Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set

Professional cooks worldwide praise Global cutlery for its perfect balance, light weight and seamless construction. The knives are forged by hand in Japan, using stainless steel that is hardened in a process inspired by the crafting of ancient samurai swords. Set includes a 3 1/2" paring knife, a 5 1/4" utility knife and a 7" hollow-ground santoku. Blades are made of exceptionally hard Cromova 18 high-carbon stainless steel, ice tempered and hardened to resist corrosion. Prominent 1/4" edges are visible to the naked eye and ground straight to a point rather than beveled, resulting in impressive sharpness and edge retention. Crafted to professional standards, these knives are lightweight yet perfectly balanced. Stainless-steel handles are seamlessly constructed and textured for a good grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
Review 1 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beetle1bailey
,Muncy
,pa
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super-Sharp & Great Feel
December 29, 2011
These knives have an amazing feel in your hand. I bought them after carefully considering Shun and Wustoff brands. Be careful! (I know, obvious right?) These knives came razor sharp from tip to tail. I would recommend going to the store and holding one of the larger chef or santoku knives in your hand before buying though, as they have a distinct feel from other knives that are not constructed from one piece. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AnnWT
Asheville
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
13of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easily Broken
February 15, 2011
We traded in our knives that we received for our wedding registry for 4 Global knives and the storing block. We have thoroughly enjoyed them over the last 6 months, but we recently discovered the downside. The paring knife was accidentally dropped from about 2 feet and broke right in half. It fell on linoleum, and a knife that costs this much should not break that easily. We are having a hard time getting it replaced, and we found strange disclaimers about breaking knives on the Global website. There are lots of other great knives out there, and I think we will invest elsewhere.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
experiment1776
naples, Fl
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic knife
January 23, 2011
Balanced and holds an edge well. Comfortable. Where function and aesthetics meet!
Review 4 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyField
Sacramento, CA
December 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love my new knives!
December 4, 2009
I decided this is the Christmas I am getting new kitchen knives. I did my research, read everyone's reviews - then headed down to Williams-Sonoma. Woo Woo! They were even on sale! We couldn't be happier with our set of 3 Global knives. I had been using the same knives that I received as a wedding gift as a young woman, so I use things for a long time - this will do it for me for the rest of my life. Thank you for this wonderful quality product - on sale!
Review 5 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gege
Walterboro, SC
November 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How to wow your son at Christmas
November 11, 2009
My son is an excellent cook and has 1 of the global knives in his kitchen. This one was purchased in Memphis where he and his wife spent a month as she looked at schools for her residency. He needed a good all round knife as he prepared most of the meals. He was so impressed with this knife that his goal to have an entire set within the next few years. I trust Williams-Sonoma and this set will be the best Christmas present so far. The knives meet his need for all round cooking and will not fail him when he feeds the family
Review 6 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATLcook
Atlanta, GA
May 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! These knives are amazing
May 28, 2009
I am SOOOOOOOOO happy I finally spent the money on these knives. They're phenomenal. The chef's knife cut through a watermelon like butter. Unreal. I'm going to donate my old block set of 10 useless knives - these and a bread knife are all I need! Even as a serious home cook.
Review 7 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAC3193
Fayetteville, NC
April 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife Value!
April 1, 2009
I bought these knives to replace my original Global knives that were stolen. The knives are well-balanced, and I especially like that they are one piece, without a handle that can crack or hold onto food particles.
Review 8 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AuntieAl
Emeryville, cA
February 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best knifes I have ever used
February 25, 2009
I love these knives. They are well balanced, comfortable, but very light weight.
Review 9 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nbbreaux
Lafayette, LA
February 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knives
February 4, 2009
These knives are great! They are all one piece and stay sharp for a long time. I wouldn't use any other brand.
Review 10 for Global Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAX2015
Dallas, TX
December 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best knives on the market
December 27, 2008
These knives are comfortable in the hand and super sharp. They are very well designed and because of the sharp blade almost no effort is required to cut, chop and slice. Be careful when drying the knives after washing because the sharp blades will slice through your towel. This set is all you need in addition to a good serrated knife.