This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Floating Mulling Spice Ball

Our user-friendly floating ball makes it easier than ever to infuse liquids - from hot mulled cider and aromatic teas to homemade stocks and soups - with vibrant flavors. Easy to fill with spices, herbs, tea or bouquet garni. Perforated stainless-steel construction ensures optimal infusion. Flat bottom keeps the infuser stable on your work surface. Twist-and-lock lid keeps contents secure inside the ball. To retrieve the free-floating ball, simply use a spoon or kitchen tongs. Holds up to 1/2 cup (8 Tbs.) of spices or herbs, enough to flavor up to 1 gallon of liquid. Dishwasher safe. BPA-free. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
Review 1 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ECH1
,Apollo Beach, FL
February 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Spice Ball
February 1, 2013
I love it. It is lage enough to hold all of the spices for a recipe. It is stainless. Great for the diswasher. The top locks with a twist and has flat bottom. No spills or rolling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Serves it's purpose beautifully
January 27, 2013
I've only used this for mulled wine and cider and it it did a great job for both. The holes are large enough so spices and fruit properly infuse into the beverage, but small enough so that nothing falls out. And clean up is a breeze. Also love that it floats, so no fishing out like with a muslin bag or tea strainer. A great investment for anyone who makes mulled beverages.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 3 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BeeJane
,TX
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Lovely - With one Caveat
January 4, 2013
I really am enjoying this spice ball. I purchased it primarily to brew pitchers of tea from loose leaf bulk. It works well for that, with one caveat. The holes are quite large. Some of the tiny tea leaves escape and are left at the bottom of the pitcher. I would like to see another version of this ball manufactured just for tea, with smaller holes. And not mesh either. Mesh is too hard to clean up. Smaller holes would be great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: holes too big for loose tea
Review 4 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGoodLifeGirl
,Santa Clarita
,Ca
Santa Clarita, CA
October 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
A must have for teas or hot wassail
October 11, 2012
I purchased this floating mulling spice ball a couple of years ago to replace a not so sturdy tea ball that had broke. My original purpose for it was for making hot wassail in my slow cooker for the holidays, encasing my cinnamon stick and cloves in it so they weren't free floating in my recipe. I have since found it invaluable for making my Southern Sweet Tea as it hold two family sized tea bags perfectly and they are then able to steep for 30 minutes without little bits of tea leaves escaping and "mudding" up my tea. Highly recommend this tea ball, best I've used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kkp65
,Ahwahnee
,Ca
September 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
spice ball
September 26, 2012
Although I haven't used it, I won't worry about it when I do. It's very sturdy and not to large. It sets on my butcher block and is attractive enough to stay there.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iggysoup
,Buffalo
,NY
April 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for dry hopping home brewed beer!
April 28, 2012
Why spend more money on high end dry hopper devices when this is perfect for the primary fermentor or keg.
Awsome for soups as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 7 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sheriintexas
,TX
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Mulling Spice Ball - The BEST
November 29, 2011
I use this for making hot spiced apple drinks and hot spiced wine drinks and it is exactly what I was looking for. I also purchased the Mulling Spices and am soooo happy. Thank you for such a quality product!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joquinha
Brazil
August 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It was the best "thing" I found in NY
August 1, 2011
I am using it to make soups and sauces...and I am making these as I had never made before because it works very well!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jaded
Chicagoish,Ill
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
a bit larger then I expected
July 12, 2011
This item was a bit larger then I expected or needed however, it does a great job and in the long run being larger is better then being too small.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: Size
Review 10 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jWink
Whitehouse Ohio
July 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excelent for use with canning.
July 8, 2011
I do a lot of home canning and I find this to work well with pickling spices. I use it for any recipe that some element is to be dicarded and it is so much easier than tieing spices in cheese cloth. I love the versatility and use it when making soups, tea, and spiced holiday beverages.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Floating Mulling Spice Ball
January 28, 2011
I ordered this item after visiting a friend on Christmas eve who used this Floating Mulling Spice Ball to put bulk herbal tea leaves in it. It was the best for making bulk herbal tea! I ordered it on-line Christmas Eve and it was out of stock.Williams and Sonoma notifed me by email when it was in stock and ready to be shipped. I received it and just love it. It is very convenient to use and well made and I feel not overpriced. I plan to order more and give as gifts to other bulk herbal tea lovers!
Review 12 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KINGofCROCK
Danvers, MA
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Here we come a Wassailing, Crock Pot Style
October 24, 2010
I recently purchased this product for use in my Slow Cooker. I WAS NOT disappointed. In fact, this spice ball exceeded every expectation. It sat in my wassail for hours, yet I was still able to remove it with ease. No hasseling with the "Sunken Chain" that we have all experienced. I give this one an A+! It is certainly King of Crock recommended!
Review 13 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jdeke
North Carolina
May 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Makes a LARGE pot full of tea
May 6, 2010
I find this holds plenty of tea for good steeping for a 48 ounce pot of tea. It is easy to fill and easy to clean. The only thing that makes it not quite excellent is the size of the holes - they are large enough that I do get quite a few leaves in the last cup. I would love to see something like this in a very fine mesh specifically for tea.
I have not tried it for spices and such in soup, but can certainly see how it would work well for that purpose also.
Review 14 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheMama
Marquette, MI
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Spice Infuser
January 2, 2010
I use it for spices that I add for making homemade chicken soup - then don't have to worry about fishing them out later (esp. whole peppers, all spice) and large enough to accomodate bay leaves. Stays closed, sturdy construction.
Review 15 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bara
PA
December 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for soups and stews.
December 20, 2009
At first I thought I made a mistake ordering this but after using it 5 times in a short period I've found it to be a favorite I would now hate to be without. It really keeps the soup or stock clear and well seasoned and removal so so easy.Great product.
Review 16 for Floating Mulling Spice Ball
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ArtN
Kingston, WA
December 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Interesting & Useful
December 8, 2009
I used this Infuser to hold spices and a dried chipotle pepper when I made my last corn chowder. It floated on the top and held all the spices inside while the soup simmered. I have other infusers for teas but wanted this larger version for larger spices. The design allows the spices to be exposed to the broth while leaving the top exposed for easy removal.