Forschner by Victorinox Bread Knife

Preferred by culinary professionals worldwide, this commercial-quality Swiss knife has a serrated blade designed for cutting foods that combine a hard or tough exterior with a soft interior. Chefs rely on it for slicing roasts, salami, tomatoes, citrus fruits - and of course, bread. Mirror-polish high-carbon stainless-steel blade is laser-tested for unrivaled sharpness. Durable, lightweight Fibrox handle is textured for a secure, nonslip grip. Made in Switzerland by Victorinox, manufacturers of the original Swiss Army knives. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level hygiene standards for commercial kitchens. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Forschner by Victorinox Bread Knife
Review 1 for Forschner by Victorinox Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxpork
,Washington
,DC
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High Quality and Reasonable Price
March 6, 2012
Though I have a large (my girlfriend would say excessive) collection of knives, this is my first proper bread knife. It's big enough to use on a loaf of any size, great at dispatching those giant heirloom tomatoes and didn't put a dent in my wallet. Especially given the difficulty of sharpening serrated knives, buying one of these every five-10 years makes a lot more sense then plopping down $100 on a fancier German or Japanese model.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Forschner by Victorinox Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BensBaba
,North Aurora
,IL
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Now this is my favorite knife
January 5, 2012
The knife is longer and heavier than I expected for the cost. It does a great job on bread and pretty much anything else you want to use it for, such as carving a cooked chicken. Now I need to get one for my son.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Forschner by Victorinox Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TokenGimp
St Paul
September 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen cut-up favorite
September 2, 2011
I bought this knife a year or two ago and it's my favorite bread knife ever. I buy whole loaves and they stay fresher slicing as needed. You can make a bread slice so thin it only has one side. It's great for tomatoes, pineapple, melons, and best for carving roasts & ham. Then toss it in the dishwasher and ready to go for the next time. I'm getting a shorter one too. I also use their Chef's and paring knives. PEACE
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Forschner by Victorinox Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trent
San Francisco, CA
June 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the best bread knife
June 3, 2011
I've used the this knife for 15 years. It was first recommended to me by my chef coworkers at a 4-star hotel.
You don't get a fully forged handle but the fibrox handles are very comfortable and durable.
The blade length is comfortable for many applications such as slicing sandwiches, loafs of bread, a delicate streudel, tomatoes, etc. The blade has a slight curve and comfortable offset handle. You can rock the knife somewhat and you won't hit your knuckles on the cutting surface. The blade has a rounded point which helps avoid snagging the board and speeds up your slices.
As for durability, I've seen chefs use this knife for years of daily use. The serrated teeth will start to wear and round a bit but you can get some more life out of them with some careful steel or stone work. Or you can just replace the knife because it's very affordable compared to other serrated slicers by wusthof, henckels, etc.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Forschner by Victorinox Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1penfisherman
PA
May 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best thing since sliced bread
May 4, 2011
Great knife, good quality--should last a life time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight