Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt

Fleur de sel, literally "flower of salt," has been gathered on the island of Re, off France's Atlantic coast, since the seventh century. Beloved by cooks, these fine, light crystals have a delicate flavor and high concentration of minerals, making them the perfect finishing salt. Light, delicate flakes of pure sea salt dissolve instantly when sprinkled into food. Produced using traditional methods in which sun and wind evaporate the sea water, leaving crystals that are skimmed by hand from the surface of salt pans. Made in France. 8.8 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
Review 1 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessicaK
April 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Staple in My Kitchen
April 13, 2014
I have purchased this salt on multiple occasions and use it frequently.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
February 9, 2014
The Best Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt Ever!
Perfectly Balanced Flavor. I Use It On Everything From Savory Dishes To The Most Decadent Carmel & Fudge Sauces.
Try It You Will Be Pleasantly Surprised!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, balanced
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rsgdr
,SAN DIEGO
,Ca
San Diego, Calif.
September 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST SALT EVER!!!
September 20, 2013
I have tried many types and brands of Fleur de Sel Salt, however; this one is the best. It seasons food nicely.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bellissimo
,NJ
September 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Addictive...wonderful salt !
September 10, 2013
I thought I was being foolish when I first bought this salt. I since have become a great fan. This has a wonderful flavor and finishes cooked foods or raw salad, fruits and other items perfectly.
* I did a taste test with this salt in one palm and the salt I was using in the other. The wonderful pure taste will say it all..my salt had a bitterness to it and this had none. Try it!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 5 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoesGuy
,Joes
,CO
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste of France
July 6, 2013
Having visited l'Ile de Re' and enjoying their cuisine it was a surprise to find the salt we used in France here in the US. This is wonderful finishing salt and the grey salt sister of the white is equally wonderful. They continue to harvest the salt with brightly covered burrows.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReggieX
,Sonoma
,CA
June 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect cooking and finishing salt
June 28, 2013
This product is fantatsic...but beware -- it is addictive!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 7 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Finishing
February 11, 2013
I use this product as a finishing salt to complete any of our home cooking efforts. It adds texture, enhances flavor and completes everything it's added to with none of that harsh chemical flavor from table salt. A must have for my pantry.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 8 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WoolyOne
,Springfield
,IL
Springfield, Illinois
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-6points
4of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cannot Detect A Difference In Taste
August 1, 2012
Perhaps my taste buds are (unfortunately) not as sensitive to the taste of salt(s) as other customers. I purchased this French Sea Salt on the recommendations of other reviewers who seem to be able to detect small gradations of taste quality in salt. Aside from realizing that the salt granules are larger, I can't really detect much extra special flavor or even any subtle differences such as others report. Perhaps this experience is something I need to report to my physician. Perhaps I am becoming salt-tasting impaired! Actually, after tasting this salt several times, it seemed that the salt granules might have slightly burned my tongue. Has this phenomenon been reported by others? As a result of all this, I feel rather neutral about this salt. Comments?
Pros: Texture
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
javadanut
Moneta, VA
Posted April 28, 2013
Fleur de Sel
I could not tell any difference between regular sea salt and Fleur de Sel. I think your tastebuds are fine
0points
Customer avatar
VictorS
West Orange, NJ
Posted April 14, 2013
Couldn't agree more
I personally call all salts priced above $0.99 a pound a "mystery salts". While the other reviewers, tasters and the other salt experts find the significant textural and tastural differences in the salts, I personally find that all salts regardless of genesis, color and national origin possess only one quality - they are salty and change the taste of the dishes only in this dimension. I am about to come to the same conclusion with the olive oils. Live an learn...
0points
Customer avatar
bcolagro
Posted November 21, 2012
Hilarious!
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Fleur de Sel French Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xanadu
January 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite salt for everything
January 28, 2012
When I first saw this salt and the price I thought to myself " what am I thinking buying this." Well I am glad I did. It has so much flavor. A little goes along way. I made salmon using this salt and let me tell you it was wonderful. Go out and buy it. It is so worth it.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor