Glass Canisters

Like vintage shopkeeper's jars, our clear glass canisters keep ingredients visible in neat alignment on a countertop or shelf. Their wide openings allow easy scooping, and airtight stainless-steel lids help maintain freshness.Made from thick mouthblown glass.Stainless-steel lids are topped with easy-to-grasp knobs.Airtight PVC seals lock in freshness and flavor and lock out moisture.Clear canisters let you find ingredients quickly and keep tabs on your supply.Wide mouths simplify filling, scooping and pouring.Available individually or as a special set of three that includes one each of the small, medium and large canisters.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Glass Canisters
Review 1 for Glass Canisters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cosmc
,Coral Gables
,Fl
September 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
glass canister lids
September 13, 2014
I ordered these and was so excited to get them because I had read the reviews about how great they are. I just got them and yes, they are great. The quality is wonderful and they are very nice looking. The problem with them is the finishing on the lids. They are well made but poorly finished. I had read a couple of reviews that stated that the lids tarnish...they do not tarnish, they rust. It's chrome plated metal. But the chrome plating seems to be done after they are completed and therefore not fully plated so some of them have rust spots along the very edge. Williams-Sonoma is sending me a replacement.
Pros: Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: the quality of the finish on the lids
Review 2 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avadel
,Boston
,MA
July 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Canisters
July 16, 2014
Very good quality, I have had these canisters for about 5 years. They still look good and the lids have not tarnished even after a pressure cooker boiled over and tarnished another cannister lid that was near by.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Review 3 for Glass Canisters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scoobiemama
,Henderson
,NV
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, but need muscle for the lids
May 20, 2014
I ordered three of the medium sized canisters. I love, love, love the look of them. However, you need to be a very strong person to remove the lids. To rectify this, i used an x-acto knife to trim about 1/4 of an inch off the rubber ring inside. "Walla"!! That did it. They still have a great seal and now I can lift them with one hand (instead of taking a deep breath and pulling as hard as I can to get the darn thing off). Otherwise, I would have given them five stars.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nancyrh
,Rockwall
,tx
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these canisters
October 22, 2013
I like the fact that these glass canisters have a seal so things stay fresh. I love the look.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kbeth83
,Marysville
,WA
October 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Product
October 18, 2013
I love the sturdiness of these canisters. They are well made, and I have drooped them a few times, and they are still in one piece, with no chips. They hold a lot, and they make my kitchen look amazing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Weight
Review 6 for Glass Canisters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DiSK
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Its all about the lid
February 5, 2013
This set is nice looking, but not functional. The lids are very difficult to remove. I received one set for a gift that had defective lid seals. As another customer wrote, the lids do tarnish. I would pass on this set.
Cons: Quality, durability, Assembly
Review 7 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRBH
,South Central Pennsylvania
,Pa
pennsylvania
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Fantastic
January 11, 2013
I have wanted this set of canisters for some time and I finally broke down and ordered them. WOW, am I ever glad that I did. The glass is very nice thickness and the lids are going to be airtight. I'll be able to use these in my pantry for storage or on my countertop. I'm very happy with my purchase. They are a little pricey but I guess overall they are worth it.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COOKinNYC
,New York City
,NY
November 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful classics
November 20, 2012
I love these canisters in my old-fashioned kitchen. They're beautiful on the countertop. They have a great air-tight seal on them. I was surprised to find them about twice as large as I had pictured; be sure to measure for your space!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: Weight, Size
Review 9 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SKCfromVA
,Great Falls
,VA
October 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A real treat for you and your kitchen
October 31, 2012
After years of storing my grains , flours and sugars in plastic storage containers - I finally treated my self to these amazing glass canisters. They are beautiful, healthy and practical. The lids have a seal to keep things air tight. I love them so much , I no longer keep them in my pantry but on my counter. They look beautiful. The wide mouth one is great for oatmeal, brown sugar and as a cookie jar. You should carry these in the stores!
Pros: Quality, Design
Review 10 for Glass Canisters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
45thParallelQuilter
,Traverse City
,MI
October 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for storage but ....
October 30, 2012
I bought a number of these jar sets and, for the most part, am very happy with them. They hold a lot, are substantial and look GREAT on the counter and in my pantry (use them for bulk food items). However, the lids do "tarnish" a bit over time and the plastic insert to cause them to "seal" weakens after awhile. Despite these "cons" I would recommend these to anyone who is looking for good kitchen storage jars.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Versatile, Weight, Appearance
Cons: lid quality
Review 11 for Glass Canisters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
frostipuff
Northeast
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful at first — still a good value
October 7, 2012
I have had three of the small canisters for 3.5 years now. They look beautiful on the counter, but over time, the stainless tops have discolored slightly, taking on a yellowish-gold patina. Also, one lid's knob has become loose, which no amount of adjusting under the lid has resolved (afraid I will strip the threads with too much fiddling and ruin it); the knob has remained in place, but it wiggles when I remove the lid from the canister. As for the less-shiny-appearance, I suppose I could try using some Maas Polishing Creme on the lids, but W-S Use & Care tab says only "hand wash."
The glass has a nice weight. The bottoms are easy to clean, and I use only a soft cloth to dust and buff the lids, which are airtight—keeping the items I place inside fresh and dry, whether it's tea bags, pet treats, or flour/sugar. The lids *are* fingerprint magnets, so be prepared to do some occasional buffing.
Overall, these canisters are attractive, utilitarian and not a bad value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 12 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PLopez
,Houston
,TX
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and Functional....
September 4, 2012
I bought 3 of the wide mouth canisters. These are perfect. The opening is large enough for easy scooping with my measuring cups. They are really sturdy with an airtight lid thats seals tight but not so tight that I have to fight to get it off. It holds a really good amount of sugar or flour (or whatever you choose), I would say at least a 3 lb bag. The glass is good quality but light enough where they're not going to break your back after they're filled. Overall a really good buy, I'm super pleased with them. They did smell a little funky when I first recieved them but after a thorough wash they were perfectly fine.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tana
,Ames
,IA
Ames, Iowa
August 29, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent form and function
August 29, 2012
I have the wide mouth canister; not only is it beautiful, it holds a lot of cookies that stay fresh longer. We have a B&B and like to have treats in the evening when guests arrive. My husband likes it because the cookies look so appetizing in the jar. I am going to order another one so I can have two choices of cookies out on my buffet. May be I'll get for my home, too. I think it is of high quality, and I am pretty picky!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 14 for Glass Canisters
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jscofslc
,Salt Lake City
,UT
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful to look at but terrible quality!
August 21, 2012
I bought 1 large and 1 medium to keep flour and sugar on my marble countertops. They look amazing but the large on already has a huge crack in it and the medium has chips all around the lid which leads me to believe that it has contaminated my sugar with glass shards. These canisters do nothing but sit on my countertops and I scoop flour/sugar out with a measuring cup. Love the design but VERY DISAPPOINTED with the quality. :(
Pros: nice aesthetic
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
hollydog
MD
Posted March 29, 2013
crack and fracture in rim
I agree. I have had these canisters for several years, but after being away for a few days, I came home, and started a baking project. Upon lifting off the lid, I found a rather long crack from the rim down about 2 inches and a fracture at the rim. No one used this canister. My guess is this is some kind of a stress crack. I am very disappointed. Since it has been a few years, I doubt if I could match the glass and lid with a new purchase. I do not think I even want to try.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Glass Canisters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Elzbeth
,NC
August 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attractive but defective - twice
August 18, 2012
The canister set is very attractive and could be functional, if not for defects in the glass. The first set had chipped rough spots in the interior of the glass, the replacement canisters had exterior scratches and indentations in the glass where the glass was poorly made. Such a disappointment and well below Williams-Sonoma's typical level of quality. Not a good value for the price.
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality
Review 16 for Glass Canisters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatieV
,Eagle River
,WI
July 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks great on the countertop!
July 18, 2012
I ordered two of the wide mouth versions of these glass canisters. I am very happy with them. I keep my all-purpose flour in one and my cane sugar in the other. The mouths are big enough to accommodate a large scoop or a 2-cup measure, which is very handy when one is baking. The lids are quite secure and nd they look great! I like that one is able to see the contents easily, though I wouldn't use them to store anything needing cool dark storage, obviously! But I may order a couple more for rice and beans. I cook both frequently and, therefore, there is minimal risk for spoilage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 17 for Glass Canisters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JohnPCola
,Pensacola
,FL
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible smell
June 26, 2012
Made in India. Poor quality. Terrible smell. Immediately returned. Stay away.
Cons: Quality, smell, Assembly
Review 18 for Glass Canisters
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobetta
March 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smells bad
March 3, 2012
Bought the single wide mouth canister first and love it. Bought the set of three -not in love anymore. Glass quality not consistent between the three canisters and plastic seals smell bad..
Cons: smell
Review 19 for Glass Canisters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kev78
,San Francisco
,CA
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusty Lid on canister
February 17, 2012
I had this canister sent as a gift to my mother. It arrived with rust on the lid! My mom described it as looking almost as if it had been used...I am very disappointed with this purchase and expect much more from a company like Williams Sonoma.