Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix

Invented by Fred S. Carbon in Buchanan, Michigan, in 1937, and a tradition at American breakfasts ever since, this patented (and top-secret) mix yields light and crispy golden-brown waffles and pancakes with a slightly sweet taste and memorable texture. Made with the highest-quality wheat flour and cornmeal blended with premium malt and a mix of flavorings that remains a family secret to this day. Just add water, butter and an egg. 2 lb. 1 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.853 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
72 of 75(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
Review 1 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fleurfairy
Upstate NY
March 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy
March 13, 2014
I made waffles with this mix using my All-Clad waffle maker. Couldn't have been easier. The waffles came out perfectly golden and the taste was delicious. Sweet enough to eat with just butter, but I did add pure maple syrup on top. Another winner from WS.
Review 2 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great basic mix
July 26, 2013
I like this because it allows you to get creative. It's great plain, but you can add fruits and extracts and jazz it up too.
Review 3 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LacyL
,St Petersburg
,FL
St. Petersburg, FL
April 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy and Delicious
April 18, 2013
We use this for special breakfast mornings and it reminds me of my mom making pancakes and waffles long ago. It's my husband's favorite. I even sent some to friends in France, who rate it right up there with French crepes! Personally, I like the waffles better!
Review 4 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvshats
,Boonies
,WI
April 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pancake mix!
April 1, 2013
I rarely like pancakes, even in restaurants. Haven't made them at home in years. These were fantastic. Won't ever use any other mix ever again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 5 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barb13
,Wayne
,NJ
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Waffle Mix
March 28, 2013
Makes the lightest, fluffiest waffles ever. Will never buy anything else
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 6 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3DogMom
,Hinsdale
,IL
March 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Waffles
March 18, 2013
I have been using this waffle mix for as long as I can remember. It makes the BEST waffles. . .great malted flavor.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dgtldemn
,Astoria
,NY
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Waffle mix
January 2, 2013
I've used this waffle mix before and it is so light and fluffy and really really good. When I cook with it, I usually add chocolate chips to make chocolate chip waffles. Very good taste and easy to work with.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 8 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RCYT
,East bay area
,CA
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent waffle mix
September 4, 2012
Love this waffle mix over other brands and from other stores. Very fluffy and crispy. Will buy more.
Review 9 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
famousone
,Hebron
,KY
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Malted waffles
January 11, 2012
This mix has a very good flavor. My husband bought it for me for Hanukkah (along w a new waffle iron). I didn't think a mix could make that much of difference but it sure does. I don't think i'll be using regular ol' store brand waffle mix anymore!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
countrygal
,Fredericktown
,OH
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievably good waffles & pancakes!
January 5, 2012
Once I tried this mix, I gave up on ever buying any other kind. This mix is so superior that you wonder why you ever ate those clumpy lumpy kind! These are smooth and delicious. I like it so much, I bought two more for my sisters.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keylimerachel
,Naples
,FL
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Yummy!!!
January 4, 2012
This waffle mix is excellent! Be sure to add a little extra vanilla and beat the egg whites as indicated! You can cut back on the butter ... it doesn't make much difference, and saves a TON of calories! Enjoy!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 12 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redjam
,Dallas
,TX
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mmmmmmm. Best I've had.
December 30, 2011
This is a great mix, period. Great malted flavor and, with my waffle maker, a nice fluffy and crispy texture. I have also made it for out-of-town guests who love the whole experience and taste.
The mix does make sweet waffles - much like the waffle cones in ice cream shops; and the taste is delicious.
It was noted by another reviewer that the nutrition was less than stellar, but heck - these are waffles we are talking about, not vegetable smoothies. Most of the "bad" stuff comes from eggs and butter which you could ostensibly replace with alternatives. I won't though - just an extra 30 minute jog...
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
reston
Reston, Va
December 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-17points
1of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tastes good, but high in saturated fat
December 1, 2011
Find out the nutritional values before buying. Prepared, this waffle mix is 29 percent of the saturated fat one is to eat in a day. Wow! That is unbelievable. And, the cholesterol is 29%, as well. Sodium is 20 percent. If you don't care about these figures (or your figure, ha!), then eat away. But, I do, so, I'll stay away.
Pros: Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy, Ingredients, high sat fat, high cholesterol
Review 14 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mlherriman
,Tomball
,TX
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best I've Tried
November 27, 2011
I use the mix for waffles. In my search for perfection, I have tried everything from mixes to receipes from all over. This is by far the best and easiest I have had, well worth the price.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 15 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Now i know what the fuss is all about
November 6, 2011
I've been buying W&S pancake mixes for over 8 yrs. My favourite was the Strawberry (please bring it back!), until I tried this. I was actually in a W&S store on a visit to the States and was looking for a flavoured mix when the lady in the shop was just starting to restock this one. She told me they can't keep up with demand for it as it sells out all the time. I was thinking how can a plain pancake mix be that good? But her sales pitch convinced me, I tried it and I'm blown away.
They are so light and fluffy. The taste is hard to describe, it's just a darn good pancake with a lovely consistency that works great with maple syrup. You don't have to pour on loads for it to be soaked up by the pancakes.
Don't hesitate to get your hands on this mix!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 16 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu
,Asheville
,NC
Asheville, NC
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent flour
October 19, 2011
I have tried all of the various flavored waffle mixes/flour from W-S and this is still my favorite. It's a thicker batter which makes your waffles extra fluffy. I use my All-Clad round waffle maker on the "5" setting and they are nice and crispy on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. Yum! Can't beat this!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Healthy
Review 17 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kacee
,IL
October 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tasting waffles!
October 5, 2011
My family loves these waffles....my youngest boy says these are the best waffles ever.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 18 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovesthekitchens
September 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
September 27, 2011
The Golden Malted Flour makes the best pancakes! They are not overly thick, they're slightly sweet and the outsides get crispy while the center stays soft. I have never tasted anything like this! I received this as a gift and I love it. Highly recommended for a special treat!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leepers
alexandria, va
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WAFFLES SO GOOD IT MADE ME SCREAM
September 7, 2011
I made waffles using this mix (sometimes added buttermilk, sour cream, or coconut milk: the best) in my new All-Clad Belgian waffle maker. The waffles were so DEEEELISH! I will purchase different brands of waffle mixes from this company.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 20 for Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JKB1
Brighton, MI
September 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Calling all waffle makers
September 4, 2011
My girls absolutely love this mix for waffles & pancakes! Not that Bisquick is not good. But they sure can tell the difference between the two and always prefer Golden Malted Pancake & Waffle Mix . Kids tested, mother approved!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
page1 2 3 4 next