This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook

Whether your goal is a perfect pie, a crusty baguette or an ethereal souffle, this cookbook will serve as an indispensable guide every step of the way. Updated with a chapter devoted to chocolate recipes and techniques, this authoritative volume contains all the essential information needed to master the fundamental techniques of baking. You'll find more than 130 enticing recipes for everything from breads, pizzas, muffins, pies and savory tarts to cakes, cookies, pastries, custards and souffles, along with sauces, fillings, frostings and glazes to embellish them. Detailed directions and instructive color photographs accompany the easy-to-follow recipes. This reference-recipe book includes a complete glossary as well as detailed information on ingredients, equipment and essential techniques. Hardcover, 319 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewlywedInAZ
,Kayenta
,AZ
May 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My Favorite Baking Cookbook
May 22, 2012
My husband & I received this cookbook as a wedding gift, and I have to say, it's definitely one of the best wedding gifts we've received. I am going through all of the recipes, and every one I've made has been delicious. I also love all of the wondering tips it gives to baking pies, breads, etc. This cookbook has helped me get ideas of what I can make and bring to potlucks, and I receive compliments every time I bring a great dessert/bread to dinner.....Also, I have made the Lemon Meringue Pie close to a dozen times since it's my mother in law's favorite pie, and it's absolutely the best Lemon Meringue pie I've ever had & made, as it's so fresh and lemony. However, other favorites are the Chocolate-Banana Bread Pudding, Devil's Food Cupcakes, Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake, the Basic Focaccia, and definitely the best Classic Chocolate Cake. However, I can't wait to discover more favorites, especially since I've just bought a tart pan.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitty62862
,NYC
,NY
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
An Education!
October 18, 2011
Whether you are a novice, or you've baked for years, this book is a must. I've baked for more than twenty years, and I have browsed through this book with wide eyed wonder. The French Apple Tart is lovely, as is the Vanilla Bean Cheesecake. I never knew how to braid Challah, but I do now. Is there someone on your Christmas list who expresses some interest in baking? Give them this book. They will love you for it. It is a sizeable, solid, sturdy volume. It will hold up to be passed down. I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, very educational
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Winter Park, FL
June 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
best baking cookbook
June 2, 2011
I absolutly love this cookbook. My husband has LOVED everything that I have baked out of this book. I have only had it for about 2 weeks, and can't resist trying something new every day. One of the best cookbook purchases I have made!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AuntSandi
Venice, FL
May 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
-8points
0of 8found this review helpful.
Great Shower Gift
May 5, 2011
purchased this as a shower gift for my niece who is all about apple pie....
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Priya
Ann Arbor
October 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
definitely a must-have
October 13, 2010
awesome!sooooooooo helpful...this book defines baking and how easy it is to bake any thing .Even gives solutions to everyday baking problems and really helps refine your technique.How to do stuff w/ hands and w/ a machine......incredible!!
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LWalker
Virginia
June 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
the best cookbook in my kitchen
June 23, 2010
I am currently baking through this entire book and have yet to find a recipe that is not delicious. From cookies to pastries, this book offers beautiful recipes for all varieties of baked goods. Instructions are easy to follow with accompanying how-to pictures, so even the beginning baker is set up for a success in the kitchen. This is a must-have for anyone interested in baking.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BakerandWSlover
Las Vegas, NV
April 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Baking Bible ! Soooo Well Done !
April 13, 2010
What more can I say? This is a wonderful MUST HAVE book for anyone who enjoys baking or anyone just starting out (wedding gift).
Beautiful photos in addition to extra tips and it is just such a detailed book, I love it!! thanks ws !!
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AdamD
SLC, UT
March 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Our family's best discovery of 2009
March 16, 2010
My wife and I loved this book so much, we have been acquiring the other "essentials" books bit by bit. Thanks to this book one of our favorite things to do now is stay in instead of going out and make something from our favorite baking book.
Thank you Williams-Sonoma.
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natt
Melbourne, florida
January 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Gift!!
January 4, 2010
I gave this as a Holiday gift to a friend that loves to bake and he was so grateful. He has already used it with great success.