This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook

Maria Helm Sinskey drew upon her experience as an award-winning chef and mother to create this unique cookbook. While her 100 family-friendly recipes can be mastered by cooks young and old, they also reflect the sophisticated palate of a world-class cook. Sprinkled throughout are tips on how to involve the entire family in bringing dinner to the table - from choosing the freshest local ingredients to delegating fun, rewarding tasks in the prep line. Detailed instructions and photos are provided for the recipes, which include basics such as chicken stock and sourdough starter to finished dishes like her overnight cinnamon rolls, extra-cheesy lasagna and braised beef stew. The recipes for tempting desserts are bound to draw the kids into the kitchen. Hardcover, 288 pages. A Williams-Sonoma Exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cdandy
Southern Pines, NC
February 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic
February 22, 2010
I absolutely love this cookbook!!!!
Several of the recipes now make regular appearances at our dinner table. Some of the projects are time consuming. I was never able to grow a sourdough starter. But several of the recipes have really gotten my kids excited about cooking. For instance, the pasta section. My 10 year old brought in his homemade pasta with homemade tomato sauce to lunch one day at school and let his friends try it. The next week in pick up line a little friend came up and pulled on her moms shirt and whispered to her that she wanted the recipe- so we did a cooking class! I am ready for Book 2!
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gourmetmom
Thousand Oaks, CA
September 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
14of 18found this review helpful.
So disappointing
September 3, 2009
I was so excited to get this book. I cook every night for my family, and love almost all of my Williams-Sonoma cookbooks. They have been really successful so far. But I was so dissappointed in this book. I was expecting something that would encourage families to eat more together. For more big family events. The majority of the book is centered around baking and desserts, with very few dinner options. I would take this back if I could. Plus, all of the personal stories are ok in moderation, but for it to take up more than half the book is unacceptable. I'm looking for a cookbook here, not a memoir. The title is completely deceiving, in my opinion.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookbookAddict
Newport Beach, CA
June 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
A Great Find
June 26, 2009
The book has beautiful photographs! The recipes are family friendly and very easy to follow. The "Try This At Home" sections challenge the reader to take the process further. This is one cookbook that I could start on page one and continue until I tried all of the recipes. Enjoy!
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommyByDei
Gainesville, FL
May 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This Cookbook has the Best Cupcakes!
May 1, 2009
Received this cookbook as a wedding present, and what a treat it has been! I love to cook and as we have a young family, we are just beginning to create our own family traditions. This book has really inspired me with the many delicious recipes I have tried and my family has enjoyed. Made the chocolate cupcakes for my son's first birthday, and they were SO yummy I don't know where to start. I will be making them again and again. Excellent buy or gift.
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rhysbethan
seattle, wa
April 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Excellent Book
April 1, 2009
This book was a delight. All the recipes I have tried have been wonderful but the best part is the inspiration contained within its pages. It makes me want to have family meals every night.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
madsmom767
Hawaii
February 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
well worth it
February 23, 2009
excellent cookbook! very informative. i have tried many of the recipies already and they were all excellent. best of all my family loved the food! do not be intimidated.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrisP
anacortes, wa
December 7, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great Cookbook
December 7, 2008
This cookbook offers good qualiity ingredieints with simple cookig methods. I gave this ccokbook to my daughter & grandaughter as a gift, loved the recipes. Many were of the quality I would have made. simple- easy and fun.
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Family Meals Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margarethe
Portland, ME
November 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful, inspiring book
November 3, 2008
Beautiful photographs, good recipes, and useful information about using organic and local products. Wonderful ideas for putting family meals together and involving children in the process.