This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut

Roasted chestnuts are a familiar sight and scent at holiday time. A customer favorite, our comforting blend soothes with the warm, buttery fragrance of chestnut essence, spiced up with aromatic cinnamon and clove. Our candles fill a space with a fresh, natural fragrance, scented with the premium-quality essential oils. Biodegradable and not tested on animals, our earth-friendly blends contain no parabens, ammonia, chlorine or lauramide DEA. They're developed exclusively for Williams-Sonoma in the USA. 9 oz. 3 1/2" diam., 3 3/4" high. Burns 50 hours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BendOR
,Bend
,OR
October 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
So sad - this candle has changed!
October 24, 2013
6 years ago I happened to purchase one of the wonderful Spiced Chestnut candles, and they became an instant tradition for my family. Every October we’re thrilled to light our first WS candle of the season. We look so forward to the lovely scent of chestnuts filling the house for the Autumn and Winter. In October I always purchase 4+ of them for myself (to get me through December), and several more as gifts for my favorite friends. Over the years I’ve purchased close to 80 of these delicious candles.
Today I was saddened to light my newly purchased WS Spiced Chestnut candle only to discover that the lovely aroma no longer fills our home. After several hours of burning I realized that not only had the color of the wax changed but the scent is only detectable when you lift the candle to your nose.
I will be returning my remaining 3 candles to WS and will not be buying them as gifts this year.
Cons: smell
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JET12
,Dallas
,TX
October 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Not the same candle!
October 5, 2013
Spiced Chestnut Candle is not the same as it has been in past years. I wait for this candle every fall. Inside the box smells wonderful, however,it has been burning for about a hour and literally no scent. Not sure what is going on, but I am disappointed. The dish soap, hand soap and hand lotion in spiced chestnut still smell wonderful, but the candle has changed. :(
Cons: no smell
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SunnyCalifornia
September 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
The worst has finally happened...
September 7, 2013
Every year, we wait anxiously for the Spiced Chestnut scent. This past week, we found the collection in stock at our local store and stocked up. While at the store, we noticed that the scent of the single wick candle in the box did not seem strong but we weren't concerned.
Now at home, we have had one candle burning for two hours and absolutely no recognizable scent of our beloved Spiced Chestnut.
In years past, the candle didn't even have to be burning for the room to be scented with that fabulous fragrance.
It seems the formulation has changed and that is sadly disappointing.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fleurfairy
Upstate NY
November 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Can't live without this scent
November 20, 2012
This is probably hands-down the most delicious scent I have ever smelled. So much more sophisticated than other candle brands' Christmas scents. It has so much depth to the scent. You can smell the chestnut, the vanilla, the clove, and cinnamon. Warm, cozy, and truly mouthwatering. Wish the came in bigger sizes!
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelleeey
,Charlotte
,NC
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Smells amazing!
October 8, 2012
This candle smells amazing! I got online to buy another one and decided to write this review. Just received mine in the mail today and I need another one for the other side of my house! I would describe this secent as light and warm. It's present but not overpowering. Makes my house smell great!
Pros: Scent
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeannieC
,NY
New York, NY
November 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE THIS!!
November 22, 2011
I was just in the WS store today and saw this for the first time. I just adore the fragrance. The combo of vanilla and chestnut make it smell like something is baking in the oven. I grabbed one right away for myself and also purchased the lotion which makes my hands feel soft and refreshed.
I love this so much that I'm going to get a few as gifts and I also want to buy the soap for myself.
Pros: wonderful fragrance, beautifully packaged, wonderful hand lotion
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginie
,Seattle
,WA
October 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
FAVORITE !!!
October 20, 2011
This is my all-time favorite candle, but since I cannot afford to burn it year-round, I can hardly wait until fall when I purchase two (on sale!) to take me through the holidays then into the new year. The scent is very subtle, but spreads through the entire house (or at least my small house)! Thank you W&S for always having them on sale in the fall, so I can have my holiday fragrance fix!
Pros: subtle yet full
Cons: expense
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Codeedo
Memphis, TN
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love This Scent
January 26, 2011
This candle puts out a mild yet delicious scent. I think I would like it year-round and it burns straight down so no sloping-effect. I'm just disappointed they had it at a Williams-Sonoma outlet last week for $8.00. $14.00 doesn't seem like such a bargain. Guess I'll wait around and hope they reduce the price online, too....
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MLHinSeattle
Seattle
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My Favorite Candle
January 25, 2011
I have purchased, used, and given friends this candle several times over the years. It has a wonderful, warm smell, and lasts a long time.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KalistasGrandma
Surprise, Arizona
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Extraordinary scent
January 20, 2011
Most candles I purchase just have an alright scent, but this Spiced Chestnut smells delicious. I had to buy another for the rest of the year.
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu
Asheville, NC
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Warm, inviting fragrance
January 17, 2011
Love this candle. I purchased additional ones when they went on sale after Christmas. What a delightful fragrance. My husband even likes the candle, too.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lelly66
Houston, TX
January 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful fragrance!
January 15, 2011
The chestnut candle is so wonderful - apparently it is carried only during the holidays. Even when it's not burning, you can smell the candle across the room. It's just lovely. The W-S closest to me was out of the candles, so I ordered on line.
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cricket0608
New Orleans, LA
January 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Smelling Candle EVER
January 14, 2011
I had one of these candles which lasted forever, and I hated to see it come to an end. So glad that I was able to order another. I gave one as a Christmas present and told her that she would never own a better smelling or longer lasting candle than this one. It is my absolute favorite!
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loveroflabs
Florida
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!
January 11, 2011
The scent of this candle is not overpowering. I light it every night and it just gives such a pleasant scent throughout the house....warm, cozy. Soon I will have to be ordering another! I also have the handsoap and lotion in this scent which I received as a x-mas present. I have already ordered two more..(on sale!)
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhg0914
Atlanta, GA
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderfully Fragrant!
January 11, 2011
I buy these candles in bulk every year during the holidays so I can enjoy their scent all year round....love them even more when I can buy them on sale! I have given several as gifts and everyone comments on how much they love their smell!
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CecilyH
Colorado
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great boxed candle
January 4, 2011
Very satisfied. As advertised. Would order again. Wonderful warm smell.
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meload
Salisbury UK
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing scent
December 19, 2010
I'm writing this review from England and as we can't get Williams Sonoma products here, I demand any friend heading to the States to buy me one of these candles to keep my stocks up. I adore this candle so much, it smells beautiful, lasts a long time and the scent makes me very happy!
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nonetodate
Baton Rouge, La
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Spiced Shestnut is favorite scent in kitchen
December 19, 2010
Spied Chestnut scent is greaest!. However, am disappointed that it is not offered year round in dish soap. Candle complicments scent used in matching soaps. I keep soap in sink dispensers all year long. I also use same scent in hand soap/creme dispensers in bath off kitchen. William Sonoma should sell Spiced Chestnut year roud, and offer it in size larger than 16 ounces.. It is necessary to buy year supply at Christmas or substitue with less desirable brand. Spiced Chestnut dish soap came in half gallon like size offered several years ago,, but not available anymore. Why?
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeandStar
Las Vegas
October 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Christmas & Thanksgiving!
October 25, 2010
This scent is the perfect fall, Christmas and Thanksgiving scent! We love it and get the hand soap as well! :)
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emilyinhawaii
Oahu, Hawaii
October 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
One of the best candles I've ever bought
October 23, 2010
The box may say "kitchen candle" (meant for masking cooking smells, I guess), but I think this is a perfect "everywhere candle"! The scent is very strong and spreads well throughout the room (you can be 20 feet away from where it's burning and still smell it... that's when you know you have a great candle!). When I first got it out, but before I lit it for the first time, I kept wondering what I was smelling that smelled so much like my new candle; then I realized the scent is so strong and spreads so effectively that you can sometimes smell it even before it's lit. I will be buying more of these for myself and as gifts, and look forward to trying the other "kitchen candles" scents (Winter Forest and Orange Spice).
page1 2 next