Epicurean Cutting Board

This dishwasher-safe cutting board is made in the USA of Richlite, an exceptionally durable wood-fiber composite that has been used in commercial kitchens for over 40 years. Made of Richlite, a lightweight yet durable wood-fiber composite that won't dull knives, harbor bacteria or absorb unwanted flavors and odors. Has a convenient corner hole for hanging. This NSF-certified board meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Epicurean Cutting Board
Review 1 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
summer09
,bloomington,
,MN
bloomington, MN
July 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cutting board
July 31, 2013
As often as I use a cutting board with six grandchildren under 7, I want one that is nice to use. This one is! Lightweight, kind to my knives, and does not look like it went through a war. This is a product that will last. My daughter had one for over 10 years and it looks practically new. I have the black one and it is a joy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 2 for Epicurean Cutting Board
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SplitShot
,Green Bay
,WI
May 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smells Funny
May 10, 2013
It looks nice. So far it has been nice to use. But it smells funny. Like glue. And it makes me think some type of glue is leaching into whatever I cut on it.
Review 3 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cybertoothcat
,Uniontown
,PA
Uniontown, PA
April 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Durable and Easy to Clean
April 4, 2013
My Epicurean cutting board is a few years old and has been through the mill. It's not beautiful, but it has held up very well through heavy use and dishwasher sanitizing. My knives haven't dulled at all. I appreciate the little opening for hanging and that it's made of all natural materials without PVC. It's an essential component of food safety in my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Shape
Review 4 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenGeek
,River Forest
,IL
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, love, love it!
February 12, 2013
I bought my first Epicurean cutting board last fall, and loved it so much that I purchased a smaller one for smaller jobs and another one to give to a friend. After using plastic, bamboo, and butcher block over the years, I can say this is - by far - my favorite cutting board. Gentle to knives and is a dream to clean up.
Review 5 for Epicurean Cutting Board
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bijouterie
,Toronto
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
unattractive -- but a great chopping board
January 10, 2013
I've had this cutting board for a 2 months. I own a few different cutting boards and bought this one to use only for cutting raw chicken.
I love the feel of cutting on it and it does not seem to dull my Shun knives. I put it in the dishwasher after each use, which has been approximately 9 or 10 times.
Lately, the board has developed unattractive looking deeper spots, or stains, that fleck the front and back. It looks as if water had seeped inside, but I doubt that. It actually worries me when I look at it because I don't know what it is and why the surface isn't a sold colour anymore.
Also, there is a large residue that was left behind, from pulling off the sticker (which left a permanent pale, large rectangular mark) and I have to say my board of 2 months is not very nice looking.
Review 6 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefJamieAnn
,Asbury Park
,Nj
Usa
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Board
November 7, 2011
I bought this board after reading a comparative review in Fine Cooking. I have had it for two years, use it everyday and it still looks new. I have also purchased several as gifts. Looks great, light weight, easy to store and very sanitary!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Weight
Cons: sticker on surface
Review 7 for Epicurean Cutting Board
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PinkPlanet
,New York
,NY
September 10, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's a great board, but...
September 10, 2011
This is nice cutting board that's not too thick, yet heavy enough to remain stationery while cutting hard and large items. The only problem with it is that it came with a large informational sticker on one side of it that left glue on it that wouldn't come off, and I had to clean the glue off with a paint-thinner like chemical. A strong chemical like that is not the type of thing you want your board to absorb! The manufacturer should stop glueing information stickers onto these boards.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, comes with hard to remove sticker
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
PinkPlanet
NY
Posted October 27, 2011
oil on sticker
Thanks for your comment, I will try this method.
0points
Customer avatar
rdbjr
Nashville
Posted October 23, 2011
Try using vegetable oil
Often vegetable oil will help remove that stubborn sticky residue left behind from price tags or informational sitckers. Just pour a little oil on a piece of paper towel and rub it over the sticky residue. It may take a second application and little help from your fingernail. No chemicals involved!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
itsmeaudge
Stamford, CT
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST cutting board EVER!
January 25, 2011
I have 2 of these cutting boards and I use them for everything! they clean well, wear well and after having had both of them for over 2 years, they still look great. I keep them on my counter because I use them often and they're sleek enough to look on the counter.
Review 9 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FloridaMom
Orlando, FL
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This Cutting Board
December 31, 2010
I purchased this cutting board because the noise my glass cutting board made when I was chopping food on it drove my husband crazy.
I purchased it because it would help keep my knives sharp and it does. It is easy to clean up and easy to store. The hole in the upper corner makes it easy to grab out of the cupboard or would make it easy to hang on the wall.
Review 10 for Epicurean Cutting Board
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
whymelord
October 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed in cutting board
October 28, 2010
I've only had my cutting board for about 6 months and it's already warped. What happened? I'm very disappointed in it considering how much it cost. I'm a senior citizen on a fixed income and I thought long and hard about spending so much, but the ladies at the store convinced me I would love it.
Review 11 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hockeybearmom
Parkland FL
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have all the siazes I could find in thsi!
October 17, 2010
This has been a great cutting board. I tried it because it was recommended so it would not dull knives. I have not put mine in dishwasher ,but hand washes quickly with soap and water, light weight easier to store & not so bulky as many cutting boards. I have had no problems with warping. I have had one for 3 years.
Review 12 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eightsixo
avon, ct
July 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
detail oriented is just means controlling
July 26, 2010
I am very picky when it comes to buying quality items. I have no problem spending a fortune on something if it means it will last forever (and i won't outgrow it) because i know i only have to buy it once. I have three different sizes of this board, one to fit a roast, one for chopping a salad and another to keep at the bar for slicing lemon wedges. The best part is, since they're certified by the NSF, i usually just rinse them unless they're tainted with meat or egg. After spending a fortune on wusthof knives I am pleased to see cut marks on my boards because i know i'm not dulling the knives AND my knives are phenomenally sharp. i wouldn't trade these boards for anything.
Review 13 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lmashankle
Vancouver, WA
July 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cutting Board!
July 11, 2010
I love this cutting board! I love that it is thin- it stores easily. It cleans up so easily, and I love that I can put it in the dishwasher. It functions as a trivet as well. I want many more Epicurean boards in my kitchen. I have owned mine for more than a year, and I have just now started to notice that it is sliding more on my counter top. My next purchase will be the Epicurean Pizza Peel!
Review 14 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paper
Kirkland, WA
April 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cutting Board
April 20, 2010
I have had my boards (all the sizes) for the last 4 years and they are all still in great working order. Some of the boards that I use on a daily basis are a little faded due in part to our hard water and daily dishwasher use. But I'm really pleased with their durability, lightness, and performance for a cutting board.
Review 15 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JFinNY
Cazenovia, NY
October 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Maybe, YES! :)
October 25, 2009
Had to write to say how much I LOVE my beautiful cutting board . . . I use it with my Shun Ken Onion Santoku (also purchased from W-S :-) . . . and it is just perfect - does not overly dull my beloved knife, because it 'gives', unlike cheaply-made plastic cutting boards. Of course, this 'give' means that my WOOD-fiber cutting board is COVERED with scratches (which are only visible upon CLOSE inspection) -- I wish I could understand why my CUTTING board has all these scratches on it, but alas . . . just not figuring that one out!! :-D
p.s. Cutting boards that do not scratch will shorten the life-span of expensive knives -- a cutting board MUST be solid enough to provide a stable surface, yet soft enough to cushion the knife blade --thus preventing premature dulling. As long at is is washed after use, there need be no concern over bacteria lingering in scratches.
Review 16 for Epicurean Cutting Board
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BestToolfortheJob
Edmond, OK
August 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
1of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Maybe?
August 29, 2009
I like this board because it won't harbor bacteria (like wood), is very easy to clean in dishwasher or by hand, stays put while cutting, and has a good "hand" when cutting. However, I have been using it for about a month and it has cut marks all over it. That is a little disappointing. I use Wusthof knives.
Review 17 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nettieferg
Brighton, MI
May 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Last Cutting Board I Will Buy!!! (NO Warping!)
May 7, 2009
When a W-S associate suggested this cutting board to me, I was unsure about spending $45 on 'just another cutting board' . . .
I have been using my Epicurean DAILY for nearly 6 months. I use it so frequently, that its' permanent home is my counter. It is heavy, which means that it does not slide while in use. The surface has a VERY pleasing feel while cutting: neither too firm, nor too soft . . . It looks beautiful too!
The sales associate was absolutely right. It was worth the $45. All my old cutting boards have found new permanent homes too . . . at our local recycling center :~D.
Thank you, Williams-Sonoma!
P.S. I have used this board literally hundreds of times; additionally, I wash my board multiple times per day. There is not even the slightest hint of warping, even with washing in the dishwasher, as recommended. I do not leave my board to sit for hours in a sink full of water; as with any wood product, I believe this could cause warping.
Review 18 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
misspriss
Huntington, WV
March 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this cutting board!
March 19, 2009
I have both sizes of the Epicurean cutting board, but I mainly use the smaller size since I have limited counter space. It doesn't show marks and cleans up easily.
Review 19 for Epicurean Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MEV1315
Oconto, Wi.
February 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cutting board
February 4, 2009
excellent cutting board, it's not only a great product but it's nice looking also. I feel safe using the product, no cuts or scrapes from the knifes I use. I will buy more products offered from this Company and of course Williams Sonoma.
Review 20 for Epicurean Cutting Board
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
denimrs
Hudson Valley, NY
January 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
January 22, 2009
I have had this board for about 6 months tops. Love the look of it and using it. But, lately it has warped somewhat so that I now have to place some padding under corners to make it stop rolling back and forth when I use it. This never happened when I had wood or the anti-bacterial boards. Not happy that I probably have to buy a new board.
page1 2 next