Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce

Count on these sauces to help you whip up elegant dinner-party fare-or an impressive weeknight meal. Each is prepared using classic recipes and the best natural ingredients. They're slowly simmered with fine wine, savory stock and spices to create rich, complex flavor. For a fabulous finishing touch, just heat your preferred sauce, then drizzle over roasted or sauteed meats, poultry, seafood or vegetables. Pinot Noir Shallot Peppercorn is a robust, French-inspired sauce that blends Pinot Noir wine and beef demi-glace with roasted garlic, shallots, rosemary and black peppercorn. Lemon Chardonnay showcases the classic French pairing of Chardonnay wine and tangy lemon, simmered with chicken demi-glace and fragrant thyme Champagne is a delicate, French-inspired reduction crafted from Champagne, onions, garlic and thyme. Piccata is a light, lemony Italian-style reduction made with Chablis wine, capers and lemon juice. Black Currant combines the rich, fruity flavors of tart black currants with red Burgundy wine, shallots and chicken stock. Marsala blends beef broth, herbs, spices and oak-aged Marsala-a sweet, fragrant fortified wine made only on Sicily's west coast. Truffle combines French black truffles and aromatic truffle oil with Burgundy wine, shallots, chicken stock and demi-glace. Wild Mushroom features the savory flavors of wild porcini and cremini mushrooms, slow-simmered with Burgundy wine, shallots and chicken stock. Bordelaise is a legendary French combination of red Burgundy wine and savory beef demi-glace, accented by a classic blend of spices. 12 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
16 of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu2
,NY
NY
November 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Time Saver and Restaurant Quality Taste
November 24, 2014
We have tried the Pinot Noir on Filet Mignon, the Black Currant on pan grilled boneless pork chops (both very good when you can't grill outdoors or are in the mood for something a little more interesting), and the Marsala for Chicken Marsala. The Marsala was too thick and had to be mixed with a little Marsala wine. Whereas; the Pinot and Black Current were perfect right out of the bottle. All taste very good. They are a little expensive, but a small amount really does go a long way. I highly recommend them; especially for a quick and delicious weeknight dinner.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildflower2
,Vancouver
,BC
August 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
August 13, 2014
I purchased three of these finishing sauces and they are all great! I had lots of compliments and even wanting the recipes. I avoided the answer as I did not want them to think I did not slave over this sauce for them. I am looking forward to buying more.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susy1
,Miami
,fl
May 24, 2014
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite sauces!
May 24, 2014
They are a little bit expensive, but are the best sauces. This is the best I've found to make my chicken taste great!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: expensive
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
misspaula
,Vienna
,VA
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ideal finishing product for many meals
May 20, 2014
When needing to finish off a meal needing a sauce or gravy, try these different sauces. They are very flavorful, and add a complex finish to meats, chickens and seafood. I love them.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoyfulColoradoan
,Longmont
,CO
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just tried my second finishing sauce....
December 25, 2013
Christmas 2013, we just had the Pinot Noir Shallot finishing sauce today over freshly cut beef tenderloin - delicious! We wanted to grill our filets today and since the weather was unseasonably warm, I seared the filets in a pan first to get the juices going and added the sauce while my husband took the filets out to grill - the sauce was wonderful atop the freshly grilled filets.
I have also had the Black Currant sauce with a similar positive experience.
Keep the sauces Williams Sonoma! I'm sure it is just a taste preference among different reviewers here but this reviewer loves your finishing sauces!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
schuhshine
,NY
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Marsala Sauce
November 7, 2013
This is my second purchase of Williams-Sonoma Marsala Sauce. I've found it great to keep on hand in my pantry. Use it to extend the volume of homemade sauce or just add to chicken, fresh mushrooms and pasta for a quick meal. Great stuff!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GregJ
,Minneapolis
,MN
October 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pinot Noir underwhelming
October 21, 2013
I purchased the Pinot Noir Shallot Peppercorn sauce to finish pan-seared chops. It had an ok flavor but was very subtle, with very little pepper or shallot flavor. It was not bad, but it didn't bring much to the table over deglazing the pan with red wine and reducing it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tickles
,Buffalo
,NY
Buffalo, NY
October 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too many capers
October 12, 2013
This had a decent flavor but needed more lemon and fewer capers. The capers were chopped and so numerous that I actually strained the sauce to get them out. I also added some fresh lemon juice. We'll use the sauce (doctored up), but I definitely won't purchase again. Not even close to homemade or fresh tasting.`
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MomOSquish
,NC
NC
August 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Processed taste
August 17, 2013
I used the Pinot sauce with beef tenderloin as recommended in a recipe from WS. My teenager loved it, but I thought it took my beautiful $100 cut of meat and made it taste like something from a major bar-food chain. The taste wasn't bad, but made the dish taste like processed food.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MizShine
,Homosassa
,FL
July 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Marsala the Best...
July 10, 2013
I bought the Marsala Finishing Sauce for chicken dishes, and now we use it on steaks, burgers and other meats. Use with Portabello mushrooms and you're in for a real treat!
Will definitely be purchasing again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaNaNa
,Altus
,Ok
Altus, OK
June 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Piccata like no other....
June 26, 2013
This delectable sauce is one of the best in a bottle. Time saving yet delish- allows me to put a gourmet dish on the table in about 30 min. Start-to-finish! With just a fresh lemon and a few extra capers because we can't get enough of them this sauce gives chicken real class. Our family all say it is their favorite tied only with the mushroom finishing sauce.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tsuki
,Southern
,OR
Klamath Falls, OR
June 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect and easy to use
June 15, 2013
We have used all of these products. My favorite is the piccata which I think is excellent! I brown floured chicken breasts, and thin lemon slices in butter & olive oil, set them aside, stir the sauce into the the pan and add lemon juice to taste stir until heated and then put the chicken back in the pan, add capers and cook until the meat is done. We serve over good Italian pasta. It makes a great quick and easy meal for unexpected guests.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NaturallyCurlie
,NYC
,NY
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
IT'S DELICIOUS
May 27, 2013
Tastes as good as a resturant's.
Good with chicken or veal.
Simple/easy to prepare a restaurant type meal. Enough for several meals.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HallieH
,Naples
,FL
Naples, FL
March 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didn't Enjoy
March 24, 2013
Always hesitate to critique food because taste is such a personal preference but I found the Marsala Finishing Sauce bitter. I tasted it before using (perhaps my mistake) because I didn't want to ruin my food. I purchased it because I was in the store and wasn't going to the liquor store in the near future. I didn't enjoy it and because a pan sauce is so easy to make I wouldn't buy it again. If you can't find Marsala locally it may be a good option, however.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoriShea87
January 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love the Picatta and Marsala
January 4, 2013
I've reordered the Marsala and Picatta many times. Great sauces. Perfect for a quick dinner drizzled over chicken. I also toss with grilled vegetables and brown rice for an easy lunch to take to work. Tried the Yuzu, and not as crazy about that one.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Annasdesire
,Punta Gorda
,FL
December 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finishing sauces
December 1, 2012
First, W&S doesn't seem to have recipes for the finishing sauces other than brief suggestions on the bottle. I have the Marsala, Black Current and Bordelaise. I followed the Black current instructions with pork tenderloin and the result was too strong of a flavor bordering on vinegar taste. Can't comment on the other two since the Black Current scared me off. These are too expensive to have the poor results that I had.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, need w&s to include more recipes on using product.
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KKLSF
,Santa Fe
,NM
October 30, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Sauces!
October 30, 2012
We tried he Truffle sauce (our favorite) with beef and the Champagne sauce with chicken and both were excellent. It was so easy and worth every penny! You could use either sauce for any meat. We're definitely going to try the sauces with fish and pork.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
winecollector
,Prescott
,Az
September 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did NOT Enjoy
September 28, 2012
This sauce tasted sour. Used as directed in the recipe, but ended up throwing the bottle away.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladyluck379
,Vicksburg
,MS
August 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, I love the flavor
August 15, 2012
Really good. I have tried with beef and chicken so far. I plan to try the other finishing sauces as well. Worth the price.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HWGII
,Chicago
,IL
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OUTSTANDING!
March 7, 2012
I purchased the Bordelaise to serve with a filet mignon roast at Christmas--EXCELLENT! Could NEVER have made this wonderful sauce myself! The bottle seems small--BUT it actually yields A LOT, and lasted MORE than 20 servings of Filet! Worth EVERY penny!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
page1 2 next