Flavor Injector

A fast way to impart flavor and juiciness to meats and poultry, this stainless-steel tool with an easy-to-handle syringe inserts marinades and other liquid flavorings into foods before cooking. It's ideal for roasting, barbecuing and deep-frying - and great for flavoring turkeys.Stainless-steel cover houses a heavy-gauge plastic syringe marked with tablespoon and teaspoon measurements.Window reveals the liquid content level.Extra-wide needle accommodates thick or chunky basting mixtures.
Average Customer Rating:
2.871 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
13 of 31(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Flavor Injector
Review 1 for Flavor Injector
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rewind
Avoca, NE
June 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Friendly and reliable!!!!
June 16, 2011
I looked on several sites with no luck and lo and behold I should have gone to Williams Sonoma first (you think I'd know this by now). The price was right and my husband was very happy with the injector. He loves how easy it is to use and would highly recommend it to all. Thanks Williams Sonoma for always stocking the best kitchen gadgets around.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Review 2 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FloydBeyond
May 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worthless !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
May 22, 2011
Worthless. Needle gets cored with meat and cannot inject or clean without running a wire down it. Taking it back.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 3 for Flavor Injector
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
January 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty good overall
January 15, 2011
I have had this injector for about a year and a half. I use it all the time. I have not had any problems with the needle.
I use it at least twice a month. My only pet peeve with it is that the plunger is very difficult to pull out. I feel like I could pull a muscle, but all in all I am very happy with it.
Review 4 for Flavor Injector
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MarkinKansas
Kansas
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
9of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It does break
December 14, 2010
As a retired doctor, I know how to handle a needle and syringe properly.
If you carefully exert pressure on the syringe and needle hub and push with a force along the axis of the needle to prevent sideways force, it will hold up. If you insert the needle, then not withdraw the tip all the way to the surface (e.g. to a turkey's skin/meat boundary), or pull the tip to open air, but instead you try to redirect it (to "fan" your injecting) with the tip still in the flesh, that's when trouble occurs.
After two breakages, and WS graciously replaced the first and refunded the second, I went to a all-metal injector sold in the deep-fat turkey fryer section of my local hardware store, and haven't missed plastic since.
Review 5 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
inspector2
Minnesota
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This product needs a lot of improvement
November 27, 2010
I not only purchased one but dumb enough to buy a second one after the first one broke. I used the first one and after only two or three uses the needle broke off at the base of the injector and is now useless. I bought a second one thinking the first was maybe defective, not. The second one broke at the thread portion of needle. I have now combined the two to make one and I am not holding my breath to see how long it will take for it to break again. This seams to be a very common problem with this product after reading the other reviews, even if handled like an egg shell it will likely break. Will not try for a third one at a cost of $20.00. This product looks great but duribility even when used gently is not its strong suit.
Review 6 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kevin123
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didnt even get to use
November 25, 2010
Just opened up the box and pulled the injector out but the plunger is stuck, so I am unable to get the needle out. Major disappointment.
Review 7 for Flavor Injector
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Zeilik
Los Angeles
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not very useful
November 8, 2010
I found the injectir has limited usage due to the fact that it has to use very liquidy consistency of flavors. Usage of spices, mustard, and other components will thicken the fluid making it difficult to inject.
Review 8 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ianlin
Foster City, CA
September 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
needle base broke after 1 use!
September 5, 2010
Great when it worked the single time I used it. The needle base broke apart after a SINGLE use. Since it was more than a month after I bought it, I couldn't take it back. Definitely NOT worth the price paid. I wish they at least sell replacement needles.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TerryAnne
Posted November 30, 2010
I received the flavor injector today. What a piece of garbage. Very cheap cannot even get the needle out because the plunder is stuck. The other items I received not very good quality either. Will never shop at Williams sonoma again. Returning everything today.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Flavor Injector
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefINtheMAKING
Parker, CO
September 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My experience
September 2, 2010
I bought my Flavor Injector probably about three years ago and have use it maybe total of 3 to 4 times. I was using it the other day to inject some chicken I was preparing for dinner for the following day . That is when I noticed there was a crack in the needle as I injected the chicken. The crack is in the part where the needle screws onto the syringe. I agree with the individual who mentioned I do not expect a crack in a product that I paid a bit of money for. I also wish I could purchase replacement needles; I thought I was the only one that had experienced this problem. However, before the crack appeared, I enjoyed using the flavor Injector the times I have use it.
Review 10 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yonodey
Chicago
July 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavor injector
July 11, 2010
I too have experienced bad luck with the needle breaking at the base. I am on my third one. The first two have the needles break at the base. The first one lasted about a year. The second lasted about two turkeys. I wish they sold replacement needles or made better needles.
Review 11 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ManCanCook
Yukon Ok
July 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Injector with no needle
July 8, 2010
Nice Injector with no needle when it cracked at the bace of the needle as I read I’m not the only one to have the same problem with the needle I have used it 3 times and crack not worth the money I paid!
Review 12 for Flavor Injector
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ImCooking
salt lake city
June 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worked great until...
June 24, 2010
This is the best injector I've ever used but I was very disappointed when it broke at the base of the needle. I was going to recommend it on my cooking blog for thanksgiving dinner but since reading the reviews and finding out I'm not the only one that experienced the break, I'll pass.
Review 13 for Flavor Injector
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VaOtter
Fairfax Station, VA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One Fine Injector
May 14, 2010
Notwithstanding the criticisms of other reviewers, I'm happy to report how our 1+year old injector is working perfectly with no signs of being on the verge of breaking.
I'm frankly surprised to hear others have reported having the needle break off while injecting...especially since normal injecting involves inserting the needle straight down into the meat. How that could cause breakage at the base of the needle is beyond me. Hey guys...the meat is dead...you don't have to kill it again with your injector :)
Seriously though, this is the best injector we've owned, and I've tried more than a few. With proper usage and maintenance, it should do you good service for many BBQ's to come.
Happy Grilling!
P.S. We just did Steve Raichlen's "Rajin' Cajun rub as an injection last night for a spit roasted whole chicken using our W-S injector. If you like Zydeco on your tongue, this recipe and this injector will get you there!
Review 14 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Molokai, HI
April 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs Improvement!
April 5, 2010
My review is similar to previous reviews...I really like the flavor injector technique/ tool, but this one in particular needs to improve on their durability. While using it for the second time on my Easter turkey the needle broke off at the base (and I promise you that I wasn't being rough or abusive with it!) I was actually a little dumbfounded & confused when it happened! LOL...but a stainless steel needle base would probably GREATLY improve its durability...or replacement needles should be provided/offered!
Review 15 for Flavor Injector
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arthur907
Atlanta, GA.
February 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very functional!
February 16, 2010
I've used other injectors before trying this product and this one is far superior to the others. It is well engineered and ergonomic.
Review 16 for Flavor Injector
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
fresyes
fresno, ca
January 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good for a while
January 23, 2010
We used this product for about a year and it broke last night. As with everyone else, the needle broke at the plastic base. Great product, but could use some improvements. Like a stainless steel needle base!!
Review 17 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mickie12
San Diego, CA
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needle breaks off after very few uses
December 27, 2009
I'm on my second injector--it works great for ~2-4 uses and then the needle breaks off at the point the plastic attaches to the injector itself. My second one just broke after its second use.
While it makes wonderful turkeys, a cost of ~$10 per use is too much for me. Suggest looking for a more ruggedized product.
Review 18 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JenniferandLuis
San Antonio, TX
December 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor needle attachmnt
December 25, 2009
After 2 uses with the injector the black part that attaches the needle to the rest of it broke in pieces.
Review 19 for Flavor Injector
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
care22
the poconos
December 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
just as i expected from WS
December 9, 2009
very good quality, easy to clean, does the job perfectly!
Review 20 for Flavor Injector
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisappointedOn112609
NY
November 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Used Once Last Year - Broke
November 29, 2009
I used this last year once (cost $19) and loved it, but after one use it broke. The plastic piece that screws on the needle to the injector broke. Hopefully they have improved it since last year.
page1 2 next