Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix

For the lightest, fluffiest flapjacks ever, our mixes rely on careful blending and the best all-natural ingredients. Prep is easy-just add milk, melted butter and an egg. For extra flavor and texture, add fresh berries, dried fruit or toasted nuts to the batter. Serve a piping-hot stack topped with sweet butter and pure maple syrup, or crown your flapjacks with seasonal fruit and freshly whipped cream. 1 lb., 4 oz. (makes approx. 14, 6" pancakes). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
8 of 18(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
logan2481
,Las Vegas
,Nv
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why Mess with Purfection
August 30, 2014
I have purchased this product for years. I love how easy they were to make and had the best taste.
Was on my way to purchase more but now that I have read these reviews and the act the taste is not there and now you have to add milk, butter and eggs, is very disappointing.
I won't be buying until WS goes back to original product
Why did WS have to screw up a really great product????
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marlark
,Princeton
,Nj
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why change the best pancake mix ever?
July 20, 2014
I'm so glad I read the other reviews...I also noticed something wasn't right about my favorite pancake mix. I have been using this mix for over 15 years....i would buy it by the case....the pancakes were airy, fluffy delicious....and all you added was water and butter....then they tampered with it....and ruined it.
Maybe the company will read its own reviews and bring back the old mix. There was no need to change a really great thing.
Cons: Texture, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aurelio
,Mexico City
,DF
June 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bring back old recipe!
June 18, 2014
Since the change, from" just add water" to adding "egg, butter and milk," the pancakes turn out flat, and just won't rise. I've been a user since 2000 and always had great results.
First I thought the can I was using was old, or expired but after opening the second one and noticing the change in preparation instructions I confirmed something was different.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, flat
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MPC1
,Toledo
,OH
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fail Proof Pancakes
August 12, 2013
Always yummy and always a crowd pleaser!
Easy to make! Easy to add blueberries or chocolate chips to.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mover
,Champaign
,IL
July 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Something is different
July 24, 2013
I was disappointed in last two cans of this. At first I couldn't figure out if I had done something wrong as they were sometimes flat, sometimes almost salty. When it happened repeatedly I wondered if in production the 'mixing process' of the leavening and flour had gone awry leaving pockets of salty or unleavened mix. It is uncharacteristic of W-S to market a less than stellar product.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, flavor different
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cook4ever
,Tegucigalpa
July 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Longer Favorite WS Pancake Mix
July 13, 2013
A month ago, I made the mistake of buying several of these cans from my local WS before leaving the US. I should have read the instructions first-the first can I ever bought was almost a year ago and I could not get enough and bought more..and those cans read "add water". Now you must add quite a bit of other items. Sure, WS has other recipes which call for the addition of more items but those I was used to...for some reason, the taste now for the Flappin' Jack is VERY different despite the addition of relatively fresh ingredients. I am EXTREMELY disappointed in this and wish WS could bring back what ever the recipe that it was using previous to this new one. It is clear that something is not right with this mix in comparison to the previous one. If I could have given it a "no stars" rating, I would have.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Butterfly86
May 5, 2013
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Longer the Best Mix
May 5, 2013
When I first bought this mix, it was one of the best pancake mix products on the market. Unfortunately, I will no longer buy this product as the recipe and taste has changed. I am extremely disappointed....sorry.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Time to Prepare
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Erikaluv
,Bakersfield
,Ca
April 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the same as before
April 14, 2013
I have purchased Flappin' Jack pancake mix before several times in the past. I did not notice that the directions changed this last time until I got around to make them. They use to be just an "add milk" recipe and they were perfect. Now you have to add in egg, milk, and melted butter. They are not fluffy like they used to be. I followed the directions to a T. They do not taste the same, almost a little bitter. I would buy this mix for special occasions and now I have to find a new pancake mix that taste like the old recipe. Maybe WS should have put a "new recipe" on the can so customers would be aware of the change.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
caliali
brooklyn, ny
Posted November 30, 2013
totally agree with erikaluv and others
Used to love this mix and suddenly it's changed! I also don't like the taste or the consistency of the new mix. Why isn't this being addressed when so many seem so very unhappy! It would be nice to see a response from Williams-Sonoma!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FrenchSD
,San Diego
,CA
March 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice package but that's it.
March 22, 2013
I'm not a fan of a classic American style thick pancakes. I love crepes much more. But my husband is a big fan of these kind of pancakes. I was browsing in the store and noticed a cute retro-style package and thought I'd give my husband a surprise. He is not very picky when it comes to food, but he wasn't really impressed with these! I know, tastes differ, but my husband and I have very different, opposite tastes. We both disliked it. Too plain, really thin, needs a lot of flavor like jams, etc. The package is cute though. Makes you think these are old, grandma style pancakes, which is not true. I guess, for those who doesn't have much time to spend in the kitchen these pancakes might work. They are very easy to prepare, can't argue with that. But to me taste matters, not just a brand.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We'll pass in the future.
February 12, 2013
Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix has cute packaging going for it but not much else. The flavor was absent so it ended up just being a vehicle for fruit and syrups. I trashed the second half of the can because the whole family gave it a thumbs down.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
matthew88
,St. Paul
,MN
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best pancake mix ever!
January 27, 2013
This is so amazing! This is great pancake mix! I won't go back to my old.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Denise617
,Crowley
,Tx
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pancake mix
January 1, 2013
My families favorite, I forgot how many I have already purchased. You also have to try the syrup. The best , can't go back to a cheaper brand. Once you have tried this you will be hooked.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YoConn004
,Manhattan
,NY
November 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't wait to eat more
November 7, 2012
I have been using this pancake mix for years and words cannot describe how delicous they are. I use buttermilk instead of regular milk and they are the best pancakes I've ever had..... big and fluffy. I can't recommend them enough.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PieLady11
,Silver Spring
,MD
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Mix Falls Flat
November 4, 2012
I have been the biggest fan of Flappin Jack Pancake Mix for years... I recommended it to everyone I knew. But the new recipe that William Sonoma has just begun to distribute is NOT the same as the old one... the pancakes used to be fluffy and just sweet enough, but now with this new version thery are flat and bitter. I will not be purchasing this again, and only hope that the other reviews listed here are not left-over reviews from the old recipe.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, bitter
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamahl
,Jacksonville
,FL
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME PANCAKES!!!
October 4, 2012
I have had a lot of different pancakes around the world but these are simply the best.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billeray
,Cheyenne
,WY
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pancake Mix
August 14, 2012
This pancake mix is awesome. Will it ever be available again?
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Pancake Mix
June 28, 2012
I don't make pancakes all the time so I thought I would try these. It seems that with the grocery store mixes or homemade recipes you need ingredients that you may not always have on hand. Sounds silly, but true. Just add milk. Perfect pancakes every time. I think they changed the packaging, but still great mix.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Flappin' Jack Pancake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaJudy
,Crown Point
,IN
Crown Point, IN
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pancakes Ever!!
February 1, 2012
If you like thin pancakes with a great taste...than these are for you! My family can't get enough of them and they are so easy.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor