Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt

Fleur de sel, literally "flower of salt," has been gathered on the island of Re, off France's Atlantic coast, since the seventh century. Beloved by cooks, these fine, light crystals have a delicate flavor and high concentration of minerals, making them the perfect finishing salt. Light, delicate flakes of pure sea salt dissolve instantly when sprinkled into food. Produced using traditional methods in which sun and wind evaporate the sea water, leaving crystals that are skimmed by hand from the surface of salt pans. Made in France. 8.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
52 of 52(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
Review 1 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessicaK
April 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Staple in My Kitchen
April 13, 2014
I have purchased this salt on multiple occasions and use it frequently.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
February 9, 2014
The Best Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt Ever!
Perfectly Balanced Flavor. I Use It On Everything From Savory Dishes To The Most Decadent Carmel & Fudge Sauces.
Try It You Will Be Pleasantly Surprised!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, balanced
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rsgdr
,SAN DIEGO
,Ca
San Diego, Calif.
September 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST SALT EVER!!!
September 20, 2013
I have tried many types and brands of Fleur de Sel Salt, however; this one is the best. It seasons food nicely.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bellissimo
,NJ
September 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Addictive...wonderful salt !
September 10, 2013
I thought I was being foolish when I first bought this salt. I since have become a great fan. This has a wonderful flavor and finishes cooked foods or raw salad, fruits and other items perfectly.
* I did a taste test with this salt in one palm and the salt I was using in the other. The wonderful pure taste will say it all..my salt had a bitterness to it and this had none. Try it!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 5 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoesGuy
,Joes
,CO
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste of France
July 6, 2013
Having visited l'Ile de Re' and enjoying their cuisine it was a surprise to find the salt we used in France here in the US. This is wonderful finishing salt and the grey salt sister of the white is equally wonderful. They continue to harvest the salt with brightly covered burrows.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReggieX
,Sonoma
,CA
June 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect cooking and finishing salt
June 28, 2013
This product is fantatsic...but beware -- it is addictive!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 7 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Finishing
February 11, 2013
I use this product as a finishing salt to complete any of our home cooking efforts. It adds texture, enhances flavor and completes everything it's added to with none of that harsh chemical flavor from table salt. A must have for my pantry.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 8 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WoolyOne
,Springfield
,IL
Springfield, Illinois
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
4of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cannot Detect A Difference In Taste
August 1, 2012
Perhaps my taste buds are (unfortunately) not as sensitive to the taste of salt(s) as other customers. I purchased this French Sea Salt on the recommendations of other reviewers who seem to be able to detect small gradations of taste quality in salt. Aside from realizing that the salt granules are larger, I can't really detect much extra special flavor or even any subtle differences such as others report. Perhaps this experience is something I need to report to my physician. Perhaps I am becoming salt-tasting impaired! Actually, after tasting this salt several times, it seemed that the salt granules might have slightly burned my tongue. Has this phenomenon been reported by others? As a result of all this, I feel rather neutral about this salt. Comments?
Pros: Texture
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
javadanut
Moneta, VA
Posted April 28, 2013
Fleur de Sel
I could not tell any difference between regular sea salt and Fleur de Sel. I think your tastebuds are fine
0points
Customer avatar
VictorS
West Orange, NJ
Posted April 14, 2013
Couldn't agree more
I personally call all salts priced above $0.99 a pound a "mystery salts". While the other reviewers, tasters and the other salt experts find the significant textural and tastural differences in the salts, I personally find that all salts regardless of genesis, color and national origin possess only one quality - they are salty and change the taste of the dishes only in this dimension. I am about to come to the same conclusion with the olive oils. Live an learn...
0points
Customer avatar
bcolagro
Posted November 21, 2012
Hilarious!
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xanadu
January 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite salt for everything
January 28, 2012
When I first saw this salt and the price I thought to myself " what am I thinking buying this." Well I am glad I did. It has so much flavor. A little goes along way. I made salmon using this salt and let me tell you it was wonderful. Go out and buy it. It is so worth it.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 10 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Bellevue
,WA
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never without it
December 29, 2011
Best salt for slow cooking. Tried the grey version, didn't like it....this is the one.
Review 11 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trunts
,Dyer
,IN
Dyer, IN
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite salt for cooking
December 10, 2011
The flavor and texture of this salt lends a refreshing taste to all of my meals. It also gives my pasta and rice a delicious taste.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 12 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SharleeC
,Kalamazoo
,MI
November 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Fleur de Sel!
November 9, 2011
What a wonderful salt! I would consider this the best Fleur de Sel on the market!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 13 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iowagirl
solon, ia
July 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FAMILY FAVORITE!!
July 5, 2011
I bought this ONCE and now it is the virtually the only salt we use for flavoring food! It is especially great on meat! I highly recommend this salt.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 14 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CrBr
Lafayette, IN
May 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Salt - LOVE
May 4, 2011
My 13 yr. old will not use any other salt. This has a wonderful flavor and finishes cooked items perfectly.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 15 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
debbie9
birmingham, al
April 18, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a necessary luxury
April 18, 2011
i've purchased this salt from wm-sonoma for yrs. our family finds this to be the perfect finishing salt. summer's freshly sliced tomatoes deserve nothing less.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 16 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
learntc
SA, TX
April 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great taste
April 3, 2011
This is the second time I purchased this salt. It has a wonderful texture and great flavor. I use it sparingly as compared to other salts and yet it has a great flavor. I have used it for soups, sauces, salads and meats. I know I will purchase another one soon.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 17 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WSonomaLover
Columbia, Maryland
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just what I needed
December 31, 2010
Thank you Wiliams-Sonoma! I searched everywhere to find Fleur de Sel to make a new recipe, and your web-site had it. After making a food network recipe for carmels, everyone decided that it was totally worth it. They were the hit of the party! Delivery was extremely fast, as usual. Thank You!
Review 18 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VilleChef
Centreville, VA
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lives up to the hype...
November 16, 2010
If you enjoy the natural flavors in fresh ingredients, then you must try this salt. It does wonders to accentuate the flavors of all your dishes. It's the same dramatic step up (from table salt) as using fresh versus dried herbs. I add a final sprinkle to all dishes and it brings out more dimension in the flavor. It seems expensive at first but it goes a long ways. 5 stars!!!
Review 19 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andie13
Rio Rancho, NM
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes sauces perfect!
October 6, 2010
I tried the Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt in my pasta sauce last night. It really made all the other ingredients in my sauce taste much better without being salty tasting. I would recommend this product to all home cooks.
Review 20 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marino
North Carolina
August 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
August 23, 2010
It is a must in every kitchen. I use it extensively in all my cooking. The salt makes everything taste wonderful from a simple salad dressing to a complicated recipe. Highly recommended. It is well worth the cost. I have given the salt as a gift to new brides, cooks and family.
page1 2 3 next