Espro French Coffee Press

A breakthrough in French-press brewing, the ESPRO Press lets you enjoy rich coffee flavor without any residue or grit. The preferred press of fine hotels worldwide, the ESPRO has patent-pending double micro-filters, which are 9 to 12 times as fine as standard French-press filters-coffee flows through while even the finest sediment stays behind. The double-walled stainless-steel carafe keeps your coffee hot and fresh, while the sides stay cool to the touch. Also ideal for brewing loose-leaf tea, straining hot or cold beverages ad cocktails, and making extracts. Fine stainless-steel mesh filters retain grounds, silt and sediment. Filters are BPA, BPS and phthalate free. Double-walled stainless-steel carafe is vacuum insulated for superb heat retention. Made without glass-no breakage or replacements. Lightweight and exceptionally durable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Espro French Coffee Press
Review 1 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waltz
,Elba
,AL
October 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy, but not Gritty
October 7, 2014
After much personal debate, I treated myself to the small press. I was suspicious at the price, but after just enjoying my first cup of coffee, I am very satisfied. This has to be the least gritty cup of French pressed coffee I have ever had. I had been using the miniature Bodum model for several years, but was always put off by the soot left at the bottom of my cups. Advice to new buyers, visit the manufacturer's website and review the video tutorials, because the blonde in me thought I was supposed to put my grinds inside the filters — hint, do not; this is actually how the filters work as dual. Simply scoop your grounds into the pot and fill with your boiled water. The instructions mention a fill line that seems absent in the small pot, so I just filled to within an inch of the top — this brewed a perfect amount for the smaller W-S ceramic mugs. Treat yourself!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, two filters really makes a difference
Review 2 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zivatar
,Wichita
,KS
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very effective French Press
August 21, 2014
I have always liked french press coffee. This one produces similar flavorful coffee, but because the filter is much more effective the usual french press grit is almost entirely eliminated (but not quite). Mine is the medium. It doesn't quite deliver the advertised 18 oz--more like 16-17. And it's pricey, but it appears to be durable, so I doubt I'll have to replace it soon. It requires a tad more pressure than the standard Bodum or similar to press down, apparently because of the finer filter, but that's not a a problem--you needn't be a body builder to use it. It's fairly easy to clean once you've figured out how to take it apart, etc. The directions are a bit more schematic than I'd prefer, but they're adequate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 3 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RonS
,Puyallup
,Wa
July 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic French Press
July 12, 2014
I was initially hesitant to invest in this particular french press. In retrospect it has been worth every penny. The quality is very high and it keeps your coffee hot a lot longer than I anticipated. I purchased the mid-size press. It makes about two solid cups of coffee. If you are looking for more volume than that purchase the next size up. I would hesitate to purchase the smaller size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 4 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amarko2
,Ellicott City
,MD
July 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes great coffee
July 1, 2014
I got the largest size - love it. I have only made coffee (cold brew and hot). I haven't compared to my other one for quality.
Pros: Easy to clean and use.
Cons: Very Shiny - definitely have to wipe fingerprints off of it (sounds petty but they do show).
They give you some other creative recipes which I didn't think about before, but am now looking forward to trying.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 5 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fredrick
,Flagstaff
,AZ
June 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love it!
June 18, 2014
I love the double filter system. I get very little or no grounds at all in my cup.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 6 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynmcd
,Rockville
,MD
June 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best French Coffe Press Ever!
June 3, 2014
This Espro coffee press makes delicious coffee with NO sludge! It keeps the coffee warm for over an hour. The beauty and durability of the stainless steel components means no worries about breaking glass. Definitely worth the splurge!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 7 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
winehound
,Alexandria
,VA
April 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I wish it were a little bigger
April 19, 2014
My wife and I bought this pot four months ago having been loyal French Press users for over thirty years. We purchased it for the insulating and filtering qualities and it does both very well. The coffee is delicious and free from sediment and it stays warm for hours. The only cons are because of the filter system you get less coffee which can create domestic tension and it also traps some of the brown nectar beneath the filter so you will cry a lot as you pour it down the drain. However, it makes great coffee and keeps it warm.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: it takes a time or two to to the hang of it.
Review 8 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ilovewisconsingobadgers
,Manitowoc
,Wi
April 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1st time with a French Press
April 13, 2014
We've always used a drip maker and when that one broke down I decided to try a French Press. I was expecting a long annoying process in the morning when all a person wants is their coffee first thing! But I wanted to see what the fuss was about and I was also sick of bitter tasting coffee that had sat on the warming plate. So, I did some research and found this. I am so glad I bought it. It takes about 10 minutes to boil the water in a teapot and 4 min. later you have GREAT coffee! I wasn't expecting my husband to tell the difference in taste or even try to make it on his own (anything more than 1 step is too much work!), but he does taste the difference as well and doesn't mind the extra steps. As for others complaining about the coffee being hard to plunge, it makes a difference if the grounds are course (like recommended) or fine. When I use course grounds I have no trouble with the plunging, and even when I use a fine ground, it's more work but still not much trouble...
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: Speed
Review 9 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoNewTothis
,NY
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use it everyday
April 7, 2014
We love this French Press (first time user of a press). We HIGHLY recommend that you also watch the manufacturer's video on how to use this and it will cut-down on any problems you have with this press. Great tasting coffee.....reminds me of home!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Espro French Coffee Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ioui
,MA
March 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb coffee - with a learning curve
March 29, 2014
We did a blind taste test about a month ago, comparing drip coffee from an automatic maker, Chemex and a french press. The french press won our test. We bought the Espro because it would keep coffee warm in its insulated carafe. As long as you don't overfill and stir the coffee before you put the top on, the coffee you get is a great reward. And it stays hot for several hours and does not burn. Minuses - a fair amount of the brewed coffee gets trapped underneath the press, so we purchased a fine mesh sieve and remove the press and pour the extra coffee through the sieve to get another full cup. This is a bit labor intensive. And cleaning out the grounds is more work than with a drip and filter system. But again, we like the coffee so much it seems worth it. Also wish it were larger, as we are coffee hounds and could use a larger carafe. I do not find it hard to clean once the grounds are out though, and all parts can go through the dishwasher.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Cons: Size, more work than other coffeemakers
Review 11 for Espro French Coffee Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReginaH
,Dallas
,TX
March 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too pricy to be this awful
March 24, 2014
This is my 2nd attempt to post this 1-star review. Strangely, my 1st review of this product does not display on the W-S site.
In short, this coffee pot is terrible! The filter must be cleaned very regularly in order to be effective and that filter is near impossible to disassemble. Clean filter or not, no way can you fill the pot with water...a geyser of hot coffee springs up when you depress the plunger. The pot's insulating properties are a nice feature, but the negatives far outweigh this one positive.
Pros: insulated
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Assembly, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ReginaH
Dallas, TX
Posted March 28, 2014
FOLLOW-UP
KUDOS to Williams-Sonoma! After posting my 1-star product review, I took a chance and called the W-S store where I purchased the coffee pot hoping to be able to return the pot and obtain a refund. I explained how dissatisfied I have been with the coffee pot and the woman I spoke with stated that W-S wanted me to be happy with the product and assured me that I could return the pot for store credit even though I no longer had the receipt. HOW ABOUT THAT FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE?! Williams-Sonoma did what few retailers do today; they took care of the customer. I was, and still am, a loyal customer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Espro French Coffee Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Peppersock
,Charlottesville
,Va
March 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst product ever!
March 8, 2014
I have been through a host of press pots. This one is dreadful. You can't fill it with water too close to the top or you have a geyser of wet grounds all over your counter. My husband has to stir the grounds in before plunging. The seal is so tight I can't plunge it. I have to use a strainer or I get a mouthful of grounds. I will be returning to my old stainless steel press pot made by another manufacturer.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Speed, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Assembly, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted July 18, 2014
INSTRUCTIONS THAT COME WITH THIS PRESS
The instructions explain how much water capacity your pot can safely hold. All you have to do is measure the water and you won't have the problem you had with overfilling. Plunging can be difficult if you are not using the proper COARSE grind. This is very important. Pressing the coffee has to be done slowly, like in the demo video. Its only when you try to press too fast that the coffee will spurt out. This type of pot has to be used properly and with attention to all these little details. It is not for everybody. It makes a great cup of coffee, some say the best. But obviously, many people can't be bothered to take the care required when using a French press.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MusicCityGal
,Nashville
,TN
February 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best cup of coffee - ever!
February 11, 2014
My husband and I enjoy an excellent cup of coffee. We have tried various coffee machines from ultra-expensive to the basic coffee machine and have enjoyed coffee at some of the best restaurants in the world. We were introduced to the French coffee press while abroad, however the sediment left much to be desired. Enter the Espro French Coffee Press. We purchased this press last week and have not been disappointed. The coffee is consistent and there is no sediment of any type at the bottom of the cup. Easy to use, easy to clean, this has turned out to be the best investment we have ever made for the purposes of an excellent cup of coffee. You will not be disappointed with this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 14 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josiebelle
,Wilmington,
,NC
January 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot european coffee
January 25, 2014
I was in search of an espresso machine when I went off track in the store and found this heavenly French Press. I've never owned one and this got my attention with how beautiful it was. I wouldn't mind having it sit on my counter! We're a "single cup" maker family so waiting to make my coffee in the morning seemed like a challenge. I tried a few different coffees, and then read the directions, :), which advise course grind, so now I use medium/course grind and it is perfect.
One thing I love about this press is that If you warm the inside while boiling your water, it stays hot, while the outside, including the bottom is cool. The coffee is wonderfully strong and smooth. I keep it in the press, although I hear you're suppose to put it In a carafe and, it doesn't get bitter.
Well, I never write reviews. I have only one regret, and that is that I should have bought the large size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Speed
Review 15 for Espro French Coffee Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jordanr
November 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice French Press
November 16, 2013
I've never owned a French Press and decided to get the Espro French Coffee Press partly based on quality construction and the reviews which supported this product.
Wow! This french press is amazing! I've put away my drip coffee maker semi-permanently in favor of this product.
It produces some of the best coffee I've ever had. Ground floating in the coffee don't seem to be a problem at all.
My only concern would be the silicon gasket around the filter -- I could see this wearing out eventually. I'm hoping Espro sells replacement parts or at least the filter assembly but so far Espro hasn't gotten back to me from the inquiry.
If they get back to me with information, I'll gladly change the rating to 5 stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 16 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvt2cook
,Roswell
,Ga
Atlanta, Ga
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great french press
November 15, 2013
No grit in coffee. I really like that the coffee stays hot for awhile. Outside of pot stays cool to the touch. I have the large pot.
I bought and used a pre-ground coffee and it worked just fine!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 17 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ahmad
,Toronto
,ON
October 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Coffee Press.
October 12, 2013
I am very particular about my coffee and have tried a number of different products and methods but nothing come close to the perfect taste than Espro coffee press. It is amazing how you can brew the same coffee you are currently drinking and Espro Press just makes it taste so much better.
In summary, great product and a must have for any coffee lover!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 18 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molly0812
,Cleveland
,OH
October 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best French Press I have ever owned
October 8, 2013
I have owned several French presses because they always end up breaking after about a year or so. I have also buy them quite a bit as gifts. We registered for this one because it was larger (have have the largest size) and my husband can go through a whole carafe of coffee on his own on a Sunday morning. Plus we loved the beautiful design and I was interested in the double filter. We have not been disappointed! This makes a wonderful cup of French press coffee and the double filter does really help to reduce coffee residue in your cup. We still have our smaller French press that we use on occasion when we don't need more than one cup each and my husband and I agree that the Espro makes a better cup of coffee so we are thinking of investing in the medium sized Espro as well.
Pros: Quality, Size, Design
Review 19 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AddingComment
,Longmeadow
,MA
Longmeadow, MASS
September 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a nice cup of coffee
September 30, 2013
I reread the product summary after I used the press for a bit and it delivered what is stated. The press makes nice grit free coffee that is full of flavor. The coffee stays warm for some hours in the carafe. We bought the press to be able to make a quick up of coffee vs firing up the drip maker which takes longer to get ready, brew and clean. Brew time is 4 minutes with the press, clean up very easy.
Side comment - Generally, the press is probably best for people that like their coffee more 'raw' compared to drip makers. Paper filters take out some of the oils on drip makers.
I have used for only a week so I can not speak to long term durability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 20 for Espro French Coffee Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CatClarkKC
,Olathe
,KS
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well, once you figure it out
September 22, 2013
My work doesn't allow electric coffee brewers, but has a hot water spout available, so after some online searching, I landed on this product to use at work. When trying to use the coffee press the way the official demonstration showed, I found that the coffee grounds still wound up in with the rest of the coffee. So I tried to put the grounds in the k-cup-looking device and it made a better cup of coffee. I even found that pressing down two separate times made the coffee the same strength throughout (rather than the strongest at the end and the weakest at the first pour), that is, if the k-cup-looking device didn't come disconnected after lifting up after the first press. My only suggestion to improve the design is to make the k-cup-looking device a screw-on, instead of pressing it on.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
luvt2cook
Atlanta, Ga
Posted December 22, 2013
My filter does screw on!
I have the large pot and my filter screws on not presses on. Maybe you are not assembling correctly.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next