Fermentation Pot

Making tangy, crunchy naturally fermented sauerkraut is a delicious way to make the most of cabbage from your garden or farmers' market. With our traditional pot, the process is as simple as shredding the fresh cabbage or beets and placing it the crock with a bit of salt. Time and fermentation do the rest, aided by the pot's heavy lid, which rests in a water-filled collar to create an airtight seal. Handcrafted in Poland from dense, glazed stoneware for excellent temperature stability, which significantly improves the flavor of the finished food. Just add vegetables and salt, top with weights (not included) and cover with lid to start the fermentation process. As fermentation begins, naturally occurring carbon dioxide drives the air out of the pot, creating an oxygen-free environment inside. Add carrots, onions, caraway seeds, juniper berries or other ingredients to flavor your sauerkraut (recipe not included). Also ideal for making kimchi and pickled cucumbers, or for curing olives. 8 3/4" x 10 1/4" x 10" high, with lid; 1.3-gal. cap. Hand-wash.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fermentation Pot
Review 1 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Acrushla
,Wichita Falls
,TX
October 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Crock!
October 12, 2013
Didn't come with any kraut making instructions, but they were easy to find online. (Search for "The Shiksa Blog Ferment Cabbage". That was the recipe I followed and she uses this crock!) This thing is HUGE. I used about a head and a half of cabbage and it didn't nearly fill it. Bought it and the WS stone weights together. Worked wonderfully. Didn't even have any scum! After fermenting I put kraut in mason jars with water, a little vinegar and sliced garlic. Yummy, crunchy kraut!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight, packed well
Cons: Difficult to Clean, no kraut instructions
Review 2 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carriep
August 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great kitchen addition
August 13, 2013
I LOVE this new addition to my kitchen! It made my first attempt at fermenting a sure success. I thought that I needed the weights that everyone commented on. Originally I used a zip bag of water as a weight, but I saw someone else say that it was unnecessary so I tried it without and it worked perfect!
Review 3 for Fermentation Pot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
April 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Nice But Wish It Had Weights
April 9, 2013
I love the size of this crock for small batches, and the workmanship is awesome. However, I really wish it came with weights to fit down inside and keep the veggies submerged. Some manufacturers offer weights, and that is part of the added cost.
Review 4 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLBMojo
,Bloomfield Hills
,MI
April 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Substantial Piece
April 3, 2013
I'm new to the art of fermentation...but am very impressed with this ceramic creation. It's impressive in both look and weight. I'm sure it will serve my desires to this new foray quite well!
Review 5 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobambibrains
,Newcastle
,CA
March 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE this Crock
March 4, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this crock.... the water filled ring quickly creates the anaerobic environment needed to make lovely sauerkraut. I have made several batches of sauerkraut and several batches of Kim Che all without the weights that every one thinks they need. I can say that the whole process is a bit faster if you have some whey left from your last cheese making.... but it works perfectly without the whey too...
Pros: the waterfilled lip makes weights unnecessary, looks lovey on the counter, less expensive than any other model
Cons: no sixth star?
Review 6 for Fermentation Pot
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CountryKitchen
,Franklin Grove
,IL
February 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty but Useful?
February 19, 2013
I received this as a Christmas gift from my husband after marking in the catalog as something I would like. Was a bit disappointed that there were no recipes or helpful hints included with the product. I'm in the process of making sauerkraut but uncertain it's actually working. Would have been nice to either include the weights, or show it as a needed "add-on" for this pot.
Cons: no instructions
Review 7 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don2222
,Farmington
,NM
January 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It works like it should.
January 10, 2013
This has made the most incredible sauerkraut. I did a little research and found a recipe book I liked. I use a rock in a baggie for a weight. This is a fun item.
Review 8 for Fermentation Pot
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TexasDiva
,Crockett
,Tx
October 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
5of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fermentation Pot
October 15, 2012
I really would have liked some instruction on how to use this fermentation pot and A basic receipe would have been nice as I spent too much time searching for one. Now that I have purchased the pot I think I wished I had purchased one with the weights.
Review 9 for Fermentation Pot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cookitmama
,San Antonio
,TX
July 31, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brine cucumbers for pickles
July 31, 2012
Love the pot, I knew no weight was included, however, iI think instructions should have been included with a few recipes
Review 10 for Fermentation Pot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
captuna
,Supply
,NC
June 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
7of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy else where
June 12, 2012
There were no direction on use nor recipe.
Fermentation pot did not include required weighted stone which had to be purchased from another company.
The pot itself was very nice and will serve the intended purpose very well.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
slyon
Los Angeles, CA
Posted December 26, 2012
Weights
What company did you purchase a weight from, which had the correct dimensions for the opening of this particular fermentation crock? I just got it as a gift and am very excited but need to find the exact size weight to fit it.. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Fermentation Pot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Titch
,St Louis
,MO
May 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+18points
26of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No directions, recipes, or weights
May 4, 2012
This fermentation pot is not complete. The vegetables need to be kept submerged under the liquid and without weights this can't happen? No directions or recipes came with it. You can find the complete systems if you Google fermentation pots.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AllieH
Falls Church, VA
Posted July 8, 2012
As advertised
The description clearly states that the weights are not included! This item is considerably cheaper than others on the market (even with the purchase of weights) and anyone can look up recipes on the internet. I will be buying this product!!!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)