Croissonuts, Set of 18

Modeled after the pastry that has taken New York City by storm, our version of the clever hybrid between a croissant and donut makes it easy for you to enjoy the treats at home, piping hot and at their flaky, tender best. Master pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon prepares our Croissonuts by hand using his award-winning croissant dough. In less time than it takes to wait in line for the original, you can deep-fry the pastries, give them quick toss in sugar and discover what the buzz is about. 18 Croissonuts (1 lb. 9 oz. total). Each is approx. 2 1/2" diam., 2 1/2" high. Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Croissonuts, Set of 18
Review 1 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
samintx
,Tyler
,TX
November 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful baked!
November 8, 2014
Croissonuts are great. HOWEVER, after deep frying 3 I decided that was too much oil for my tastes. I let 3 rise overnight on the paper covered as instructed BUT I put in the over on pastry paper for 15 mins approx at 350 . The browned, dipped in cinnamon sugar and HUM! perfect. Great with coffee and without all the added oil fried into the donut. Super taste and flakey. Reordering! PS: tried to upload a jpg but the site kept timing out. Sorry.
Review 2 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rive31
,Houston
,TX
October 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and Easy to Prepare
October 28, 2014
My family loved these! They rose beautiful overnight and I experimented with the preparation process. I fried some and I baked some in a 350 degree oven. My family preferred the baked one. I would definitely buy these again.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 3 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flyers
,Princeton
,NJ
May 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money or effort
May 24, 2014
I order WS pastries a lot so I was glad to try the croissonuts once. I do not plan to purchase it again and would not recommend it to others. They are only good if eaten while they are hot, but not worth the money or effort in frying them. I read the reviews before purchasing, and the negative reviews are pretty accurate... directions were lacking, not well packaged inside the box so breakages can occur while shipping, much time and effort required, frying temperature can be an issue, flaky outer layers tend to fall off when applying cinnamon sugar, and they do not rise after they are fried like the photos indicate.
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, no directions enclosed, time consuming
Review 4 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
EricSH
,San Francisco
,CA
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Croissonuts
May 12, 2014
Had to do an reorder because of the first one I order came on one of those very hot day an the dough was starting to defrost and the box that it came in was warm from the sun . Call the company and the resent me another one with in a couple of day .The Second one the sent me was still frozen when I got them the should package with more dry ice to keep the item still cold until they arrive to the customer .I will do another order when i finish this Croissonuts .
Pros: Amount, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: poor
Review 5 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bena
,Jacksonville
,NC
Jacksonville NC
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flaky Goodness
April 6, 2014
These are so good. Nice flaky layers and with a little cinnamon sugar became such a great treat. I will buy again
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 6 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mantaspace
,Santa Rosa Valley
,CA
March 12, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!!
March 12, 2014
I think that they are absolutely wonderful, very light, and rolled in a little cinnamon sugar they are Yummy!! Not for everyday but a couple of times a year why not! You even get to eat them warm...
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 7 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OURFAVORITE
,Riverside
,Ct
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enjoyed by Everyone
March 10, 2014
I was upset that only 11 "dough rings" arrived in perfect condition - the vendor needs to pack better as these break easily when frozen.
Having got passed that, I made these for a ski weekend and everyone loved them. Didn't bother to fry them but rather stuck them in the oven as I would cook the croissants and they came out fantastic. Everyone wanted seconds.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: poor packing - breakage
Review 8 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
m7bfd
,Columbia
,SC
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I wanted to love these, but ...
March 1, 2014
I had SUCH high hopes for these, but unfortunately, I didn't seem to have the knack of cooking them. Mine tasted vaguely like the cooking oil. We ate them, but all of us decided to stick with the glorious croissants, and leave these for someone who knows how to fry them.
Pros: Decadent
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Njpatton
,Aspen
,CO
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible and easy
January 12, 2014
Theses delicious pastries are so easy that I have replaced my 90 year old dad's toast with them every morning. I put a croissonut out each evening. I keep a small sauce pan of vegetable oil on the stove and the following morning just place the pastry in the hot oil after I cook sausage and eggs. 30 seconds on each side, a little shake in a bag of cinnamon sugar and breakfast is served. They are incredible!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Unhealthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GABLS
,Alexandria
,Va
January 8, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frying temp off....but delicious!
January 8, 2014
I fried these in a small 3 qt sauce pan using just one stick of the solid crisco. The directions (which are in the box on a nice card) say the oil should be between 360-375, my thermometer was at 370 when I put in the first one which quickly burned. After turning down the temp the rest came out much better. My recommendation would be to fry them at 250 or 275.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: poor directions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sstephens
,Franklin
,TN
USA
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good Christmas morning!
January 7, 2014
I always have croissants for my family's Christmas morning treat before opening presents, but this year I went with these yummy treats. Ok, so they're fried, and not on anyone's healthy eating list, but once a year won't kill me! I allowed them to rise for a full 12 hours and they were easy to drop in the hot oil - if you were gentle with the spatula when removing them from the cookie tray. definitely use waxed or parchment paper underneath, and you'll have no problems. Mine looked just like the photos, no problems rising or with the flaky texture. Shook gently in a cinnamon sugar- filled zip lock bag and then proceeded to enjoy. Everyone loved them, and I will definitely buy again. My only complaint, is that the packaging needs to be improved to cushion the "donut like" rings when they're frozen for shipping. 4 of my 18 were broken in half - but they still cooked and tasted the same as the whole ones, so it wasn't too big of a deal to me.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent
Cons: a few broke during shipping
Review 12 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunnybw
,milwaukee
,wi
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
January 5, 2014
I made the same error as review #2. Didn't realize they would need to defrost and then be deep-fried. They do not rise when you defrost them overnight. But they DO rise when they're fried. I took them to a friendly nearby restaurant the morning of our brunch and they did it for me. I also took a bowl of sugar and cinnamon mixed--so they could immediately dip them. I redipped them when I got home. --truly, they are memorable. The whole family wants them from now on at Christmas.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, delicious
Cons: Unhealthy, need a deep fryer or friendly restaurant
Review 13 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nshtn
,Nashville
,TN
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just okay for calories, fat and effort to prepare
January 5, 2014
Made these today, and they were just okay. I was able to achieve the golden brown color as shown in the picture and chose to sprinkle with powder sugar before serving. For the calories, fat and pain of frying, I don't find it worth it. The flavor did not wow my taste buds or give me any sense of pleasure while eating. I would love to try the famous version sometime in NYC, but will not plan to make these again. At home, I'll stick with sticky buns or oven baked croissants. Both of those products are holiday regulars in our house and are always excellent.
Cons: Disappointing, Difficult to Prepare
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sohbaby
,Canfield
,OH
January 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVED THESE!
January 3, 2014
My first batch: I noticed they didn't rise that much after leaving them sit out all night . I fried them in veggie oil they were alright.
The second batch: In the morning after leaving them sit out all night, I placed them in the oven with just the light on for about an hr. This made them rise. I decided to use the recommented oil and they turned out Excellent! I I will buy them again. I have even been craving them!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristi41
,Ocala
,FL
Ocala, florida
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These were amazing!
January 1, 2014
We just had these for breakfast on New Years's morning 2014. They were addictive!!! Bad for a diet but great for a holiday treat ! I hope WS will continue to carry these!
Review 16 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mary4093
,Charlotte
,NC
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
December 28, 2013
My fault for not noticing needed to be fried, but also didn't rise! Too much trouble for not great results.
Cons: Disappointing, Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare
Review 17 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nkem
,ATL
,GA
KENNESAW, GA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing special
December 26, 2013
They don't rise as much as the picture shows. They look more like regular Duncan donuts with a croissant texture. Also, I hate that I have to fry them with a 3 inch deep oil. That's a waste of oil.
Cons: Disappointing, Difficult to Prepare
Review 18 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamasanh
,Emeryville
,CA
Emeryville, CA
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice variation on 2 classics
November 27, 2013
Ok, so I ordered these just knowing they would come out fabulous, but my shipment didn't have the instructions, so I prepared them as any other GD item (baked). Needless to say, they failed miseraby. BUT, W-S and GD replaced the package and I attempted it again...FAB U LOUS! For something very special to serve, or just treat yourself, these should not be missed!
Pros: Quality
Cons: no instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveOC
,Finksburg
,MD
November 17, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flaky Doughnuts
November 17, 2013
Amazing once I got past the fear factor. Light flaky doughnuts perfect for a holiday treat. I bought them on an impulse since we have been completely bowled over by the croissants and thought this would be a perfect breakfast treat for our Thanksgiving over night guest.
Like the croissants that Galaxy ships they arrived timely in a protective styrofoam box. The warnings are 1) that the directions were not on or in the box and 2) they need to be deep fried. (hence my fear factor)
I decided to make two this morning just to see how difficult this would be since I don't deep fry. It was easy, I needed to substitute canola instead of sunflower oil. As for the results my wife's response was perfect and we didn't need to wait in line. I was going to knock to 4 stars for the direction and deep fry but couldn't since they are just that good.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor