This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut

Roasted chestnuts are a familiar sight and scent at holiday time. A customer favorite, our comforting blend soothes with the warm, buttery fragrance of chestnut essence, spiced up with aromatic cinnamon and clove. Set inside a glass holder, the candle is ideal for displaying on a kitchen counter, mantel or sideboard and also makes a great hostess gift. Eco-friendly candle is made of a beeswax and vegetable wax blend. Fresh, natural fragrance derived from premium-quality essential oils. Paper core and cotton wick ensure a clean, aromatic burn. Crafted using biodegradable, earth-friendly ingredients. Burn time: up to 50 hours. Developed exclusively for Williams-Sonoma in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
4 of 12(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 31, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Christmas Scents
December 31, 2015
Love the smell of this candle. Great Christmas smell without being overbearing.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NJ
November 25, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
What a Surprise!
November 25, 2015
I can not believe the reviews this candle has been getting. I purchased this less than a month ago and I can't stop burning it because it fills the entire house! No joke! It is almost over bearing at times and I have to blow it out because of the strength. They must have received a bad batch of candles because this one is the complete opposite.
Pros: Scent, Quality, Strength
Cons: Strength
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Huge disappointment
November 4, 2015
Spiced Chestnut candles are one of the things we look forward to each autumn and winter. I'm extremely disappointed this year and agree with the recent reviews. This candle has no scent when burning and only faint scent unlit. It used to fill the room with its warmth. I'm glad I purchased only one, based on the dissatisfied comments online, instead of my usual three or four. I guess we'll be looking for something new.
Pros: Scent
Cons: Quality, smell, Strength
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
October 19, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
DIFFERENT SCENT UNDER SAME NAME SPICED CHESTNUT
October 19, 2015
Wow. What a disappointment. This is no longer the spiced chestnut candle I look forward to each fall. This candle smells like a Glade product. The scent is completely different from last year but is still labeled Spiced Chestnut. Please return to your previous manufacturer for this candle!!! Worried the Winter Forest candle (for Christmas) is also different - I see its packaging has changed too...
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
December 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Disappointed
December 12, 2014
The candle smells wonderful in the box but has NO scent when lit. It has been burning for 2 hours and I cannot smell it at all (only when I lean right into it). Might as well be unscented. Quite pricey for a candle that hardly has any smell. It is a shame since the other products smell so great. I traveled an hour to get to a store and bought 3. I have no way to return the other 2.
Cons: no smell
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
December 9, 2014
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Used to be treasured
December 9, 2014
I too couldn't wait to get this formerly, decadent smelling candle each year. My husband would buy me one every Fall. The fragrance was insanely great and it would fill the entire house. I noticed the container changed in the last couple years and am sad about the fragrance. I bought 2 as gifts for family this year but probably won't do it again. :(
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
December 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Most a Disappointing Candle
December 5, 2014
I agree with the other reviewers who have written that this candle has changed, and not for the better. I first purchased this candle the year that our son was born at Thanksgiving (2006), and have purchased it every year since. Our other children and friends always commented on the smell, and it reminded us all of that special fall of 2006. The last couple of years, the candle is completely different -- different, less pleasant odor, and even that scent is extremely faint, and doesn't carry through the house at all. I actually consider it deceptive marketing to give this candle the same name as the older version. Note: The only positive reviews for this product date back to 2012!
Cons: Quality, smell, Unreliable
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Bend
,OR
October 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+23points
23of 23found this review helpful.
So sad - this candle has changed!
October 24, 2013
6 years ago I happened to purchase one of the wonderful Spiced Chestnut candles, and they became an instant tradition for my family. Every October we’re thrilled to light our first WS candle of the season. We look so forward to the lovely scent of chestnuts filling the house for the Autumn and Winter. In October I always purchase 4+ of them for myself (to get me through December), and several more as gifts for my favorite friends. Over the years I’ve purchased close to 80 of these delicious candles.
Today I was saddened to light my newly purchased WS Spiced Chestnut candle only to discover that the lovely aroma no longer fills our home. After several hours of burning I realized that not only had the color of the wax changed but the scent is only detectable when you lift the candle to your nose.
I will be returning my remaining 3 candles to WS and will not be buying them as gifts this year.
Cons: smell
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
WoolyOne
Chatham, IL
Posted January 2, 2015
Response (Explanation) From W-S Much-Needed Here
Please, W-S Reps, explain what has happened in the manufacturing process of these candles. This many reviewers cannot be wrong. Different vendor? Cost-cutting strategies by vendors? Please interpret! I spend hundreds of dollars every year on the essential oils products for myself and friends. Another reviewer had concerns about the Winter Forest line, too. Please come clean (no pun intended) and tell us what has happened. Thanks!
0points
Customer avatar
lawvgirl
West Virginia
Posted October 30, 2014
Disappointed to read quality is poor.
I was on the web page to order 6 of the spiced chestnut candles and was surprised to see the reviews low and reviewed the comments. I have purchased these candles each season to last the entire year. I was disappointed to read they have changed the ingredients and now lack the quality we expect from WS. I immediately cancelled my order. Why is it when something becomes popular the companies reduce the quality? How disappointing!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
October 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Not the same candle!
October 5, 2013
Spiced Chestnut Candle is not the same as it has been in past years. I wait for this candle every fall. Inside the box smells wonderful, however,it has been burning for about a hour and literally no scent. Not sure what is going on, but I am disappointed. The dish soap, hand soap and hand lotion in spiced chestnut still smell wonderful, but the candle has changed. :(
Cons: no smell
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
September 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
The worst has finally happened...
September 7, 2013
Every year, we wait anxiously for the Spiced Chestnut scent. This past week, we found the collection in stock at our local store and stocked up. While at the store, we noticed that the scent of the single wick candle in the box did not seem strong but we weren't concerned.
Now at home, we have had one candle burning for two hours and absolutely no recognizable scent of our beloved Spiced Chestnut.
In years past, the candle didn't even have to be burning for the room to be scented with that fabulous fragrance.
It seems the formulation has changed and that is sadly disappointing.
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upstate NY
November 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Can't live without this scent
November 20, 2012
This is probably hands-down the most delicious scent I have ever smelled. So much more sophisticated than other candle brands' Christmas scents. It has so much depth to the scent. You can smell the chestnut, the vanilla, the clove, and cinnamon. Warm, cozy, and truly mouthwatering. Wish the came in bigger sizes!
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Essential Oils Boxed Candle, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Charlotte
,NC
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Smells amazing!
October 8, 2012
This candle smells amazing! I got online to buy another one and decided to write this review. Just received mine in the mail today and I need another one for the other side of my house! I would describe this secent as light and warm. It's present but not overpowering. Makes my house smell great!
Pros: Scent