
love pan but not recipe
June 13, 2011
Wow, the cake recipe on the box was more like a brownie. When you cut a piece its pretty heavy. Will try more of a cake recipe next time. Also, the recipe made pretty thick layers so a lot of icing was needed in the middle for correct proportions. Next time I'd prefer thinner layers of cake and a less brownie-type recipe. Almost impossible to get pans completely clean. Tried 3x and just said 'forget it". Fun pan which made a great impression at a party.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bububear
El Centro Ca
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very cute cake pan
May 31, 2011
I've used this pan several times without a problem. The cake doesn't stick and it looks gorgeous!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ColoradoMom22
Thornton, Colorado
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Everyone loved it!
April 6, 2011
I just used this cake pan and mix for my daughter's 6th birthday. It was a hit. I followed the directions for the cake with one of the cookie pans and used Baker's Secret for the other. The Baker's Secret one turned out MUCH better and I used that one for the top. I came onto this site to buy another cake mix because a friend now wants one for her birthday. My son (who hates cake) loved it and said it was the best cake ever! I'm surprised to see that so many did not like the cake or the filling. The only reason why I did not give 5 stars is the price of the cake mix.
Pros: Design
Cons: price of cake mix
Review 6 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cookiemonstore
gta, canada
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Pan is Adorable - Recipe is a Disappointment
February 14, 2011
I bought this pan and was super excited to use this, as I am a veteran baker. I intended to make three sets of cakes and thus tripled the recipe. I followed the instructions for the cake recipe on the back of the box to a T. I was super disappointed that the cake stuck and when I finally got it out the pan, it left behind chunks of cake in the pan. The recipe says to use butter and cocoa, I think I will try it with pam seeing that other had success and another recipe. But now I have two recipes worth of batter + the cake I had to throw in the garbage- what a waste! I should have followed my instinct and used one of my own recipes - any recipe would have worked better than this.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mmmcake
Posted March 10, 2011
Not wanting to be rude
It's extremely rare that you can triple a recipe, most recipes don't even double well. Sry it didn't work but a 'veteran' knows it saves time and effort to just repeat instead of multiplying a recipe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redwings19
Mundelein, IL
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this pan!
November 23, 2010
I used 2 Ghirardelli Chocolate Brownie mixes from the grocery store and they turned out great. Followed the box directions and used Pam for baking in the pans and had no problems with sticking. I'm going to fill with vanilla ice cream....yum.
Review 8 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeterV
Wauwatosa, WI
September 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Awesome pan!
September 25, 2010
I had to make a 40th birthday theme cake and I used this pan for the "cookie" portion. I made 4 "cookies" and stacked them on top of each other. It was a hit! I was a little concerned reading some of the reviews that the cakes wouldn't release well, but I used the Wilton Cake Release and all 8 cookie half came out clean and clear. The pans were a little pricey so I only bought 1 set and used it 4 times - kinda time consuming, but the results were worth it. If I had a request to do this cake again, I'd buy another set to cut my time in half! lol!
Review 9 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BAchocolatelover
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
September 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Just what I needed
September 1, 2010
This was a perfect purchase as I ALWAYS have Oreo cookies at my house. My grand kids go straight to the cookie jar (especially) my grand daughter (she only gets them at my house). So, for her 12th birthday, I made a cake out of (2) brownie mixes and filled with a cream cheese frosting. She absolutely loved it - even carries a picture of it on her cell phone.
Review 10 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pokeysmom
Decatur, AL
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great pan, recipe... not so much
August 18, 2010
We bought this pan with the sole reason to make our son's birthday cake. We got the pan, made sure we had all the ingredients for the recipe on the back of the box and started baking. Well the cake stuck. Not just a little, but badly! Then after we got the pans cleaned out and were ready to try again, we decided to taste the cake. It didn't taste good. Very dry. Almost chalky like. So, I used a devils food recipe and this time used Pam in the pans. I had no trouble with sticking, the cakes tasted great and we were able to press on. The only issue with using a softer, more airy cake is that it doesn't show the pretty design as well. Knowing what I do now, I would still purchase this pan again.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MommaDee
Charlotte, NC
Posted January 20, 2011
Used Their Cake Mix-YUM!!
About a year ago, my adult daughter (26) gave me the set of cookie pans & cake mix as a Christmas or birthday (mine is so close to Christmas, I can't remember which I got it for!) gift. She knows I collect special pans for cakes & cupcakes. Well, just last week, yes over a year had gone by, and my youngest child (now 6) and I finally got around to making this cake...her twin brother has a thing for Oreo Cookies, so we knew he'd love it. Believe me, I don't recommend waiting a year to make a cake, but this one turned out perfectly beautiful AND delicious! It's a bit tedious getting every nook & cranny coated (especially for a 6 yr old), but it came out fine. It's well worth the effort for the final product!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mernerr
Washington, DC
June 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Pan!!
June 10, 2010
To all the reviewers who used Pam. Never never never use Pam on nonstick pans. It is a chemical and reacts with the pan to make cakes stick to the pan. If you read anything on non stick it says never to use Pam.
My pan works great, I used Baklene that my WS recommended. It was too cute and we used ice cream as the filling.
Review 12 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbieD
Tennessee
June 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy - and a hit!
June 10, 2010
I bought these pans because I thought it would be an easy way to have a decorated cake without actually having to take the time to decorate it. I was right! I made it for a pot luck and it was a hit. I used bakers joy cooking spray to coat the pans before filling them. The cake came out perfectly with no sticking and the pans cleaned up easily just by putting them under the running faucet.
Review 13 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shellih
San Jose, CA
June 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fun pan to use for any occasion
June 6, 2010
My hubby got this for me for Christmas with the obvious intention for me to make it for him! This is his absolute favorite type of cookie! I followed the directions closely making sure that all ingredients were room temp and sprayed my pans with Pam. They came out beautifully & I immediately rinsed the pans to remove any cake residue, thus saving me soaking & scrubbing time. Frosting was good too! Only draw back was my own, I'm not used to cooking with unsalted butter.
Review 14 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
missybeans2010
Spokane,WA
May 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pan Great-Mix not so much!
May 23, 2010
It was the evening before my son's birthday when I decided to make his cake using this cake pan and mix. I coated the pans with Pam -getting in all those little detail divots. My cake totally stuck and we could not get it out! We had to trash it! What a waste,
I am disappointed, but will try again with a cake mix from the grocery store.
Review 15 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elaina
New York, NY
April 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan
April 18, 2010
I purchased the cake pan along with the cookie cake mix. I sprayed the pans with Pam Baking Spray. I've made the cake several times and each time it came out perfect.
Review 16 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisappointedBaker
San Diego, CA
April 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
The pans are cute but...
April 3, 2010
The pans are darling but that cake mix was very disappointing. I have had better luck with grocery store bought mixes than the mix I purchased with the pans. I even tried the recipe on the back of the cake mix and couldn't get the cakes out of the pans! It's been 2 days since I tried that receipe again and I am still soaking the pans.
Review 17 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
teriK
Hammond, IN
March 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
cake pan good cake mix poor
March 31, 2010
The cake pan worked well but the cake mix was dry & dense, just terrible. I used baking spray to coat the pans & the cake came out without a problem.
Review 18 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
uptipp68
Brookhaven, PA
February 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Sandwich cookie Cake Mix--yuck!
February 28, 2010
I received the Sadwich cookie Cake Pan and the Sadwich Cookie Cake Mix as a gift for Christmas. I made the mix in the pan , I used Pam spray and some butter and flour, the cake came out of the pans perfectly. Made the filling also. It was the dryest cake ever. It was like eating a devil dog cake. You choked on it , it was so dry. The filling was not good. I made it for my sons birthday, luckily, I made a second devils food cake and everyone ate that. Everyone tried the cookie cake and couldnt eat more than one bite. The cake is gross and dry. The pans are great the mix should be taken off the shelves.
I am going to make it next time with chocolate chip cookie dough in both sides and put ice cream in the middle.
Review 19 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KVBKVB
NC
February 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love it
February 25, 2010
I got the pans alone for Christmas and just used them recently. I used bakers pam and the cakes came out beautifully. No messy clean up either. Haven't tried the mix but the reviews here are so so...
Review 20 for Sandwich Cookie Cake Pan with Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gammer
Riverside CA
February 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Makes a Darling Cake !
February 21, 2010
Saw this pan at Williams-Sonoma and
just could not resist it. Bought the boxed
mix as well. Read on an earlier review that they recommend brushing the pan
with melted unsalted butter and then putting in freezer for 5 minutes. I did this
and the cake came out perfectly. Liked the cake mix but did not like the frosting.
Will experiment with other boxed cakes
and homemade frosting in future....
page1 2 3 next