Epicurean Pizza Peel

A must-have for sliding pizza in and out of a hot oven, our pizza peel offers a sure grip and keeps your hands safely away from the heat. Crafted in the USA, our versatile peel has a broad surface that doubles as a cutting board. Eco-friendly board is made from a sustainable wood-fiber composite that is Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) certified. Molded rubber handle for a safe and secure grip. Beveled-edge allows for easy transfer of pizza to and from the oven. Doubles as a cutting and serving board for baked pizza. Nonporous surface won't dull knives or retain odors. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.773 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
15 of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Epicurean Pizza Peel
Review 1 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LarryLuke
,Pasadena
,TX
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tends to be sticky
September 21, 2013
I gave it 4 stars because it is stiff, but only 4 because it tended to stick and not let the raw pizza slide off. I am going to buy one of the aluminum ones and compare.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 2 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bct82
,Austin
,TX
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
October 27, 2011
I haven't tried using this to make homemade pizzas, but this gets a lot of use in my home for taking frozen pizzas out of the oven. It itsn't too heavy and makes taking the pizza out of the oven very easy. And you can cut the pizza on it too! Easy to clean and durable too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 3 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Baker2011
phila, PA
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poorly made
February 6, 2011
After two uses, the peel seperated from the rubber handle sending the peel to the tile floor and then spliting the tip of the peel. I'm praying Williams Sonoma will give me another peel. It was purchased a little over 3 months ago. I would not recommend this peel to anyone. There is a very real chance the same will happen to someone else.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda1969
Westchester, NY
September 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best peel I've ever owned
September 6, 2010
I make homemade pizza at least 3 or 4 times a month, over the past 18 years. I have owned many peels. Last year, while making a batch of pizza, my peel split in half. I ran up to my nearest WS store, and saw this. Having had the traditional wood ones, and having many split and splitner, I decided to give this a try. This is, by far, the best peel that I have owned. It was expensive, but worth every penny. I have experienced no issues with "smell", and have not had a single pizza stick to the peel or flop over onto itself. I also don't need to use as much corn meal with this peel, although corn meal is necessary. I know you can put it in the dishwasher, but I don't. It washes by hand in seconds. The trick to getting pizza to easily slide off the peel, is to always work with cold dough, and cold or room temp. sauce. And again, corn meal is necessary. Don't hesitate to buy this peel. I'll never go back to the wood peels again!
Review 5 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hpcook
highland park il
June 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't imagine making pizza without one of these...
June 7, 2010
bought this as an afterthought for making pizza on grill. made the pizzas on the peel and they slid off perfectly (did dust peel with cornmeal). I can't imagine how I would have gotten pizza on the grill without this tool. Concerned about the other reviews posted here and haven't had any issues with odors from peel.
Review 6 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BERNARD
San Antonio Texas
March 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
UNFORGIVING SURFACE
March 6, 2010
Although this peel that washes easily and can go in the dishwasher is a great idea it doesn't forgive not using lots or flour or cornmeal to allow your pizza to slide off into the oven. After years of making pizza and never having a problem this peel just keeps the dough sticking to it and messes up more pizzas than acceptable. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS PEEL AT ALL AND HAVE RETURNED IT TO THE STORE FOR EXCHANGE WITH THE WOODEN ONE THAT WORKS GREAT.
Review 7 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DebCooks
Boston, MA
December 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well
December 20, 2009
This is my first peel, so I don't have anything to compare it to. We got it as a terrific gift combination of a pizza stone, peel, and the cookbook _Pizza and other Savory Pies_.
I like the peel a lot. I assemble the pizza on a sheet of parchment on top of the peel, which allows me to slide it in and out of the oven really easily. We cut the pizza on the peel & it has held up very well. It also cleans up easily. My only complaint is a strange, faint urine-like smell when I wash it. Something to do with the composite board?
Review 8 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GreekMom
Columbus, Ohio
November 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Stinky!
November 12, 2009
I know it's very tempting to buy this peel. It's lightweight, functional, and is made out of recycled material. There's just one issue - it's so stinky! The manufacturer's website claims that the smell will go away after 4 washings; I've washed mine at least 12 times trying to get the smell to fade - no luck. I learned after further research that Epicurean uses phenolic resin in the manufacturing process. Phenolic resin contains formaldehyde! A formaldehyde-laced food prep surface; is it just me or does this just seem wrong? And oh ya, that stinky smell on the pizza peel, ends up on your pizza. Pepperoni, extra cheese and a touch of formaldehyde anyone?
Incidentally, I love William-Sonoma and have purchased so many amazing products through them. I give the retailer a lot of credit because in an effort to ensure that all of their customers are happy customers, they graciously accepted my return of this peel.
Review 9 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Enthusiast
Centreville, MD
July 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warped
July 26, 2009
I've enjoyed using our peel for about six months and I've still yet to figure out what exactly happened, but it warped and no longer sits still on the counter. And it hasn't even been used as a peel with the oven! So heat isn't the answer. It is probably water.
Also, the thing with the funny smell? Its true. Ours was a gift so we can't return it.. not to mention I've been using it for six months.
Three stars for nice size and design. Could be better.
Review 10 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GuitarGuy
Houston, TX
July 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All it made was Pizza Scrapple
July 17, 2009
I traded a wooden peel I had purchased from WS that cracked down them middle (as were the other two unused ones in the store) for this since it seemed my hygenic. Big mistake. Either my dough got a little warm or I did not use seven tons of corn meal that it must require, but when I went to put it on my grill pizza stone, it was stuck cold. I had to literally peel it off with a spatula, hence the name Pizza Peel I guess. I ended up using many bad words and with a pizza that was rightside, upside, sideways and every which way on the stone. What a hideous conconcoction. I finally got over being mad and laughed at the knarly thing. I will give it one more try with more corn meal. If it fails it goes back and I look elsewhere for a peel.
Review 11 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buffi
Fair Oaks, CA
June 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pizza Paddle
June 26, 2009
Fabulous product! The beveled edge works well for removing the pizza from the oven. Great to use as a cutting board, too!
Review 12 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PizzaChris
Dallas, TX
June 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Paddle I've Ever Used!
June 18, 2009
This is my third paddle and by far the best one that I've ever used. You can cut the pizza on it and put it in the dishwasher. My other paddles warped and cracked on me; that shouldn't be a problem with this one though!
Review 13 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OliveOilmuffin
Fort Worth, TX
June 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
June 11, 2009
I'm so in love with this peel, it makes my work more easier. It looks small in the picture but when I received it as a wedding gift, it's not that small as you see in the photo. I love that you can actually cut the Pizza with it, very durable.
Review 14 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmnnp
Winchester Va
April 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look like a PRO
April 18, 2009
I write you look like a pro and you do , but the truth is this will make your pizza making much simpler. I use this PEEL with my grill stone. I can't imagine not having the PEEL just for the ease of putting the pizza on the stone and for taking the cooked pizza off the stone.
Review 15 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tigi818
Japan
March 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useful tool
March 26, 2009
We really love this pizza peel. It makes getting our pizzas in and out of the oven a breeze and you can cut the pizza directly on the peel.
Review 16 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KarinL
Bradenton, FL:
March 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best ever
March 18, 2009
I bought the peel, have used it several times. Convenient, quick clean, great for pizza and as a quick cutting board. My fav is using it as a serving board/plate for appetizers. I love it!
Review 17 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moramaz
Dixon, Montana
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Epicurean Pizza Peel
February 5, 2009
This is my first peel and I am glad that I bought it. When I started shopping for a peel, I was surprised to notice the differences in them. I chose the Epicurean Peel and I am very satisfied using it. My kitchen is small so I use my peel to knead my dough when making bread. It is so simple to slide a pizza into the oven and then remove it with the peel. It is easy to use, easy to clean and it can be stored with the cookie sheets or cutting boards.
Review 18 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
January 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smells bad, makes food smell bad too.
January 13, 2009
I read all the great reviews of thie pizza peel and bought one in a brick-and-mortar W&S store for my wife, who has become quite a pizza chef. I was very disappointed to discover that when anything moist touches the surface, whether water or pizza dough, the peel gives off a gluey resin odor. What's worse, it imparts this odor to food that comes into contact with the surface.
I've washed it several times without any noticeable reduction in off-gassing. I'll be returning it right away.
Review 19 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JBINFO
Fair Oaks, CA
December 31, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza sticks
December 31, 2008
I got this as a gift from my wife and daughters for Christmas so I really wanted to love it. I make pizza, including the dough, from scratch at least once a week. So far it's been a headache sliding pizza off this stone. My guess is that the surface being so flat makes it too easy to slide enough of the flour out from under the pizza or cause the dough to absorb it all during the rolling process that the pizza can stick. As smooth at it feels, it is not a non-stick surface. The handle also flexes under the weight of even a thin pizza and isn't as easy to grip as a standard wooden peel.
Review 20 for Epicurean Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lora
Springfield Il
November 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Peel
November 26, 2008
Item is much larger than we expected which was a plus! We have found many purposes for it other than strictly for pizza... such as serving breads. It is sturdy and has so far, held up well. Great investment!
page1 2 next