This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl

Indispensable for entertaining, this handblown glass plate offers more than just an elegant way to present cakes, pies and tarts—it also doubles as a grand punch bowl. Turn the domed cover upside down on the inverted pedestal base to create a generous 6 1/2-qt. serving bowl. Holds desserts up to 9" in diameter. We recommend washing by hand. 12 3/4" diam., 11 1/4" high. Made in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
127 of 138(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
Review 1 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WilliamsSonomaTNGirl
,Gallatin
,TN
February 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful on the counter
February 13, 2013
I am a huge fan of Williams- Sonoma. I purchased this for its practicality and beauty. I had it monogrammed with an H and lucky for me the H is the same upside down, so I do not have an issue when it is used as a punch bowl! I placed this on my counter and set fresh fruit in it based off the recommendation of another review. However, be careful as the fruit needs to breathe and leaves a film on the glass. Additionally, I did find a few dimples in the glass as stated in a review I read. However, for the price it is a great purchase!
Pros: function, love the fact you can monogram, wide mouth, heavy/sturdy base
Cons: dimples in the glass, monogram not perfectly centered heigth-wise
Review 2 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GMALALA
,Sparks
,NV
February 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Great Deal But Heavy
February 6, 2013
This item is a really good deal for the price - especially when it's on sale. It's very weighty, however, which makes hand washing the dome a bit awkward. I love that it converts to a punch bowl.
Pros: Versatile, economical
Cons: heavy
Review 3 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chata33
February 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Haven't use it yet
February 6, 2013
So before I bought this I read some of the reviews and wasn't so sure but I ordered it anyways and I'm so happy I did!!!!!
Quality is great and big enough for a full size cake :)
It's one of my favorite pieces so far :)
Review 4 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attyjulie
,Starkville
,MS
January 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Versatile cake plate!
January 31, 2013
I was very surprised at how heavy and substantial this cake stand is - not fragile at all. It is also a nice large piece. When you flip the bowl over, the top knob fits snugly into the plate stand and becomes a nice punch or trifle bowl. I had mine monogrammed, too - really looks nice. It was delivered very quickly - I am very pleased!!
Pros: Versatile
Review 5 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TMarty
,Jackson
,MS
January 31, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Better without monogram
January 31, 2013
The cake plate itself is really nice. I read a lot of the reviews before I purchased and they were all true. I just wish someone had told me that the monogram option is not a good one. I recently got married, so I thought it'd be nice to add a monogram. The monogramming is tiny. So small, that everytime I show someone the cake plate, they ask where the monogram is. It's just too small for the size of the plate. If I could figure out a way to remove the monogram, I would. For now, I'll just be embarassed that I ruined such a nice cake plate with a terrible monogram.
Pros: heavy and solid
Cons: monogram too small
Review 6 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dorminm
,Valley Forge
,PA
Pennsylvania
January 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Handle with EXTREME care
January 30, 2013
I was very pleased to find and purchase this item. When it arrived, I really liked it. However when I was packing it up to store it in the closet, I lightly bumped the lid on the base. A huge chip came off the base. I was so sad because I had big plans for the cake plate.
Pros: neutral, pretty, useful
Cons: chips very easily
Review 7 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
451HI
,Outside Chicago
,IL
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Domed Cake Plate
January 29, 2013
I received a covered cake plate in the mid 60's. I only recently learned that it is the one item my grown daughters wished they had. After Christmas these domed cake plates went on sale, I purchased one for each of my daughters. They were delighted and could not be happier putting them to use within days.
Pros: not expensive attractive and works perfectly
Cons: none
Review 8 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
janerae
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Versatile.
January 29, 2013
Awesome product! Love it! It's so pretty so I leave it on my table all the time as a centerpiece. When not being used as a cake/dessert plate, I turn the dome upside down and use it as a fruit bowl or for home decor. It can even be used as a trifle bowl. It's like 5 products in one!
Review 9 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzy4528
,Knoxville
,TN
January 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great value
January 22, 2013
Glass is not perfect but very functional....make some cakelets last weekend and displayed them in the cake plate...ordered fruit from Pottery Barn to display on dining table when cake plate is empty...will use for lots of functions...thinking of ordering extras for gifts....Great Purchase
Review 10 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDixon
,Encinitas
,CA
January 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't wait to entertain with this!
January 21, 2013
I love that this is so functional and can be used to entertain in 2 different ways. It's not often that I need a punch bowl, but it's one of those items that is great to have. I justified the purchase by knowing that when I'm not using the punch bowl, I can happily display other treats. :)
BTW- I read a bunch of reviews before purchasing. Looks like a while back there were manufacturing defects and some thought it looked cheap. I thoroughly inspected mine and don't see that at all. Perhaps they've since fixed it. It also isn't made of hazy glassy as one said. LOVE!
Pros: functional, well-made, beautiful
Review 11 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pamelasp
,Lake Mary
,FL
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Dual use... and it works...
January 4, 2013
I wanted something to display cakes/baked goods in. I thought the cake plate was great, but it's even better because it does work as a great punch bowl. You could use the punch bowl to display a lot of different things also. Great, multi-use product!
Pros: multi-use, sturdy
Cons: hard to store
Review 12 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vonjaheavenstreasure
,fort lee
,nj
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
What a great dome!!!!
January 4, 2013
cake.... cookies...cupcakes,,,looks elegant, my kids love eating snack more , lol.
Review 13 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsMatthewH
,Nashville
,TN
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great product, great price!
January 4, 2013
Just received this product, I was wanting to register for it, but since it's "limited" I was unable to do so. At the price, I just had to have it! The glass is very "thick" so I feel like it will be very sturdy. Early wedding present to myself. Yes, it isn't perfectly smooth glass all the way around the dome, but I really had to look for the very minor flaws. But still, I am very pleased with the product, and it already has a residential spot on my counter. Highly recommend, especially for the price!
Pros: adorable, affordable, heavy glass
Cons: not perfectly smooth
Review 14 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radost
,NV
December 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect! Just what I ordered!
December 18, 2012
So glad I took a chance, after reading some of the other reviews, as this is a wonderful product! WOW...for the price...perfect! Very impressed.
Pros: just what i hoped for!
Review 15 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4dogmom
,VA
December 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this!
December 11, 2012
I keep giving this as a gift. Wish someone would give me one. Love the clean simple lines that go with every decor and season. Plus it's so practical!
Pros: Versatile, Easy to Clean, matches everything
Review 16 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndreeaS
,Huntington Beach
,CA
October 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
One of my Favorite Wedding Gifts
October 8, 2012
It is NOT perfectly made, but that said, it's still beautiful AND functional. I've used it for cakes, cookies, cinnamon rolls, and more. I haven't even gotten around to the punchbowl side of it because I love it as a cake stand and decorative piece! It isn't taller than a double layer cake and might smear it if you put the lid on, but the cakes stays fresh when you're trying to store it for later use. LOVE it.
Review 17 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
senibruc
August 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very Disappointed
August 24, 2012
In looking at the product on-line, it looks nice and the price is very affordable. However, when I opened the box, I was very disappointed with the workmanship. The dome has pits in it.. Now I understand why they can sell it so cheaply...poor quality in workmanship. Unfortunatly, I do not see anywhere where WS announces that this product is second class. I just hope that WS will make this right.
Review 18 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Flemington
,NJ
June 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Fantastic!!!
June 6, 2012
Our family uses this item every day as it lives on our island and displays the latest fresh bread and baked goods. It's quite heavy which lends to its ability to keep bread and cakes fresh for days. No need for a bread box or other tupperware container! A great price for such a solid piece.
Review 19 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shellybelle
May 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
great idea, but poor quality
May 15, 2012
My brother and SIL had one of these several years ago and loved how versatile it was, so I was excited to order it as a wedding gift. It came today, and as soon as I took it out of the box I noticed some flaws on the top of the dome. They look like wrinkles or smears in the glass. On closer inspection I noticed a crack near the top handle. This may have happened during shipping. Another possibility is when I was trying to take it out of the box the two parts banged against each other somewhat, but it would seem that this product was too delicate if a crack were to happen as a result of that. I am disappointed with this product.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Shearwes
Birmingham, AL
Posted August 20, 2012
Mine too
Mine has a chip on the edge of the glass. Have you tried exchanging yours? I'm going to try taking mine in the store. Good luck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Glass Domed Cake Plate/Punch Bowl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lizard7763
,atwater
,ca
April 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this cake plate!!!
April 28, 2012
I have been looking for a cake plate for awhile. Didn't find anything I realy liked till I seen this on-line. Read the reviews then I wasn't sure if I wanted to take a chance. Sooo happy I did. Quality is great and I really like the weight. It is heavy,but a good heavy.
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next