Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku

Global's award-winning knives are made to the exacting standards of Japanese professional chefs. A versatile knife for chopping and slicing, the santoku combines the benefits of a cleaver and a chef's knife. Indentations on the blade edge reduce drag and minimize sticking. Blade is hand forged of exceptionally hard Cromova 18 high-carbon stainless steel, ice tempered and hardened to resist corrosion. Prominent 1/4" edge is visible to the naked eye and ground straight to a point rather than beveled resulting in impressive sharpness and edge retention. Hollow-ground indentations along the blade increase efficiency and decrease sticking. Stainless-steel handle is seamlessly constructed and textured for a good grip. Crafted to professional standards, this knife is lightweight yet perfectly balanced.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
Review 1 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzin
,Cleveland
,OH
Outside of Cleveland Ohio
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp in more ways than one!
September 22, 2013
This knife is beautiful to look at and a dream to use. I used to use an 8" and 10" Chefs knife for all my chopping, slicing and dicing NO LONGER! This is my go to knife for everything. So comfortable and less dangerous than a cumbersome Chefs knife. My daughter bought me mine. I bought this one as a House Warming Gift. The recipient agrees with my opinion and this is now his "GO to Knife" I fully recommend this knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelrrific
St. Louis, MO
July 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
July 30, 2011
I reached a point of wanting to have good knives and this was my first pick. It is wonderful - not too heavy, very sharp and I can use it for everything.
Review 3 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paddy17
Alabama
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knives
February 21, 2011
Another great addition to our Global Knives. Have now also added the knife strip to the wall and looks great.
Review 4 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zaphelps
Buffalo, NY
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Total sucess!
March 22, 2010
I bought this for my son who is an excellent cook. He was thrilled with it. Whatever you are cutting falls away from the blade so you get a clean cut every time.
Review 5 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ELPESCADOR
Houston, TX
February 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stop! You Found the Perfect Knife!
February 11, 2010
This is it...this knife is perfect. It feels great in the hand; is verstile; and is very sharp. Whether you are looking for just one knife or something new to add to your collection, I highly recommend this knife.
Review 6 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beniboy822
Cary, IL
October 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Knife!!
October 26, 2009
I bought this chef's knife two years ago at the Algonquin, IL store and it's been great ever since. I use it at culinary school and work everyday, and it has grown to become literally an extension of my hands!!
The comfortable hollow-handle grip fits perfectly in my hand, and the sand within the grip provides a steady/fluid rocking motion when prepping any/all ingredients. The overall light weight of the knife gives it an edge over its heavier Shun and Wüsthof cousins of the same size, and the near paper-thin egde has been carefully created to keep it crazy sharp!!
The seemless, hollow handle also throws out the need to have a full bolster handle, which is somewhat unweildly and causes sanitation issues. Food particles won't get trapped in the smooth contours of Global knives, which is something I was looking from the start. I highly recommend this knife for anyone out there, amateur or professional, who takes their cutlery seriously and wants to have only the best!! 8-)
Review 7 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breadhead
Saint Louis
May 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The work horse
May 2, 2009
I got this knife as gift for my husband who is a weekend cook. I use the knife the rest of the week. I am such a talented gift giver.
Anyhow, this is such a light weight, sharp and low maintenance knife. If you are only going to buy one knife than this should it. Do get a stone for sharpening, learn to use it properly and this will be the last knife you buy.
Review 8 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VespaGir
New York City area
April 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knife, best brand
April 19, 2009
After reading Anthony Bourdain' books, I took a deep breath and invested in a set of Global knives. Then I bought birthday presents for all my family, and they were popular gifts in a family of good cooks. They are great knives, and this Santoku is the best of the best. This knife is like an extension of my hand; the weght is just right. It handles many tasks with ease.
Review 9 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
biggie
chicago
March 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knife for anything
March 9, 2009
This was recommended over and over by a WS cooking school teacher. I read reviews online and decided to try it. I LOVE it. Way better then my Wus...knives (which r good, but not this good). The wood on other knives make the unsanitary if not cared for, it also makes them not apprpriate for dishwashing &/or buy a sharpener.
My Glodal has been through the washer almost everyday since I bought it (3yrs). I pull it out and everyone takes cover--it gleams sharpness! If you can't dishwash a wood knife then it's not going to be clean enough, and if on top of the fact that it's not REALLY clean and it still dulls, it's garbage.
Get a Glodal: it's sanitary, long lasting, and if directly pointed at others, will make everyone say your meal was very good :)
Review 10 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djdb
Seattle, WA
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife
February 5, 2009
We recieved this knife from a friend of our as a gift, love it. We purchased it and the Global boneing knife for a wedding gift for our niece. Hopefully she will like it as much as we do.
Review 11 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gingerbella
Columbus
December 31, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knife Ever
December 31, 2008
I use this knife everyday, several times a day. I use it mainly to chop vegetables and herbs. It's awesome! I highly recommend it.
Review 12 for Global Classic 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome
Toronto, CA
December 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Good Knife for a Serious Casual Cook
December 19, 2008
I bought this knife to be my first decent "starter knife". Overall, it is a very lightweight, sharp, and nice looking knife. My only complaints would be how easily marks have appeared on it, but as it is still my first knife, I'm not making a big fuss about it. The edge is still razor sharp, even though I've been basically testing my sharpening techniques on it. I would highly recommend this knife to any careful person who wants to get into cooking, or who already has a strong interest.