Fermentation Pot

Making tangy, crunchy naturally fermented sauerkraut is a delicious way to make the most of cabbage from your garden or farmers' market. With our traditional pot, the process is as simple as shredding the fresh cabbage or beets and placing it the crock with a bit of salt. Time and fermentation do the rest, aided by the pot's heavy lid, which rests in a water-filled collar to create an airtight seal. Handcrafted in Poland from dense, glazed stoneware for excellent temperature stability, which significantly improves the flavor of the finished food. Just add vegetables and salt, top with weights (not included) and cover with lid to start the fermentation process. As fermentation begins, naturally occurring carbon dioxide drives the air out of the pot, creating an oxygen-free environment inside. Add carrots, onions, caraway seeds, juniper berries or other ingredients to flavor your sauerkraut (recipe not included). Also ideal for making kimchi and pickled cucumbers, or for curing olives. 8 3/4" x 10 1/4" x 10" high, with lid; 1.3-gal. cap. Hand-wash.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fermentation Pot
Review 1 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
santamariaranch
,Miami
,OK
August 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hello Pretty Brown Sauerkraut Pot!
August 28, 2014
I grew up making sauerkraut with my parents and grandmother. I loved hearing the old wives' tales regarding who was suitable or not suitable to help make the sauerkraut or be the cause of its ruination.
My husband, a sauerkraut making virgin, was a machine! We did take the easy way out and use the food processor instead of my family's antique kraut cutter on the first batch. Did my husband enjoy the fruits of his labor? Let's just say he called me at work after making a pit stop at home to have his first bowl of sauerkraut and wieners with our fermented sauerkraut. Amazeballs!
Next time we will use turnips instead of cabbage. Who knows, perhaps we will branch out to kimchee next!
Now the confession. We have purchased four of these pots. I know we have a problem but there are worse things in life!.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 2 for Fermentation Pot
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beejay58
,Intl Falls
,Mn
August 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design for Sauerkraut
August 11, 2014
This pot is not ideal for fermenting cabbage for sauerkraut. The diameter of the opening is too small and smaller than the diameter of the pot so it would be awkward trying to use a weight. It might be ok for pickling cucumbers or beets but I use jars for that. I think a regular 3 gallon or 5 gallon crock is better designed and more versatile. The fermentation pot is well made and was on sale but I returned it because it is just not well designed for making sauerkraut which is what I want to do this fall.
Pros: Durable, Quality, material, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Design
Review 3 for Fermentation Pot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aheist
,Juneau
,AK
Juneau, Alaska
July 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Crock!! Include weights, rough edges
July 18, 2014
This is the perfect crock for home fermentation. It is beautifully made and is big enough to be worth the time and effort of fermenting, but not so large that you can't keep it in your kitchen. Depending on how full you stuff it, you can end up with about 3 quarts of fermented product.
As others have stated - this should REALLY include the ceramic weights. It's fine to sell the weights separately for others who want to use their own crock, but if someone is buying a fermenting crock, you can pretty well assume that they don't have some fermentation crock weights (perfectly sized for this crock) just sitting around. Just build it in to the price!
This is a handmade stoneware pot and the unglazed edges on the pot and lid are rough enough to scratch a countertop. Simply get wet-dry sandpaper (the black stuff) and do 20 seconds with 180, 20 with 220, and 20 seconds with 400 grit under running water and those edges will be super smooth!! As a potter, it's a trick we use regularly! Enjoy!!
Pros: Quality, material, Size, Appearance
Cons: missing weights
Review 4 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Acrushla
,Wichita Falls
,TX
October 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Crock!
October 12, 2013
Didn't come with any kraut making instructions, but they were easy to find online. (Search for "The Shiksa Blog Ferment Cabbage". That was the recipe I followed and she uses this crock!) This thing is HUGE. I used about a head and a half of cabbage and it didn't nearly fill it. Bought it and the WS stone weights together. Worked wonderfully. Didn't even have any scum! After fermenting I put kraut in mason jars with water, a little vinegar and sliced garlic. Yummy, crunchy kraut!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight, packed well
Cons: Difficult to Clean, no kraut instructions
Review 5 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carriep
August 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great kitchen addition
August 13, 2013
I LOVE this new addition to my kitchen! It made my first attempt at fermenting a sure success. I thought that I needed the weights that everyone commented on. Originally I used a zip bag of water as a weight, but I saw someone else say that it was unnecessary so I tried it without and it worked perfect!
Review 6 for Fermentation Pot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
April 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Nice But Wish It Had Weights
April 9, 2013
I love the size of this crock for small batches, and the workmanship is awesome. However, I really wish it came with weights to fit down inside and keep the veggies submerged. Some manufacturers offer weights, and that is part of the added cost.
Review 7 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLBMojo
,Bloomfield Hills
,MI
April 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Substantial Piece
April 3, 2013
I'm new to the art of fermentation...but am very impressed with this ceramic creation. It's impressive in both look and weight. I'm sure it will serve my desires to this new foray quite well!
Review 8 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobambibrains
,Newcastle
,CA
March 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE this Crock
March 4, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this crock.... the water filled ring quickly creates the anaerobic environment needed to make lovely sauerkraut. I have made several batches of sauerkraut and several batches of Kim Che all without the weights that every one thinks they need. I can say that the whole process is a bit faster if you have some whey left from your last cheese making.... but it works perfectly without the whey too...
Pros: the waterfilled lip makes weights unnecessary, looks lovey on the counter, less expensive than any other model
Cons: no sixth star?
Review 9 for Fermentation Pot
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CountryKitchen
,Franklin Grove
,IL
February 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
4of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty but Useful?
February 19, 2013
I received this as a Christmas gift from my husband after marking in the catalog as something I would like. Was a bit disappointed that there were no recipes or helpful hints included with the product. I'm in the process of making sauerkraut but uncertain it's actually working. Would have been nice to either include the weights, or show it as a needed "add-on" for this pot.
Cons: no instructions
Review 10 for Fermentation Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don2222
,Farmington
,NM
January 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It works like it should.
January 10, 2013
This has made the most incredible sauerkraut. I did a little research and found a recipe book I liked. I use a rock in a baggie for a weight. This is a fun item.
Review 11 for Fermentation Pot
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TexasDiva
,Crockett
,Tx
October 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
5of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fermentation Pot
October 15, 2012
I really would have liked some instruction on how to use this fermentation pot and A basic receipe would have been nice as I spent too much time searching for one. Now that I have purchased the pot I think I wished I had purchased one with the weights.
Review 12 for Fermentation Pot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cookitmama
,San Antonio
,TX
July 31, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brine cucumbers for pickles
July 31, 2012
Love the pot, I knew no weight was included, however, iI think instructions should have been included with a few recipes
Review 13 for Fermentation Pot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
captuna
,Supply
,NC
June 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
7of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy else where
June 12, 2012
There were no direction on use nor recipe.
Fermentation pot did not include required weighted stone which had to be purchased from another company.
The pot itself was very nice and will serve the intended purpose very well.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
slyon
Los Angeles, CA
Posted December 26, 2012
Weights
What company did you purchase a weight from, which had the correct dimensions for the opening of this particular fermentation crock? I just got it as a gift and am very excited but need to find the exact size weight to fit it.. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Fermentation Pot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Titch
,St Louis
,MO
May 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+18points
26of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No directions, recipes, or weights
May 4, 2012
This fermentation pot is not complete. The vegetables need to be kept submerged under the liquid and without weights this can't happen? No directions or recipes came with it. You can find the complete systems if you Google fermentation pots.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AllieH
Falls Church, VA
Posted July 8, 2012
As advertised
The description clearly states that the weights are not included! This item is considerably cheaper than others on the market (even with the purchase of weights) and anyone can look up recipes on the internet. I will be buying this product!!!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)