Kouignettes, Set of 24

This luscious little dessert is the petite cousin of the kouign amann-a classic "butter cake" from pastry chef Jean Yves Charon's native Brittany. Each combines layers of puff pastry to create a decadent treat with a sweet, buttery center and crisp caramelized sugar coating. Handcrafted in Northern California, the kouignettes are easy to prepare-simply let them rise overnight, then bake and serve. They emerge from the oven with crunchy, sugar-speckled exteriors, tender interiors and an irresistible buttery aroma. 24 pastries (2 lb. 4 oz.). Shipped frozen. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kouignettes, Set of 24
Review 1 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eshel
,brecksville
,oh
January 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
can't eat just one
January 16, 2015
Very light and flakey not real sweet a great size not too big or small. Even better if eaten warm. You do need to think ahead and get them out of the freezer the night before you want to eat them. Not too hard to handle.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 2 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ImaBaker
January 7, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Tasty
January 7, 2015
These were very good. They arrived well frozen, as they are supposed to. Too expensive, but they were very good.
Review 3 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BFoster
,Beaver
,PA
January 3, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
January 3, 2015
I ordered these gems to serve as the sweet item for a brunch. I do not care for traditional cinnamon breakfast rolls and pastries and wanted something more special. These ended up being the item that everyone was talking about! Not too sweet, buttery and flaky...I felt like I was transported to France. The size for a brunch was ideal, although most people had 2! I used cooking spray without issue, but did find that waiting the suggested 5 minutes before removing from the muffin tin was too long, as they stuck a bit. I will most certainly order these again and again!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, delicious
Review 4 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PamN
,Orland Park
,IL
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A real hit with guests
January 2, 2015
I bought these to serve for breakfast, but they said they were dessert. I served them anyway. They were wonderful. Everyone liked them. They were very easy to prepare. I will serve these again for breakfast. I love them. So buttery.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yasminny
,New York City
,NY
December 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciousness to the max
December 21, 2014
I started ordering these pastries a few tears ago when I read about a famous NYC bakery selling French style gourmet confections including the illustrious Kouign Amann. Having tried both WS versions big and small ( kouignettes) I prefer the smaller ones because of portion control and the fact that the kouignettes have more crispy, caramelized surface area. One tip: avoid baking sprays, they burn. Use vegetable or some other flavorless oil. Well done WS!
Pros: Authentic, Decadent
Review 6 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
firepois
,san rafael
,CA
December 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yummylicious
December 19, 2014
There were not very many reviews on this and I generally need more feedback in order to order something. I have tried amann kouigns from a bakery I love and due to the deliciousness of other pastries from Jean-Yves Charon, I banked on these being on the same level. I tried them for the first time this morning and they did not disappoint. They were light with a flakey crunchy buttery outside and a tender inside with just the right amount of sweetness and butteriness. Right out of the oven is just heaven. I'm a believer!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
klftexas
,Conroe
,TX
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste great
October 6, 2014
These are so buttery tasting. My only complaint, which is the same complaint for a lot of the Galaxy products, is that the nutritional value should be on the package. I try to count carbs and it is difficult when I am guessing on the bakery items.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: nutritional value not disclosed
Review 8 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deinara
,Cincinnati
,OH
February 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the Most Wonderful Pastries on Earth
February 7, 2014
These are much tastier than their larger cousins.
Biting into one of these is simply heavenly! I highly recommend them for you very own pleasure or as a gift for special friends.
I would give them 10 stars if I could.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift, simply delicious!!
Cons: not one thing
Review 9 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HaydenLakeKaren
,Hayden Lake
,ID
Hayden Lake, ID
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Treat
December 31, 2013
I have purchased the full sized Kouign Amann several times and thought they were amazing.
I like these even better because they go furher. 24 is better than 8 and they are good sized..The perfect mix of butter and sugar caramelizes to perfection.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 10 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SamsAuntie
,OKC
,OK
September 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite from Galaxy
September 7, 2013
I don't know how they do it, but these are so light and flaky and delicious. Not too sweet, buttery and crispy. So easy to prepare, too! The first time I didn't have a muffin pan so I just put them on a cookie sheet and they were still fantastic, a little like a palmier.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KimBr
,Cleveland
,OH
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
August 25, 2013
These are delicious! The preparation is foolproof, the size is just right and there are plenty per order. I bought other Galaxy Desserts along with these, but the kouignettes are what I came back for! I hope to always have these in my freezer & I cannot imagine ever getting tired of them. They are buttery, not too sweet and I love being able to control when and how I prepare them. Sometimes I put just a touch of salt on them and they are perfection! I don't know what magic was performed on these, but they transcend the simple ingredients!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 12 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our new favorites!
July 26, 2013
We start every morning with WS pastry and tea. We always have 3 or 4 varieties in our freezer. These are slightly sweet and just the right size. You get 24 so it's economical compared to others.
Review 13 for Kouignettes, Set of 24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamasanh
,Emeryville
,CA
Emeryville, CA
June 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Had my doubts...and they proved me wrong!
June 19, 2013
I am a very frequent pastry buyer from W-S and just knew these could not live up to the standard of the full size KA. Man, was I wrong! These were a nice size (larger than the mini versions of other pastries) and well worth the expense. They baked beautifully and tasted even better!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount