This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook

Written by award-winning cookbook author Georgeanne Brennan with an introduction by France-based cooking teacher and restaurant critic Patricia Wells, this cookbook includes all the recipes and techniques you'll need to prepare regional French favorites. Chapters offer more than 140 recipes for every course, from hors d'oeuvres through dessert, with color photos illustrating techniques and reference sections on French food and wine traditions. Hardcover, 288 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NurseTealy
,Madison
,AL
February 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Bon Appetit!
February 22, 2013
These recipes are very detailed and the photography is beautiful. Quiche Lorraine - use fresh grated nutmeg or don't bother. The entire family loved the Chard Gratin. I rarely follow recipes to the letter, but I haven't had to alter many of these recipes. That being said, Gratin Dauphinois: use less dried thyme than the recipe specifies or it will be overwhelming. Steak au Poivre: I omitted the beef boullion and cognac (can't/won't bring my 4 yr old to a liquor store, can't buy it at a grocery store in our state) SO I instead used the Horseradish Cream sauce from the WS Essentials of Roasting p 116 - wasn't really the same dish at that point but it was delicious.
I made PERFECT creme brulee and followed that recipe precisely. My grandmother and husband have both started calling me Julia.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WKhoman
,Providence
,RI
February 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing all around
February 10, 2013
This cookbook has so many great recipes that are both fundamental and unique. I've already used to many recipes, but still have so much more to try out. Truly perfect and very easy to understand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gazarro
,Ponce
,PR
April 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Fabulous cookbook with regional details
April 14, 2012
This cookbook is now in my prized favorites cookbook shelf. It truely is essential!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sainttarte
,Lansing
,MI
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
This book will change your life
December 30, 2011
The beauty of this book actually made me cry. To quote an American I heard in Toulouse (insert nasal voice) "Oh my God, it's so French!"
But it truly is, in a fantastic way.
Congrats on an ridiculously awesome book!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rblan
Portland
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Wonderful with one exception
February 20, 2011
I have to say that I think that this is a wonderful cookbook. It has beautiful, glossy photographs and easy to follow instructions. All of the recipes that I have made from this book have been delicious with one exception. The tarte au citron recipe has incorrect preportions. I made this for company one night and knew that there was something wrong when I mixed the ingredients and saw how liquidy they were. I was hoping it would set in the oven but it never did. I tossed the whole thing and served cupcakes to my guests. I have since researched several recipes for this dish and found them to use several more eggs/egg yolks. Be warned!
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Canuck1988
Austin, TX
February 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
I love this book!
February 26, 2010
I have yet to find a recipe in this book that is not divine. The instructions are very easy to follow, but the book does go beyond the basics of cooking. I have learned quite a bit from it and will use it for years to come.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of French Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EGunn1
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
My favorite cookbook!
January 7, 2010
I absolutely adore this cookbook. It includes a glossary of terms and ingredients, very clear step-by-step instructions (which make complicated techniques easy), breakdowns of traditional cuisine by region, and even suggestions for wine & cheese pairings and menus. Everything I have cooked so far has come out wonderfully (especially the French Onion Soup as pictured on the cover - restaurant quality, if I do say so myself!). A must have for anyone!