Global Classic Chef's Knife

Made to the exacting standards of Japanese professional chefs, Global's award-winning knives are an excellent choice for the discerning home cook. This chef's knife's long razor-sharp blade is suited to virtually any cutting task, from dicing vegetables to quartering a chicken.Blade is hand forged of exceptionally hard Cromova 18 high-carbon stainless steel, ice tempered and hardened to resist corrosion.Prominent 1/4" edge is visible to the naked eye and ground straight to a point rather than beveled resulting in impressive sharpness and edge retention.Stainless-steel handle is seamlessly constructed and textured for a good grip.Crafted to professional standards, this knife is lightweight yet perfectly balanced.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
27 of 27(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Global Classic Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamales4dinner
,Somerset
,Nj
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I give them as gifts!
March 26, 2013
Not only are they my favorite knives, but I give them as birthday gifts, wedding gifts, etc., and create grateful users everywhere. They feel great in my hand, and I find myself doing things in my prep work I have never tried before. A friend's son was selling a well known knife brand, and even she admitted Global was the better knife! My personal favorites are the Santuko and the smaller chef's knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile
Review 2 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchToys
,Rochester
,mn
July 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They scratch easily
July 22, 2012
I LOVE my Globals. Have had them about 2 months and it is a delight, with my small hands, to use a balanced knife. When I attempted to get a piece of dried food off of one knife using a soft scrub pad, it left scratches in the finish. FYI.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: scratches easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
roger2867
Posted March 9, 2013
no wonder
You dont use a scrubby on a global knife.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CulStudent
,Southport
,NC
North Carolina
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Global Chef's Knife
October 10, 2011
This is a wonderful tool. The weight and balance of the knife make it easy to work for long periods.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VikiInSD
San Diego, CA
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-30points
0of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does wear out over time.
July 18, 2011
We bought this knife about 3 or 4 years ago. And it worked great for quite a while. It has now turned quite dull and we need to get it sharpened, which is expected of all knives, but it's somewhat disappointing now that it isn't as sharp as it once was. Becareful, it is REALLY sharp in the beginning, it cut a few slivers off our cutting board. My only con would be that it didn't stay sharp! :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
amarsh
Tucson, AZ
Posted September 12, 2011
Proper knife care
All knives get dull, that's what happens every time you use it. A knife of this quality should be honed both before, after, and during long prep times to keep the edge straight. Real chefs keep a honing steel on there prep table at all times. This is the first step to keeping an edge on a knife. If the edge has deteriorated to the point that more than 10 passes on a steel wont sharpen it, then the knife should be sharpened on a stone. These knives will last as long as you want with proper care. Knives are not meant to stay sharp for years on end without and care. hope this helps keep your beautiful global knife sharp
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GGVega
April 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Knife for your kitchen
April 26, 2011
I am a big fan of Global knives! My Exec Chef introduce me to this and I am using them for my personal use.
Having a perfect knife makes cooking easier and fun
Global knives are light, sharp and very manageable
Review 6 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ghatool
denver, co
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
March 9, 2011
The design is very different from most knives but the beauty and sharpness are great. Can't quite say how the edge will hold but so far so good.
Review 7 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smoke
Naples, Fl
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Handel
March 9, 2011
fits a small hand well, easy to manipulate in everyday cooking, & a great blade too..
Review 8 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaulaO
Charlottesville, VA
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super sharp and well-made
December 21, 2010
I love this knife! I've used several types in the past, and many handles were so bulky that my knuckles would hit the board while chopping - not ideal! This knife is quite functional, and for the price, it exceeds my expectations.
Review 9 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefChristopher
bradley IL
May 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SHARP Knife!!!!!!!
May 11, 2010
I use global knives and I love using them..The knives are super sharp and it makes your job easier....this knife is also light and flexible so you can do a lot of cutting with it....HAVE FUN but be careful...
Review 10 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anniebdc
Washington, DC
May 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Global 8" Chefs Knife
May 7, 2010
This knife is super lightweight and easy to handle. I think it has a good balance and the blade fits well in my hand.
Review 11 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BevWo
Atlanta, GA
February 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One Knife Has Taken Over My Kitchen
February 25, 2010
My daughter and her boyfriend originally bought this Global knife and raved over it; gave us one at Christmas. Now I understand the raving! This knife alone has taken over my kitchen. The sharpness is superior, and the 'balance' is brilliant. Highly recommend!
Review 12 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
m61376
NY
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Global makes superior knives
February 23, 2010
Global knives are, in my opinion, the best ones out there. I like the angle/sharpness of the Japanese knives better than the German ones (Wusthof, etc.) and have used the top lines of several of the companies. I've been replacing most of my others with the Global ones.
Not only do the blades stay very sharp, I find the weighting and shifting balance because of the sand in the handle to be very comfortable.
They are easy to hold, easy to use and easy to care for. I think the Shun knives have a similar blade quality wrt sharpness, but you need to dry them or they will rust. I just let my Globals air dry.
I also prefer the balance and grip on the Globals to the Shuns, but that's a matter of preference.
Review 13 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lvcat2004
Las Vegas, NV
January 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best for the price
January 10, 2010
this is THE best knife you can get for the price. I have a set of German Solingen knives and this Global puts them to shame.
The only knife that is sharper than this is Kyocera ceramic knife, but then it costs twice as much and they are more delicate.
Cannot go wrong with this knife.
Review 14 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daniela11
Richmond Hill, Ontario
January 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best knife
January 5, 2010
After searching the internet for a good knife I decided to buy the Global chef's knife from WS in Ontario. Both my husband and I use it and we are amazed how sharp and light the knife is. Tomorrow I am going to buy the 3 set from WS. I am very excited about the Global knives and can't wait to use them all.
Review 15 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vikingfan
Central Kentucky
December 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife
December 20, 2009
This knife is better then any knife I have, even my Henckels Professional S set. I would recommend this knife to anyone needing a top notch SHARP knife.
Review 16 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IronChefIndiana
Bloomington, IN
December 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best knife...EVER!
December 17, 2009
Three words... effortless, comfortable, sharp!
The knife is very well balanced and feels very comfortable and natural in my hand. I've read other reviews saying that people with larger hands have a hard time properly holding the knife, but that is not the case for me. Both my girlfriend and I use the knife daily without problem. I would suggest that you go and hold the knife as well as other brands to be sure the fit is perfect. It was for me!
Very easy to clean with hot water and dish soap, especially since the knife is one solid piece of metal. I don't have to worry about dirt traps or cross contamination.
From veggies to meats and everything in between, this knife does it all. I look forward to my next Global purchase!
Review 17 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ritchie
chicago, il
October 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
like a hot knife through butter
October 12, 2009
i am partial toward german cutlery because of the styles weight, but once i used global's chef knife's wonderfully balanced blade with its ergonomically perfect handle and hair splitting-sharp blade, i was sold. this knife should be a staple in everyhome, everywhere!
Review 18 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shuby
laurence harbor, n.j.
April 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I feel in love at first sight.
April 19, 2009
These knifes are beautiful to look at and a pleasure to use. there sleek lines make them very easy to clean and dry. they are well balanced and feel wonderful in the hand,the dots make for a sure grip even when hands are wet. i have purchased many global knifes in the past years and have displayed them proudly.
Review 19 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brion
Los Angeles, Ca
March 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp but delicate edge.
March 1, 2009
Purchased as an all around kitchen knife based on the utilitarian description in the catalog. The blade is sharp, with the tang broadened and dimpled to serve as an elegant handle. The knife is lightweight and feels good in the hand. It is not up to the task of rendering a chicken however, as the catalog states. I chipped my blade first time out doing that.
Review 20 for Global Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAX2015
Dallas, TX
January 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Amazing!
January 24, 2009
A good sharp knife makes cooking so much more fun and easy. This is that knife. The handle is comfortable in the hand and the blade is so sharp it effortlessly cuts through food. I have seen many television chefs use this knife and now I know why. Japanese knives have distinct differences from German knives so be sure to read the enclosed manual on how to care for the knife. This knife will last you a lifetime if cared for properly.
page1 2 next