Flute Flatware Place Settings

Clean, sleek lines and a lustrous satin finish distinguish these utensils by award-winning English designer Robert Welch. Their style is right at home with contemporary table settings as well as traditional dinnerware. Spoons, forks and knife handles are made of polish 18/10 stainless steel, which gives the pieces a pleasing heft and balance, with gently curved V-tip handles that rest comfortably in the hand. Knife blades are forged of specially hardened stainless steel, containing 13% chromium to maintain a sharp cutting edge. Matte satin-finish handles resist fingerprints. Dishwasher safe. The five-piece place setting includes a 8" dinner fork, a 7" salad fork, an 8" soup spoon, a 9 3/4" dinner knife and a 5 1/4" teaspoon. Made in Vietnam.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
29 of 43(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Flute Flatware Place Settings
Review 1 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAMarkyMark
,Redmond
,WA
September 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Nice Flat Ware
September 2, 2013
Very Nice Flat Ware, I love the heavy duty feel of the flat ware. It is made for use and looks like it will take some abuse and will not bend. That I like, Heavy Duty but yet has a nice fine dinner looking flat ware.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 2 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcpol
,Chicago
,IL
August 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flatware
August 28, 2013
I was looking at this flatware to buy for a friend when I saw all of the negative reviews regarding rusting. I just had to write a review and say that maybe Williams-Sonoma was making these differently in recent years? Because I received 12 place settings for my wedding in 2009 and have run them in the dishwasher several times--on hot and with heated drying-- and NO rust at all. Not one speck. Very minimal scratches (with heavy use as it my only flatware) and they still look fantastic 4 years later.
Review 3 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stina1969
,Sacramento
,Ca
August 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No rust, but scratches
August 18, 2013
I've used this set for about three years and I love the weight and the design. I have never had any rust on them, but they are terribly scratched up, esp. the handles.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: scratches easily
Review 4 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SFcustomer
,San Francisco
,CA
June 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks Dirty & Rust
June 19, 2013
These look nice in the store. They look simple, elegant and sturdy enough for everyday use. However, after the first or second cleaning, there are rust spots on the knives and overall, the flatware looks dirty. I was initially cleaning them in the dishwasher. After seeing the spots I began washing them by hand to try and get them back to their original condition. No luck, they still look horrible. I want to take them back but I'm not sure if WS will accept return on them. We have had them now for a few months.
Pros: Design, looked nice before use
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nour
March 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rust problem
March 7, 2013
These are beautiful pieces, but I could not excuse the rust problem. I read all the reviews after rust showed up (on knives, spoons, and forks) after the first dishwasher washing. One reviewer suggested using Bar Keepers Friend to remove the spots, and I gently cleaned all the pieces with BKF in case any fragments from manufacturing were causing the rust. Unfortunately, once they went through the dishwasher, they rusted. Another reviewer suggested not using the heated dry cycle on the dishwasher, but without the heated dry cycle the flatware still rusted. Another reviewer said she uses a Bosch dishwasher and found no rust, so I ran the flatware through my friend's Bosch dishwasher, but the rust stains were identical to previous results. Between all these "trials," I gently cleaned with BKF to remove the rust, but it always came back. I did not use citrus dish detergent, which is bad for stainless steel. I returned these for W-S Monaco flatware and have had no problems with that.
Pros: gorgeous
Cons: stubborn rusting
Review 6 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jeanieree
,Athens
,Ga
November 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rusty knives
November 25, 2012
I read the reviews about this flatware that said there was a problem with the knives rusting. I assumed that Williams-Sonoma would fix the problem. WRONG! The knives are beginning to rust already. I wonder why they don't fix the problem? I'll be returning these although I love the look of them. I've been looking for flatware forever and am so sad these aren't up to par.
Pros: beautiful styling
Cons: rusty knives
Review 7 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Norman
,OK
October 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor quality
October 1, 2012
Began noticing what looked like rust spots the first couple of times in the dishwasher. I thought at first it was coming from something else like a pan or food grater, because I had never had any flatware do this before.
I talked with a sales person when I was back in the WS store some months later and it had gotten to where I could no longer ignore it. She said I would have to contact the manufacturer which I plan to do as well. I did not notice until reading the description online that they are made in Vietnam, not in England as i had thought. I still don't see this as a reason to accept poor quality. I wonder if this is why they were discounted.
Review 8 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nour
July 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rust on knives is a problem
July 22, 2012
We received the Flute place settings earlier in the summer as a wedding gift - after the first wash the knives displayed several occurrences of rust. The other pieces have fared fine so far but I only put a 1-2 in each "basket" for utensils in the dishwasher. I do wash the knives by hand now with somewhat better results but after only a month of use a few knives are not worth salvaging. The forks/spoons are really beautiful and really nice to use so I can't say these are completely worth avoiding (and I did not have the heart to return all of it), but for the price it is obviously quite disappointing. I also noticed that the reviews from 2008-2009-early 2010 or the people who have more recently reviewed "no rust after 3 years" could have a totally different, better quality product than is currently offered by this manufacturer. It is a huge bummer but if you're in love with the style, head to Target to spend $15 on a few packs of knives and hope for the best with your forks and spoons.
Pros: beauty, pleasure to use
Cons: rust problem knives especially, high maintenance, questionable quality for price, concern that they won't last
Review 9 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmags
,Atlanta
,GA
June 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fabulous flatware
June 27, 2012
I have been using this flatware for 3 years and have never had any pitting or rust marks on any pieces. I have washed it in a cheap GE dishwasher and a better Kitchenaide dishwasher. Love the weight and balance!
Cons: i would like to buy more pieces open stock, but that option is not available
Review 10 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bostonamanda
,Bolles Harbor
,MI
May 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Knives rusting
May 19, 2012
Before I purchased this set, I read the reviews and knew that rusting knives had been a problem. I had the reassurance of the sales staff at the store (and faith in the quality of WS products), so I bought service for 8. After two weeks, I have three knives with obvious rust. I work in an analytical laboratory and had our microscopist look at the spots. "Red rust," was the verdict. Very disappointing.
Cons: knives rust
Review 11 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvColorado
March 17, 2012
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flatware
March 17, 2012
Have used this flatware and steak knives for over 6 months now and still really like it. The weight and balance is outstanding and the look is great. We use them every day, and I do put them in the dishwasher. I do not always remove them right after after the dishwasher is done, and I have not had any rust problems.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VickieLeigh25
,Caldwell
,NJ
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Flatware!
March 7, 2012
We just received this Flatware set at our Wedding Shower this weekend, and it is AMAZING! Nice solid feel to it and a great weight! We love it so much!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gailey
,Freehold
,NJ
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flute Flatware
March 5, 2012
I have been using Flute flatware in each of my homes for 2 years with no problems at all. I have a Bosch dishwasher in each kitchen and follow the instructions to open the dishwasher door when it is finished to let the steam out and the dishes cool . Perhaps the "rust" is happening because of the unreleased steam when the cycle is completed. It's a no brainier to me! Love, love, love my flute flatware. Wish they would make a sugar spoon and butter knife!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jwu805
,St Louis
,MO
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect for everyday
January 13, 2012
We received this set off of our registry and I couldn't be happier with it. The weight of it is perfect. You dont feel like you're using something so delicate you're clumsy with it but it still looks very elegant. So far it looks pretty scratch resistant too, love it!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DAH4
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant and Modern
December 10, 2011
I have been using this flatware daily for over a year now and really love them. I have never noticed rust, but the blade of the knives do have some lines in them from use over time, particularly after cutting bananas and other similar foods. It is somewhat annoying but I make sure to rinse the knives well immediately after use to alleviate this issue. Other than that, all the spoons and forks look the same as they did when they were new. I especially love the feel and weight of this flatware and know they will continue to serve my family for many years to come.
Pros: Durable, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RustySpoon
October 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointed!
October 26, 2011
Unfortunately I only saw the reviews for this product after buying service for eight. Unpacked one set to "test" in the dishwasher and there it was -- rust on the back of one of the spoons after the FIRST wash! This is in a new dishwasher!!! I am completely disappointed. Was looking to upgrade our daily flatware from a 10 year-old cheapo set and fell in love with Flute in our local WS store. This set will be going back tonight and I will continue my quest elsewhere. At this price definitely expected good quality, but that is not the case. Too bad, love the look of it, but rust is unacceptable -- and something I've NEVER seen on my old cheap flatware. :(
Pros: Size, Strength, Design
Cons: rust!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RustySpoonRetort
Cambridge MA
Posted February 21, 2012
RustySpoon Retort
RustySpoon -
I find it incredibly hard to believe that you were able to get a spoon to rust after just one washing. I don't think that oxidation can even occur that quickly regardless of how cheap the metal is.
Please update your comments as I believe you are misleading a great deal of consumers. Please see below for further detail.
Can stainless steel rust? Why? (I thought stainless did not rust!)
Answer: Stainless does not "rust" as you think of regular steel rusting with a red oxide on the surface that flakes off. If you see red rust it is probably due to some iron particles that have contaminated the surface of the stainless steel and it is these iron particles that are rusting. Look at the source of the rusting and see if you can remove it from the surface. If the iron is embedded in the surface, you can try a solution of 10% nitric and 2% hydrofluoric acid at room temperature or slightly heated. Wash area well with lots and lots of water after use. Commercially available "pickling paste" can also be used. See "The Care and Cleaning of Stainless Steel" for more information.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OrlandoCustomer
,Orlando
,FL
October 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please read this review before purchasing
October 23, 2011
Please pay attention to the reviews that talk about the knives rusting. Though we noticed the handful of negative reviews, the overwhelming majority of them were positive, so we purchased the flatware any way. It's only now that I'm noticing how many of the reviews were from people who hadn't really started using it yet.
I agree that they're beaultiful, with a nice look and feel. However, after the first washing, the knives started to rust along the blade edge. A few of the handles also began to pit slightly, with rust escaping out through the pit marks.
I could MAYBE have seen myself trying to wipe the rust off after each washing, but how do you wipe off the rust along the serated edges? You can't. You COULD possibly hand wash and dry them after each use. But why should I have to do that with expensive flatware that is billed as dishwasher safe?
For us, rusting knives was a deal breaker, and we've returned it all, including the extra spoons and hostess set.
Pros: Color, Design, Weight
Cons: knives rust
Review 18 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goodcooking
Montrose, CO
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superior flatware
July 18, 2011
I finally found flatware that I really like. It's nice that Williams and Sonoma still carries this pattern as one of the pieces I purchased three years ago went missing and luckily I was able to replace it. Thanks to W & S for the fabulous customer service.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 19 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TanyaTLC
Phoenix, AZ
May 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks dirty
May 13, 2011
I own 12 settings and I think about returning it every day. The pieces look terrible out of the dishwasher (I have a brand new dishwasher, use a rinse aid, and everything else comes out looking fabulous). If I hand dry them, they look ok.
Many of the pieces also have flaws. I returned 6 sets a few months ago because of obvious flaws (black marks that would not come out).
I thought the satin finish would make them low maintenance but they are not!
Otherwise the set is very pretty and comfortable to hold.
Review 20 for Flute Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
capturedcastle
Costa Mesa
April 25, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Silky texture
April 25, 2011
This flatware is just a delight to use. It has a silky texture and nice weight. The larger size spoons are bigger than I'm used to, but every piece has great shape and feels good in the hand. The matte texture means that fingerprints don't show at all, and water drops barely show, so clean-up is very easy. I've had this flatware only a few weeks, but I'm convinced that it will continue to look beautiful for years to come. Great quality.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
page1 2 3 next