Espro French Coffee Press

A breakthrough in French-press brewing, the ESPRO Press lets you enjoy rich coffee flavor without any residue or grit. The preferred press of fine hotels worldwide, the ESPRO has patent-pending double micro-filters, which are 9 to 12 times as fine as standard French-press filters-coffee flows through while even the finest sediment stays behind. The double-walled stainless-steel carafe keeps your coffee hot and fresh, while the sides stay cool to the touch. Also ideal for brewing loose-leaf tea, straining hot or cold beverages ad cocktails, and making extracts. Fine stainless-steel mesh filters retain grounds, silt and sediment. Filters are BPA, BPS and phthalate free. Double-walled stainless-steel carafe is vacuum insulated for superb heat retention. Made without glass-no breakage or replacements. Lightweight and exceptionally durable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Espro French Coffee Press
Review 1 for Espro French Coffee Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ELilly
,ALBUQUERQUE
,NM
March 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Strong Coffee - Press does not work correctly
March 6, 2015
When I first received this stainless steel coffee press - I would have rated 5 Stars.
The coffee does remain HOT very a long time! The style is gorgeous and it cleans easily. Unfortunately, after a few months, the ability to "press" the filter down became extremely difficult. I was having so much trouble, I asked my younger sister if I was doing something wrong. She scrubbed the filters and the pot and attempted different things, but the problem remained. It is true, there are NEVER any grounds in my coffee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, press doesn't go down easily
Review 2 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weira
,Santa Cruz
,CA
February 10, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The most perfect cup of coffee I've ever made
February 10, 2015
I purchased the large size-- looks almost like a pitcher-- which has two fill levels, and it's perfect on the lower fill line for 3 cups of coffee (for those who have big coffee mugs like me). It comes with directions as well for tbsp vs water fill line and it has just come out flawless every time.
It's kind of big so I have to store it on the counter.. but no big deal because it's very sleek and nice looking and complements my kitchen.
No coffee grinds what so ever. I love this thing. Never going back to drip again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 3 for Espro French Coffee Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sam2010
,Sacramento
,CA
February 10, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coffee Press Pot
February 10, 2015
While touted as the best coffee ever, I agree that the coffee tastes great. However, the double filters fail to keep all residue out of your cup. I will use it as it is better than the glass press but will alternate between it and the paper filter pour over method.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VegasBuyer
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How long has this been going on?
January 27, 2015
My drip maker, with which I was completely satisfied, finally stopped working. While shopping to replace it, I stumbled across this product ad. I purchased the medium size on the strength of the reviews alone. My advice? Store your drip system for those occasions when the press isn't practical, and buy this immediately. It is more trouble, but it's worth it. The coffee is much better! However, I drink 2 fairly large cups each morning, and the medium just isn't quite big enough. I'm returning it for the large.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Size, more effort than drip
Review 5 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rooster78
,Tri Cities
,WA
January 13, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth it!!!
January 13, 2015
This is the first time I have ever purchased a french press. I purchased it on sale as a Christmas gift for my coffee addicted wife and she loves it! Let me say that this press pot is worth the full price! While I have had press coffee before, I have always used a drip maker at home. This french press is of the highest quality! It is easy to use and makes the best cup of coffe I have ever had. Don't hesitate to make this purchase. You won't regret it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 6 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasJamie
,DFW
,TX
December 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look no further, this one is the best!!
December 30, 2014
Do you want to indulge yourself with absolutely the best cup of hot coffee ever? This double insulated stainless coffee press is the BEST!! Coffee stays hot forever, no grounds whatsoever, and if you like that thick creamy fine powdery flavor in the last gulp, the Espro will not disappoint. I bit the bullet and decided to purchase the large version and it makes about 3 1/2 cups of great coffee!! So glad I did! And it really has a lovely sleek design, no cons period!! Looking forward to making flavored waters in the Spring!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, gorgeous
Review 7 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chaagy
,Toronto
,ON
November 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Press for the Office!
November 25, 2014
I use the Bonavita Immersion Dripper at home, but was seeking a way to make coffee at work without filters. The Bonavita is also a bit messier (ie. dirty filter, a bit 'tippy')
I'd been looking at coffee presses as an option, when I came across the Espro.
Price was steep, but I made the dive and purchased it, and I'm very happy. It produces a really great cup of coffee. I use a fine to medium grind, and I get very little grit (Most of the time, it's because I filled the water too high - my bad!). Most importantly, I get a cup of coffee that has nuance and flavour.
I got the 1-cup Espro size, and I kind of wish I'd gotten the 2-cup size, as I sometimes wish I had enough for a 2nd cup.
It's strong, durable, and feels like it's made with quality. It's pretty stylish looking too, very clean and simple lines... and shiny!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 8 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elphaba
,columbia
,md
November 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French ImPRESSed!
November 25, 2014
Look no further. This is the best French Press. The coffee stays piping hot for hours. It is easy to use, easy to clean. You will have zero grounds in your coffee. I own two other coffee presses and this beats them by a long shot. It's a must have for real coffee drinkers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design, Assembly, stays hot!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waltz
,Elba
,AL
October 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy, but not Gritty
October 7, 2014
After much personal debate, I treated myself to the small press. I was suspicious at the price, but after just enjoying my first cup of coffee, I am very satisfied. This has to be the least gritty cup of French pressed coffee I have ever had. I had been using the miniature Bodum model for several years, but was always put off by the soot left at the bottom of my cups. Advice to new buyers, visit the manufacturer's website and review the video tutorials, because the blonde in me thought I was supposed to put my grinds inside the filters — hint, do not; this is actually how the filters work as dual. Simply scoop your grounds into the pot and fill with your boiled water. The instructions mention a fill line that seems absent in the small pot, so I just filled to within an inch of the top — this brewed a perfect amount for the smaller W-S ceramic mugs. Treat yourself!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, two filters really makes a difference
Review 10 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zivatar
,Wichita
,KS
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very effective French Press
August 21, 2014
I have always liked french press coffee. This one produces similar flavorful coffee, but because the filter is much more effective the usual french press grit is almost entirely eliminated (but not quite). Mine is the medium. It doesn't quite deliver the advertised 18 oz--more like 16-17. And it's pricey, but it appears to be durable, so I doubt I'll have to replace it soon. It requires a tad more pressure than the standard Bodum or similar to press down, apparently because of the finer filter, but that's not a a problem--you needn't be a body builder to use it. It's fairly easy to clean once you've figured out how to take it apart, etc. The directions are a bit more schematic than I'd prefer, but they're adequate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 11 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RonS
,Puyallup
,Wa
July 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic French Press
July 12, 2014
I was initially hesitant to invest in this particular french press. In retrospect it has been worth every penny. The quality is very high and it keeps your coffee hot a lot longer than I anticipated. I purchased the mid-size press. It makes about two solid cups of coffee. If you are looking for more volume than that purchase the next size up. I would hesitate to purchase the smaller size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 12 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amarko2
,Ellicott City
,MD
July 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes great coffee
July 1, 2014
I got the largest size - love it. I have only made coffee (cold brew and hot). I haven't compared to my other one for quality.
Pros: Easy to clean and use.
Cons: Very Shiny - definitely have to wipe fingerprints off of it (sounds petty but they do show).
They give you some other creative recipes which I didn't think about before, but am now looking forward to trying.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 13 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fredrick
,Flagstaff
,AZ
June 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love it!
June 18, 2014
I love the double filter system. I get very little or no grounds at all in my cup.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 14 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynmcd
,Rockville
,MD
June 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best French Coffe Press Ever!
June 3, 2014
This Espro coffee press makes delicious coffee with NO sludge! It keeps the coffee warm for over an hour. The beauty and durability of the stainless steel components means no worries about breaking glass. Definitely worth the splurge!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 15 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
winehound
,Alexandria
,VA
April 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I wish it were a little bigger
April 19, 2014
My wife and I bought this pot four months ago having been loyal French Press users for over thirty years. We purchased it for the insulating and filtering qualities and it does both very well. The coffee is delicious and free from sediment and it stays warm for hours. The only cons are because of the filter system you get less coffee which can create domestic tension and it also traps some of the brown nectar beneath the filter so you will cry a lot as you pour it down the drain. However, it makes great coffee and keeps it warm.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: it takes a time or two to to the hang of it.
Review 16 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ilovewisconsingobadgers
,Manitowoc
,Wi
April 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1st time with a French Press
April 13, 2014
We've always used a drip maker and when that one broke down I decided to try a French Press. I was expecting a long annoying process in the morning when all a person wants is their coffee first thing! But I wanted to see what the fuss was about and I was also sick of bitter tasting coffee that had sat on the warming plate. So, I did some research and found this. I am so glad I bought it. It takes about 10 minutes to boil the water in a teapot and 4 min. later you have GREAT coffee! I wasn't expecting my husband to tell the difference in taste or even try to make it on his own (anything more than 1 step is too much work!), but he does taste the difference as well and doesn't mind the extra steps. As for others complaining about the coffee being hard to plunge, it makes a difference if the grounds are course (like recommended) or fine. When I use course grounds I have no trouble with the plunging, and even when I use a fine ground, it's more work but still not much trouble...
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: Speed
Review 17 for Espro French Coffee Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoNewTothis
,NY
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use it everyday
April 7, 2014
We love this French Press (first time user of a press). We HIGHLY recommend that you also watch the manufacturer's video on how to use this and it will cut-down on any problems you have with this press. Great tasting coffee.....reminds me of home!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Review 18 for Espro French Coffee Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ioui
,MA
March 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb coffee - with a learning curve
March 29, 2014
We did a blind taste test about a month ago, comparing drip coffee from an automatic maker, Chemex and a french press. The french press won our test. We bought the Espro because it would keep coffee warm in its insulated carafe. As long as you don't overfill and stir the coffee before you put the top on, the coffee you get is a great reward. And it stays hot for several hours and does not burn. Minuses - a fair amount of the brewed coffee gets trapped underneath the press, so we purchased a fine mesh sieve and remove the press and pour the extra coffee through the sieve to get another full cup. This is a bit labor intensive. And cleaning out the grounds is more work than with a drip and filter system. But again, we like the coffee so much it seems worth it. Also wish it were larger, as we are coffee hounds and could use a larger carafe. I do not find it hard to clean once the grounds are out though, and all parts can go through the dishwasher.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Cons: Size, more work than other coffeemakers
Review 19 for Espro French Coffee Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReginaH
,Dallas
,TX
March 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too pricy to be this awful
March 24, 2014
This is my 2nd attempt to post this 1-star review. Strangely, my 1st review of this product does not display on the W-S site.
In short, this coffee pot is terrible! The filter must be cleaned very regularly in order to be effective and that filter is near impossible to disassemble. Clean filter or not, no way can you fill the pot with water...a geyser of hot coffee springs up when you depress the plunger. The pot's insulating properties are a nice feature, but the negatives far outweigh this one positive.
Pros: insulated
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Assembly, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ReginaH
Dallas, TX
Posted March 28, 2014
FOLLOW-UP
KUDOS to Williams-Sonoma! After posting my 1-star product review, I took a chance and called the W-S store where I purchased the coffee pot hoping to be able to return the pot and obtain a refund. I explained how dissatisfied I have been with the coffee pot and the woman I spoke with stated that W-S wanted me to be happy with the product and assured me that I could return the pot for store credit even though I no longer had the receipt. HOW ABOUT THAT FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE?! Williams-Sonoma did what few retailers do today; they took care of the customer. I was, and still am, a loyal customer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Espro French Coffee Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Peppersock
,Charlottesville
,Va
March 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst product ever!
March 8, 2014
I have been through a host of press pots. This one is dreadful. You can't fill it with water too close to the top or you have a geyser of wet grounds all over your counter. My husband has to stir the grounds in before plunging. The seal is so tight I can't plunge it. I have to use a strainer or I get a mouthful of grounds. I will be returning to my old stainless steel press pot made by another manufacturer.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Speed, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Assembly, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted July 18, 2014
INSTRUCTIONS THAT COME WITH THIS PRESS
The instructions explain how much water capacity your pot can safely hold. All you have to do is measure the water and you won't have the problem you had with overfilling. Plunging can be difficult if you are not using the proper COARSE grind. This is very important. Pressing the coffee has to be done slowly, like in the demo video. Its only when you try to press too fast that the coffee will spurt out. This type of pot has to be used properly and with attention to all these little details. It is not for everybody. It makes a great cup of coffee, some say the best. But obviously, many people can't be bothered to take the care required when using a French press.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next