This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

French Onion Soup Starter

French onion soup achieved culinary renown in the 19th-century Paris market district of Les Halles, where market workers and local revelers would congregate at neighborhood bistros for a late-night supper. Served under a golden topping of croutons and melted cheese, this iconic French dish has become a favorite around the world. Our all natural starter combines caramelized yellow onions, premium beef stock, seasoned with hearty red wine, fresh thyme and a splash of fine brandy. Simmered hours to develop its deep, complex flavor. Preparation is simple - just combine the premium starter with beef broth, simmer and serve. 2 lbs. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for French Onion Soup Starter
Review 1 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cherylc
,Nantucket
,ma
Nantucket Ma
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
As good as home made!
December 15, 2012
We have made French Onion soup homemade fro m many recipes. From beef broth made with beef marrow bones, to canned beef broth, etc....this is equally as good and doesn't take all day. We will order more.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GloGlo
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Onion Soup Everytime
May 15, 2012
This beats the cutting and preparing of home made by a mile. it is perfect every time and you can take it off the shelf and have fabulous French Onion Soup in a matter of minutes. Perfection by WS!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandy509
Carbondale, Co
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great and Fantastic
April 6, 2011
All the flavor was there and it did not take all day to prepare although the taste made it seem as if I had worked all day.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Meriden, CT
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
french onion soup starter
March 1, 2011
Best french onion soup I have had other than Ruth Chris Steakhouse!!! Easy to make and the taste is out of this world!! Would recommend this to anyone who loves a good french onion soup
Review 5 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKF1
Golden, CO
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
A great soup starter
February 28, 2011
This was very good and so easy; compared to most homemade recipes and other starters, this had the best flavor.
Review 6 for French Onion Soup Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
finny5
elmsford, new york
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
disappointed
February 15, 2011
After reading the other reviews I thought that I would take the easy way out and make the french onion soup that my son has been asking for. Well it tasted very winey (if thats a word). I have to be brutally honest...my homemade french onion soup, even tho it takes awhile to make, is significantly better than this.
Review 7 for French Onion Soup Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
great629
Indiana
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
was hoping for better
February 2, 2011
I was looking for a soup that is similar to restaraunts. I wasn't real impressed with this. I think a homeade version would be just as easy and taste as good if not better.... SORRY :)
Review 8 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigfanofWS
Bethany Beach, DE
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Totally awesome
January 25, 2011
Fixed this soup last night. I put plain croutons on top and then topped with shredded Gruyere cheese. I put it under the broiler for about 4 minutes. It tasted as good as any soup we've ordered out. Just avoid putting any salt because it really does not need any more seasoning than it is prepared with.
Review 9 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LBurns
Lubbock Texas
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Just delicious
January 23, 2011
This soup starter is simply delicious. It is as good as I have ever had in a resturant and with the croutons it is great. It is also one of the easiest elegant meals ever.
Review 10 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scrambled
Brooklyn, NY
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent Soup Starter
December 28, 2010
The soup starter was so quick, easy and delicious. All I had to do was add 2 cups of low sodium beef broth and it served 6. My guests said that it was the best onion soup they ever had. Will definitely order again.
Review 11 for French Onion Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chucky20
Fargo, ND
October 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
love to cook, but sometimes like simplicity
October 26, 2010
I highly encourage all to try this. So easy to make & delicious. After heating in a saucepan I poured into oven save bowls & added garlic & butter croutons & topped with a freshly thick sliced ball of mozzarella. Broil till cheese is lightly browned. Fabulous product.