This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook

Asian cuisines are renowned for their delicious diversity, inviting cooks to discover a world of vibrant flavors and venerable food traditions. Part of Williams-Sonoma's "Essentials" series, this comprehensive cookbook explores the signature recipes and culinary cultures of fifteen Asian countries - from the northernmost regions of China and Japan to the archipelagoes of Indonesia. You'll expand your kitchen repertoire with more than 130 authentic recipes for beverages, appetizers, soups, salads, main courses and sweets, all showcasing regional ingredients, techniques and traditions. Instructive color photos provide a step-by-step guide to such fundamentals as assembling dumplings, making flatbread and cooking tempura. For further in-depth information, consult special sections on Asia's culinary history, Asian tea service, stocking your pantry and creating menus. A basics section provides recipes for condiments and garnishes, while a complete glossary explains key ingredients. Hardcover, 288 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LATR
Boston
June 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Fantastic Book
June 18, 2011
With a few new sauces in my cupboard (dark soy sauce, bean paste, etc.) I've made tons of recipes from this book and they have all turned out fanastically. I keep waiting for one of them to be just okay, but they're always great and taste authentic.
Sometimes, they aren't the most convenient, so it's more of a weekend cookbook. But definitely one I'm very happy to have.
Pros: Accuracy, Quality, Versatile
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NBechthold
Minneapolis, MN
June 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Asian
June 4, 2011
I have never cooked Asian food before and everything I have made in this book is delicious and has a great depth of flavor. You can find most of the ingredients at your local grocery store but the others can be found at your local Asian markets. The taste of the food is comparable to fine Asian restaurants. My family loves each dish and the kids help me make the fresh spring rolls.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ses5e
VA
January 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
BEST BOOK!
January 21, 2011
The variety and quality of the recipes in this book are great. Every recipe I've tried has been great - some are now staples in our home. WONDERFUL!
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizLaurel
Laurel, MD
May 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
A great guide if you are new to Asian cooking
May 23, 2010
I received this book for Mother's Day. Any Asian cooking I have done before has been from, I would say, fairly generic recipes. This book is a great way to start a new culinary journey. The recipes are easy to follow, and the index is a godsend! Most of my cooking is Italian or French; I was a bit skeptical when I got this book, but my first foray was so successful I have been inspired to do more. AND I've gotten to discover some out-of-the-way little groceries in our area where I can stock up on all these unusual new ingredients!
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vtcripe
Greenville, SC
May 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent!
May 9, 2010
I just recently purchased this book. I've only tried 5 recipes so far, but they've all been awesome! I've had a hard time finding a really good Asian book, but this one is great!
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Asian Cooking Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveToCook81
Jacksonville, FL
April 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+21points
23of 25found this review helpful.
Recipes I've been looking for
April 1, 2009
When I flipped through this cookbook and saw that it had recipes from Korea and Japan that I had been searching desperately for, I grabbed it right away. Many websites had versions of the recipes, but nothing as thorough and in-depth as I can count on a WS cookbook to be.
Asian cuts of meat are very different from European/North American cuts, and it is sometimes hard to know what to ask the butcher to do or what to substitute. Similarly, Asian vegetables are different and substitutions or English names can be tricky. This book gives me the English names and appropriate substitutions when they are an option.
My husband and I lived in the Orient for two years. The recipes I make from this book are consistently the flavors we miss from the Orient.