Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Vintage Bathtub with Stand

Porcelain washtubs like these, once common throughout central Europe in the 1930s, make beautiful containers for culinary herbs and other edible plants. Our authentic found object from Hungary is perfect for creating edible gardening space on your deck, patio or rooftop. Each vintage piece is unique and displays the natural markings and imperfections that come with age and use. Vintage object found in Hungary; formerly used as a washbasin. Circa 1930s porcelain basin. Most basins do not have drainage holes, although some will (selection is random). Authentically distressed green painted-metal frame bears chips and other natural signs of age. Unique imperfections from years of use-dents, scratches and even rust-give the vintage piece its natural character. Weather resistant. Sizes will vary slightly: 40" x 18" x 28-32" high (including stand).
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
Review 1 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 23, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Funky and Groundhog-Proof!
August 23, 2016
I've had this for two years now. Last year I planted herbs in it, and it was lovely and practical. After the groundhogs ate all the peas I planted in my garden several times, I stuck a few among the herbs. Those were the only peas that survived the pesky critters.
This year, I planted bush beans around the edge and chard down the center, intending to transplant it. The groundhogs ate all the peas, beans, and chard in my main garden again. But the beans in this tub gave me four harvests, and I didn't have to bend over to get them!
Although it was expensive, it looks cool and is very practical! I would definitely purchase it again. I lined the bottom with a layer of different sized stones to help with drainage and used potting soil. I suppose you also could use it as an outdoor ice bucket for a party, or to bathe small dogs, but I love it as a planter next to my vegetable garden.
Pros: Appearance, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Review 2 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Newport Beach
,CA
August 18, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Unique and Beautiful!
August 18, 2016
Received this yesterday, found the perfect area in our backyard where I can admire it and grow herbs! It is soooo awesome - I love it! Mine did come with a cool looking metal spout for draining.
Pros: Appearance, Assembly, Design, Durable, Easy to Use, material, Quality, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 3 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
August 8, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Cool
August 8, 2016
Read all the great reviews, agreed. This is so special, couldn't be easier to set up and mine had a drainage hole as well. My herb garden looks amazing!
Pros: Appearance, Assembly, Design, Easy to Use, material, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
June 22, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vintage wash tub and stand
June 22, 2016
Just received the vintage wash tub and stand. It's beautiful... Absolutely love it. .. Am happy too that it has the drain spout. .. It arrived quickly and is clean. ... Gently vintage and in very good condition. Also purchased a vintage apple basket and it is also beautiful and in excellent condition... It has a good weight to it and is sturdy... Thinking about buying more because it's really a quality piece... I love that y'all have vintage items to offer... Thanks WS... Keep bringing the good old stuff! ☺
Pros: Appearance, Design, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quality, Size, Durable
Review 5 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Anniston
,Al
June 1, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This tub would also hold an watermelon or two
June 1, 2015
This tub is very charming. I have long admired this bathtub and stand. I am so glad I bought it. It is perfect for icing beverages for a party or filling with soil and creating an herb garden. My dilemma is solved by lining the tub with plastic and putting large pots of herbs in it. That way I can remove the pots for use when entertaining. I will use it indoors in the winter to keep my herbs available year round. I am well pleased. Great quality.
Pros: Appearance, Design, Easy to Use, Versatile, Quality, Size, Weight, Assembly, material, Durable
Review 6 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Coeur d'Alene
,ID
Brea,CA
May 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Herb garden
May 28, 2015
Best herb garden ever !!!! Good conversation piece.
Pros: Appearance
Review 7 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Palm Desert
,Ca
April 13, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vintage bathtub & stand
April 13, 2015
I love it I ordered it for my Fairy Garden. Perfect perfect!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Singapore
August 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Worth It!!
August 5, 2014
I have been drooling over this for months and months. I live out of the country so was extremely hesitate due to shipping costs. I finally broke down and bought one and am SO glad I did. Although a little smaller than I expected still so awesome! And an extra bonus...mine has the spout...
WOO HOO! I'm now looking to buy another one ;)
Review 9 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Coeur d'Alene
,ID
July 2, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome vintage find!
July 2, 2014
Have been admiring this for a long time & finally did it...no regrets & it's worth every penny! Have seen them elsewhere priced higher--
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Assembly, Weight
Review 10 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pelham
,NY
June 24, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
head over heels!
June 24, 2014
My tub came in very good condition, and I was ecstatic when I found out mine came with a drain spout! The look is amazing.
I am excited about planting herbs and a flower or two in it and see it from my kitchen window.
Pros: Quality, material, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 11 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Encinitas
,CA
May 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice way to display flowers
May 25, 2014
The packages arrived quickly (there were two) and it was easy to set up. The bathtub is sturdy. Just what I thought it would be. I put it under a kitchen window and now I enjoy beautiful color from my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Appearance, Versatile, Assembly
Review 12 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Monica
,CA
April 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks Good and Is Suited for More Than Plants
April 19, 2014
This is a charming piece, and suitable for many uses---mine has taken up residence in my sewing room as a handy hold-all for in-progress quilting projets.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 13 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hendersonville
,NC
February 21, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Planter Ever!
February 21, 2014
I was blown away when I opened my two giant boxes and found this cool stand and enameled tub...and Yah! mine has a spout type drain hole. I can't wait to fill it with herbs and keep it on the deck near the kitchen. It will hold quite a bit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight, unique
Review 14 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
June 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Herb Planter
June 19, 2013
I wanted a raised planter on the patio for herbs. This piece is charming and very roomy--I have ten good size plants in there, with room for them to expand. Lovely and convenient. The item is just as described. Was shipped promptly and in two large boxes (one for stand). No damage to either (other than normal aging). The items were clean and ready to use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Il
Illinois
February 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So in love!!!
February 12, 2013
It is exactly as described! I cannot wait to plant things in it (which means kill plants for me). Was confused at first because base is not free standing but fits into curved lip of tub. AWESOME!!! Better then I expected
Review 16 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Asheville
,NC
October 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Found Piece
October 24, 2012
This vintage piece is charming. It looks great indoors with herbs and green plants. So glad W-S found it!
Review 17 for Vintage Bathtub with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rural
,PA
August 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful find
August 18, 2012
This vintage bathtub is a wonderful addition to our bathroom. It blends in nicely with the clawfoot tub and pedestal sink. We look forward to using it to hold our starter vegetable plants in early spring. However, the tub was extremely dirty when we unpacked it. I would think that for the price it could have been cleaned before it was shipped.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Philadelphia Mainline
Posted June 12, 2013
Thank you for your honesty!
Not only did the item arrive filthy, but rusty as well.
0points
Customer avatar
Rece
Lafayette. Louisiana
Posted April 28, 2013
Reviews are helpful.
This, as most reviews, were very helpful.
Comments always help, especailly when shopping for an item one is not familiar with. Thank you.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)