This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl

Indispensable for entertaining, this handblown glass plate offers more than just an elegant way to present cakes, pies and tarts—it also doubles as a grand punch bowl. Turn the domed cover upside down on the inverted pedestal base to create a generous 6 1/2-qt. serving bowl. Holds desserts up to 9" in diameter. We recommend washing by hand. 12 3/4" diam., 11 1/4" high. Made in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
22 of 26(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
Review 21 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsMatthewH
,Nashville
,TN
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great product, great price!
January 4, 2013
Just received this product, I was wanting to register for it, but since it's "limited" I was unable to do so. At the price, I just had to have it! The glass is very "thick" so I feel like it will be very sturdy. Early wedding present to myself. Yes, it isn't perfectly smooth glass all the way around the dome, but I really had to look for the very minor flaws. But still, I am very pleased with the product, and it already has a residential spot on my counter. Highly recommend, especially for the price!
Pros: adorable, affordable, heavy glass
Cons: not perfectly smooth
Review 22 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WilliamsSonomaTNGirl
,Gallatin
,TN
February 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful on the counter
February 13, 2013
I am a huge fan of Williams- Sonoma. I purchased this for its practicality and beauty. I had it monogrammed with an H and lucky for me the H is the same upside down, so I do not have an issue when it is used as a punch bowl! I placed this on my counter and set fresh fruit in it based off the recommendation of another review. However, be careful as the fruit needs to breathe and leaves a film on the glass. Additionally, I did find a few dimples in the glass as stated in a review I read. However, for the price it is a great purchase!
Pros: function, love the fact you can monogram, wide mouth, heavy/sturdy base
Cons: dimples in the glass, monogram not perfectly centered heigth-wise
Review 23 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TMarty
,Jackson
,MS
January 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Better without monogram
January 31, 2013
The cake plate itself is really nice. I read a lot of the reviews before I purchased and they were all true. I just wish someone had told me that the monogram option is not a good one. I recently got married, so I thought it'd be nice to add a monogram. The monogramming is tiny. So small, that everytime I show someone the cake plate, they ask where the monogram is. It's just too small for the size of the plate. If I could figure out a way to remove the monogram, I would. For now, I'll just be embarassed that I ruined such a nice cake plate with a terrible monogram.
Pros: heavy and solid
Cons: monogram too small
Review 24 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDixon
,Encinitas
,CA
January 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't wait to entertain with this!
January 21, 2013
I love that this is so functional and can be used to entertain in 2 different ways. It's not often that I need a punch bowl, but it's one of those items that is great to have. I justified the purchase by knowing that when I'm not using the punch bowl, I can happily display other treats. :)
BTW- I read a bunch of reviews before purchasing. Looks like a while back there were manufacturing defects and some thought it looked cheap. I thoroughly inspected mine and don't see that at all. Perhaps they've since fixed it. It also isn't made of hazy glassy as one said. LOVE!
Pros: functional, well-made, beautiful
Review 25 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shellybelle
May 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
great idea, but poor quality
May 15, 2012
My brother and SIL had one of these several years ago and loved how versatile it was, so I was excited to order it as a wedding gift. It came today, and as soon as I took it out of the box I noticed some flaws on the top of the dome. They look like wrinkles or smears in the glass. On closer inspection I noticed a crack near the top handle. This may have happened during shipping. Another possibility is when I was trying to take it out of the box the two parts banged against each other somewhat, but it would seem that this product was too delicate if a crack were to happen as a result of that. I am disappointed with this product.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Shearwes
Birmingham, AL
Posted August 20, 2012
Mine too
Mine has a chip on the edge of the glass. Have you tried exchanging yours? I'm going to try taking mine in the store. Good luck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JHeartsJ
,Chicago
,IL
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
The good and the bad...
February 4, 2012
Just received this cake plate as a wedding gift and loved the durability, thickness of the glass, and weight of the product.
HOWEVER, I was disappointed in the workmanship of the base portion- you can see where the glue was unevenly applied to hold the base to the plate. There are bubbles and it just looks like someone haphazardly glued the two components together!
Hopefully, W-S will be willing to exchange out that portion for another one as it is visually unappealing!
I will definitely use this for storing cakes and desserts. I'm not too fond of how it looks as a punch bowl as visually it is unbalanced. I think this product would be better marketed as a cake stand/plate as opposed to the additional punch bowl feature. Just my thoughts! :)
Pros: Durable, Weight
Cons: Quality
prevpage 1 2