Croissonuts, Set of 18

Modeled after the pastry that has taken New York City by storm, our version of the clever hybrid between a croissant and donut makes it easy for you to enjoy the treats at home, piping hot and at their flaky, tender best. Master pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon prepares our Croissonuts by hand using his award-winning croissant dough. In less time than it takes to wait in line for the original, you can deep-fry the pastries, give them a quick toss in sugar and discover what the buzz is about. 18 Croissonuts (1 lb. 9 oz. total). Each is approx. 2 1/2" diam., 2 1/2" high. Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.519 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
15 of 27(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Croissonuts, Set of 18
Review 1 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,TX
May 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Greasy Donuts
May 1, 2015
I should have read the instructions more carefully before I purchased. These Croissonuts are cooked in oil. For some reason I thought they would be like there delicious croissants that they offer. Disappointed.
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, Difficult to Prepare
Review 2 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Mission Viejo
,Ca
April 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the croissants not so much croissonuts
April 30, 2015
I have purchased the croissants in the past and they are great. The croissonuts not so much. I put them out overnight and they didn't rise as well as I'm used to with the croissants. Maybe because the batch I received wasn't fresh. The description says keeps up to 6 months but the box I received said best by April 2015. Overall a great disappointment.
Cons: Disappointing
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Manhattan
,IL
April 10, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expiration Date
April 10, 2015
Product description said could be kept frozen for 6 months. I received product with only 1 month left to expiration date.
Review 4 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dayton
,Oh
April 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for brunch
April 10, 2015
I baked these as suggested by other reviewers. Excellent. My only criticism is that I thought they needed something...10x sugar, glaze, chocolate. But that may also be a personal preference
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Review 5 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
January 14, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
January 14, 2015
It was more effort and mess to prepare these than I had expected, and they did not taste good. I will try baking my next batch as suggested by another reviewer.
Review 6 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Medina
,mn
January 14, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious combination
January 14, 2015
They far exceeded our expectations. We will purchase again!!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 7 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Tisbury, Mass.
December 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Disappointment
December 9, 2014
Greasy, poor taste. Decided not to gift for holiday. Too much work for something that is supposed to be easy. Certainly not something to serve to unexpected guests.
Morning Buns are much better.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Unhealthy, Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor
Review 8 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,boston
,ma
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
these are terrible
November 28, 2014
don't buy these.
too much work and they come out awful.
i fried a could and as others said they come out way too greasy.
i baked a few and they just taste like a bad croissant.
stay away.
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, Difficult to Prepare
Review 9 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tyler
,TX
November 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful baked!
November 8, 2014
Croissonuts are great. HOWEVER, after deep frying 3 I decided that was too much oil for my tastes. I let 3 rise overnight on the paper covered as instructed BUT I put in the over on pastry paper for 15 mins approx at 350 . The browned, dipped in cinnamon sugar and HUM! perfect. Great with coffee and without all the added oil fried into the donut. Super taste and flakey. Reordering! PS: tried to upload a jpg but the site kept timing out. Sorry.
Review 10 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
October 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and Easy to Prepare
October 28, 2014
My family loved these! They rose beautiful overnight and I experimented with the preparation process. I fried some and I baked some in a 350 degree oven. My family preferred the baked one. I would definitely buy these again.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 11 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Princeton
,NJ
May 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money or effort
May 24, 2014
I order WS pastries a lot so I was glad to try the croissonuts once. I do not plan to purchase it again and would not recommend it to others. They are only good if eaten while they are hot, but not worth the money or effort in frying them. I read the reviews before purchasing, and the negative reviews are pretty accurate... directions were lacking, not well packaged inside the box so breakages can occur while shipping, much time and effort required, frying temperature can be an issue, flaky outer layers tend to fall off when applying cinnamon sugar, and they do not rise after they are fried like the photos indicate.
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, no directions enclosed, time consuming
Review 12 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Croissonuts
May 12, 2014
Had to do an reorder because of the first one I order came on one of those very hot day an the dough was starting to defrost and the box that it came in was warm from the sun . Call the company and the resent me another one with in a couple of day .The Second one the sent me was still frozen when I got them the should package with more dry ice to keep the item still cold until they arrive to the customer .I will do another order when i finish this Croissonuts .
Pros: Amount, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: poor
Review 13 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jacksonville
,NC
Jacksonville NC
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flaky Goodness
April 6, 2014
These are so good. Nice flaky layers and with a little cinnamon sugar became such a great treat. I will buy again
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 14 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Rosa Valley
,CA
March 12, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!!
March 12, 2014
I think that they are absolutely wonderful, very light, and rolled in a little cinnamon sugar they are Yummy!! Not for everyday but a couple of times a year why not! You even get to eat them warm...
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 15 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Riverside
,Ct
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enjoyed by Everyone
March 10, 2014
I was upset that only 11 "dough rings" arrived in perfect condition - the vendor needs to pack better as these break easily when frozen.
Having got passed that, I made these for a ski weekend and everyone loved them. Didn't bother to fry them but rather stuck them in the oven as I would cook the croissants and they came out fantastic. Everyone wanted seconds.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: poor packing - breakage
Review 16 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Columbia
,SC
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I wanted to love these, but ...
March 1, 2014
I had SUCH high hopes for these, but unfortunately, I didn't seem to have the knack of cooking them. Mine tasted vaguely like the cooking oil. We ate them, but all of us decided to stick with the glorious croissants, and leave these for someone who knows how to fry them.
Pros: Decadent
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aspen
,CO
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible and easy
January 12, 2014
Theses delicious pastries are so easy that I have replaced my 90 year old dad's toast with them every morning. I put a croissonut out each evening. I keep a small sauce pan of vegetable oil on the stove and the following morning just place the pastry in the hot oil after I cook sausage and eggs. 30 seconds on each side, a little shake in a bag of cinnamon sugar and breakfast is served. They are incredible!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Unhealthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Alexandria
,Va
January 8, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frying temp off....but delicious!
January 8, 2014
I fried these in a small 3 qt sauce pan using just one stick of the solid crisco. The directions (which are in the box on a nice card) say the oil should be between 360-375, my thermometer was at 370 when I put in the first one which quickly burned. After turning down the temp the rest came out much better. My recommendation would be to fry them at 250 or 275.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: poor directions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Franklin
,TN
USA
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good Christmas morning!
January 7, 2014
I always have croissants for my family's Christmas morning treat before opening presents, but this year I went with these yummy treats. Ok, so they're fried, and not on anyone's healthy eating list, but once a year won't kill me! I allowed them to rise for a full 12 hours and they were easy to drop in the hot oil - if you were gentle with the spatula when removing them from the cookie tray. definitely use waxed or parchment paper underneath, and you'll have no problems. Mine looked just like the photos, no problems rising or with the flaky texture. Shook gently in a cinnamon sugar- filled zip lock bag and then proceeded to enjoy. Everyone loved them, and I will definitely buy again. My only complaint, is that the packaging needs to be improved to cushion the "donut like" rings when they're frozen for shipping. 4 of my 18 were broken in half - but they still cooked and tasted the same as the whole ones, so it wasn't too big of a deal to me.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent
Cons: a few broke during shipping
Review 20 for Croissonuts, Set of 18
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,milwaukee
,wi
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
January 5, 2014
I made the same error as review #2. Didn't realize they would need to defrost and then be deep-fried. They do not rise when you defrost them overnight. But they DO rise when they're fried. I took them to a friendly nearby restaurant the morning of our brunch and they did it for me. I also took a bowl of sugar and cinnamon mixed--so they could immediately dip them. I redipped them when I got home. --truly, they are memorable. The whole family wants them from now on at Christmas.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, delicious
Cons: Unhealthy, need a deep fryer or friendly restaurant
page1 2 next