Fermentation Weight Stone

The key to successful sauerkraut or pickles is to ensure that the vegetables remain submerged well beneath the brine, and these ceramic weights are made for just that purpose. The high-density material gives them excellent heft and durability, while the two-part design makes them easy to insert into fermentation crocks of different sizes. Made in Poland from high-density, unglazed ceramic. Two-part design lets the weights fit a variety of fermentation and pickling vessels. Center hole allows air to escape, so vegetables are submerged completely beneath brine. Flat bottoms ensure consistent pressure. 6 3/4" diam., 1" high; 2 lb. 10 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fermentation Weight Stone
Review 1 for Fermentation Weight Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmyMC
,Cincinnati
,Oh
July 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fermentation Pot and Stone Weights
July 28, 2014
Excellent purchase - I have made sauerkraut and a batch of pickles, so far. The weights are a must as I make only small batches.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Fermentation Weight Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarkR
,CA
March 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cheaper than anywhere else, but great
March 12, 2014
Fermentation stones can be rather expensive, but these are not. Just a light washing before use is all that's needed, and these fit the 1.3 gallon fermentation pot sold by Williams Sonoma perfectly. I couldn't be happier with them.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 3 for Fermentation Weight Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richardrpr
,La Plata
,MO
March 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works great
March 8, 2014
These weights are way cheaper than anything else I've found and work great. I'm using the 1 gallon crocks from Ohio Stoneware, and these fit just right. I'm back to order more of them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 4 for Fermentation Weight Stone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AltonD
,Burlington
,VT
January 15, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product but Caution
January 15, 2014
I bought this along with the Fermentation Pot as they seemed to work together, but there was no way I could get the stone inside of the pot to hold down the cabbage.
I may yet use it for some other task, because the product is great and should work well. I just wanted to make sure that people who at least read the reviews would know that the two do not go together.
Please, if this is not the case perhaps someone could share a video showing how to do it?
Pros: Weight, appropriate for task
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
calgal55
los angeles
Posted July 25, 2014
they do fit
I have the crock and the weights and I thought they wouldn't fit when I first looked at them but they do. Put them in facing north to south (the half circle with the flat side straight up and down) and then twist when you get into the jar. they both fit perfectly.
0points
Customer avatar
Dimbo
Posted February 23, 2014
submerging kraut, etc.
Take several of the whole, large outer leaves and make a layer on top of the kraut, then place the weights on top of the leaves. That should solve your problem.
You can find lots of help on youtube as well.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Fermentation Weight Stone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrLRP
Sunnyvale CA
February 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sauerkraut!
February 26, 2013
This is a great deal on these weights. Cheapest I have found anywhere. I got them with tax and free shipping (keep your eyes out for those no-minimun-order free ship days) for $7.55. That is a great deal.
These are made in Poland and great quality. Mine came with a few chips, but not big enough to want to return. They were package extremely well. These are 6 3/4" in total diameter and 2 lbs 7.5 oz in total weight. They are for a 5 liter crock.