Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker

This traditional stovetop pressure cooker not only reduces cooking times by up to 70%, it also locks in moisture and nutrients to yield succulent, healthful dishes. From Spain's leading manufacturer of cookware and appliances, the speedy cooker has a self-locking handle that provides unparalleled safety. Polished 18/10 stainless-steel exterior with heat-conductive aluminum insert in the base that speeds heating. Self-locking handle seals lid when there is any pressure within. Auto-pressure release valve. Use low pressure for delicate foods like fish, fruits, soft vegetables and custards. Use high pressure for hearty dishes like stew, chili and roasts. Energy-efficient design works on any type of cooktop, including induction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
Review 1 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
morjoie
,Annapolis
,MD
July 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Color Me Converted!
July 6, 2014
I thought stovetop pressure cookers wouldn't work on glass-topped stoves, but I decided to take a chance on Fagor. I have been happily using Fagor ever since. It's all stainless steel and after months of cooking ribs, chicken wings, etc., with all kinds of sticky sauces, I have never had a problem cleaning the pot. It is easy to use, easy to open and close and well-engineered, so I never worry about a malfunction. Because it is stainless steel, it is already compatible with induction stoves/burners. I would rather pressure cook my ribs than grill them (and that's sayin' something! ;-)) I also appreciate the large gasket that lines the top. It will be very easy to see when it's time to replace it. On long road trips, I even take my pressure cooker with me. It's so convenient and easy to cook with pressure and the results are just marvelous. This is an excellent pressure cooker. I highly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 2 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dcdoyenne
,Washington
,DC
September 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good concept, disappointing product
September 25, 2013
I had been longing for a pressure cooker and chose this one online. The top is lighter than other models I compared it to in the store. The handles and valves also appear a bit flimsy for the cost.
After reading the review from zeldazu, I decided to exchange it for a different one given the stress it must endure over time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, Weight
Review 3 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
zeldazu
,Near Austin
,tx
September 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cooks Great, Not So Durable
September 8, 2013
In summary, I love the way it cooks, but I've had to replace all but one part in the past 5 years, and now a non-replaceable part has broken.
1. Gasket at about 1.5 years (yes, explosion ocurred, food all over kitchen ceiling)
2. Helper handle at about 3 years (more food splatter, but all over the floor this time)
3. Steam-valve piece at 3.5 years (no food involved)
4. Now, the whole helper handle attachment has fallen off (happily, no mess this time, pot was empty). Today, will see if Williams Sonoma will replace the pot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
tptedge1
Knoxville, TN
Posted August 10, 2014
Wow
So sorry. I have a 30 plus years old SS Presto 4qt that has had a couple of wear parts i.e. gasket, the old jigger regulator and still cook 2 to 2.5 qts. of dried beans no problem. The EU Fissler's do a great job as well with zero issues. They don't make em like they used to and the cheap price is oft forgotten after the sale has been made. Good luck. WS is really great about making things right!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MBCS
,New Haven
,CT
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic pot -
April 15, 2013
I use this pot 3-4 times per week. Not sure why anyone would bother with a slow cooker when this exists. Makes great food possible even with a lot of time constraints at the end of the day. Very easy to use and any recipe you want has a pressure cooker version when you look online. In a short time, you figure out how to cook anything in it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 5 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cornsey
,Valparaiso,
,IN
Valparaiso, IN
April 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite Kitchen item
April 11, 2013
I have been cooking with pressure cookers forever... I always bought Presto Stainless Steel. I wanted the 10 Qt so I purchased the Fagor 10 qt from William Sonoma. I absolutely love it. It looks so beautiful and is so easy to clean.. Love stainless steel. My friend has the non stick from Calphalon and she hates it. It always looks so dirty and worn out. I would recommend this one absolutely. You won't believe the time saver. It makes great artichokes, pot roasts, potatoes, veggies (meat especially cooks so quick. It cooks with such great flavor. Love it. Bought my daughter one also and she loves it. She has 5 boys and a husband who is a fabulous cook.. They use it all the time. She is a master cook! Would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, its the best!, its stainless steel!
Review 6 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wslandry7
,Palos Verdes
,Ca
April 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Perfect!
April 11, 2013
Braised short ribs and then added 2 cups of Knorr beef stock and 40 minutes. When I opened it up per instructions the meat was the most soft and tasty ever! The pot doesn't make noise and it will make the toughest meat taste soft and fantastic. I cook all types of meat in this pot and than I add all the veggies into the pot and cook it without the pressure cooker closed. Try it with Beef Shank and you will be so impressed. Most cooking times for meat is 45 min or less. Love this cooker!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 7 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mistybluewaters
,Linden
,NJ
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EASY STICKER REMOVAL
February 21, 2013
I purchased the 10 qt pressure cooker and am going to buy the 6 qt one next. I also had the problem with the sticker that comes on the pot. I used rubbing alcohol first to get most of the paper of the stick off. Than I used Palmolive OXY plus power degreaser dish soap with hot water and a NON scratch scouring pad and the glue and everything can off in 15-20 minutes. Just let the dish soap with hot water sit on the sticker for a few minutes and than rub lightly with the pad. You may have to do this a couple of times but it works and no residue is left.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
debthecook
,Prairieville
,LA
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it, just like I love his bigger brother.
January 2, 2013
I have the larger Fagor 10 qt. and loved it so much I wanted the smaller one too for smaller cooking jobs. This did require a learning curve. I read a negative review on this site when I was preparing to order this pressure pot. Someone talked about the noise that the pot made and I will agree that the FIRST time I used my 10 Qt., I left the fire pretty high because I thought that it needed to make some noise or else it wasn't cooking. I was wrong. These new pressure cookers have the little yellow button that pops up to indicate you have reached pressure. My mistake was that I didn't lower the heat and so it made noise and almost ran out of water. Just yesterday I pressure cooked a 6 pound corned beef in my 10 Qt. and after bringing it up to pressure, I could turn the heat all the way down to Low and it kept pressure [the little yellow button up] for the entire hour and 15 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, fits in the sink well due to handle design.
Review 9 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melanika
,Seattle
,WA
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it so far. Sticker removal recommendation
December 27, 2012
So far it's great. I had the same really bad sticker residue on the body of the pressure cooker as a previous reviewer. I soaked my pot in hot water and all the paper came off but the sticker residue was horrible! I used a great product called De-Solv-It to remove it with no problem. Try it if you get a pot with a bad sticker too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: terrible sticker residue
Review 10 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMSrichmond
,Richmond
,VA
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing! Super fast!
December 21, 2012
I feel sorry for the person who returned this item because the sticker wasn't easy to remove..... I've used this twice in the two days since I opened the box. A large sweet potato was perfectly cooked in 10 minutes and quickly make into a mash to go with slow braised short ribs. Today, soup made in 10 minutes. I look forward to may more quick fixes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Morgangirl59
,Hollister
,NC
June 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Choice
June 11, 2012
I just bought this and am very happy. This is my first experience with a pressure cooker and the first meal was a smash hit!! Easy to use, easy to clean up and the recipe book has so many great looking ideas, I can't wait to try again. Important: Be sure to read about electric stove use before you start, I did scorch the chicken a bit when I started.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 12 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raynman
,Jacksonville
,FL
April 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Used to be afraid!
April 18, 2012
I've always heard horror stories of heads being chopped off or holes in the ceilings because of errant pressure cooker incidents. Because I've never used one before, I bought a cheap pressure cooker - and found out after I got it home, that not all work on glass top stoves. After some research I found this one. It is worth every penny! It's easy to operate and I love the click feature when you close - takes any guess work out of it. I've only had it a week and have used it 3 times AND produced restaurant quality food. Needless to say, the family is very happy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 13 for Fagor 6-Qt. Stovetop Pressure Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demanding
,Daly City
,CA
March 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reliable & Durable
March 1, 2012
I purchased a Fagor 6-quart pressure cooker from Williams-Sonoma after having had a bad experience with another brand of pressure cooker. I have used my Fagor pressure cooker frequently and have found it to produce consistently good results with a minimum of fuss. It is well-made, versatile, easy to use, and simple to clean. It does everything I need a pressure cooker to do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, compact, pretty